We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Layover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Second time at this Fireside Inn.

Had two rooms for two nights. Both rooms were exceptionally clean. Beds were comfortable.

I would agree with other reviews that the hallways still smell smoky, but rooms were fine.

Free continental breakfast was OK, not quite as full featured as the Hampton Inn's breakfast.

All the staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. I left something behind in the room and the management mailed it to me promptly.


I would ask management to make two improvements, ask smokers to smoke further away from entrances and to preheat the rooms in the winter when they have been vacant the previous night. Both rooms were very cold and took awhile to get warmed up.

Room Tip: Choose courtyard rooms to guarantee no road noise.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChasMcM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us at the Fireside Inn and Suites. We are happy to hear you’ve become a repeat customer of ours; we truly appreciate your loyalty and your business.
We are sorry to hear you were bothered by the smell of smoke during your stay. There are signs posted at each entryway asking guests to stay at a distance when smoking and our staff works hard to pick up and thoroughly clean around these areas.
We are constantly creating new ways to improve our services and amenities for our guests. Our continental breakfast is complimentary to all guests and we also offer a full breakfast menu in our restaurant. This gives our customers more choices to start their day off right!
Again, thank you for your review. It is always helpful to get feedback from our customers. Your comfort is our goal and we hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (639)
There are newer reviews for Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 539 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was amazing and the service excellent. The rooms were very nice and clean. We would totally stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words. It's always rewarding to hear when we've pleased our guests. We look forward to seeing again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness, cleanliness, and quality oy this place. Next time we're in Portland again, you can guess where we'll be staying! Pet friendly too!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

We are very pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and we thank you for taking the time to tell us so. We promise you the same level of service on your next visit. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The location of the hotel is far from any shopping centers (Maine mall, cabelas, and downtown Portland). About 10 - 15 minute drive. We drove down from NB with a GPS. So no taxi fares to worry about. The beds are comfortable, lighting isn't the best, TV is an old tube, just an average room.

Noise levels within this hotel is quite high. Walls can't be thicker then 2" with no insulation. You can easily over hear conversations from rooms around you. Unless you have ear plugs, drink to pass out or visit you local drug store, you won't be falling asleep before your neighbors.

All in all, we're down here for shopping, not a honey moon. This hotel will do just fine.

No fridge or microwave.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bearticker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Thank you for choosing the Fireside Inn Portland for your recent shopping trip to Maine and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take our guest’s comments very seriously. We were very sorry to hear that you were bothered by boisterous neighboring guests. All of our walls are six inch thick concrete block with layers of sheet rock on both sides, which should have blocked out much of the noise. However, some rooms have connecting doors which will let more noise come through. Unfortunately, sometimes in hotels we have noisy guests and we do try to quiet them down when we’re made aware of the situation. We are genuinely concerned that your sleep was disturbed, and had we been notified, we would have been happy to relocate you to another, quieter room.

We have started putting 42 inch flat panel TV’s into our guest rooms, which are much nicer I do agree. Microwaves and refrigerators are included in the price of our poolside rooms and by request for a nominal fee in the remaining rooms. On your next visit, be sure to ask. Again, please accept our apologies. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable. The outdoor pool area looked very nice, but it was too cold a night to go in. The small indoor pool was inviting. The small fitness area was used by several people. I could tell the property has been making improvements. The bathroom had been updated. The continental breakfast was very basic (cold cereal and pastries). The whoopie pies at check in were a nice treat. Location is good if you are stopping for the night while trying to get someplace else. If you are doing the tourist thing, be aware that it is an easy short drive into downtown Portland.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSfromWTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,690 reviews
4.0 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#17 of 20 in Portland
590 reviews
4.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
5.9 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
6.5 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1045 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portland
Price Range: ₹ 6,042 - ₹ 12,603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing