We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect for those who enjoy being left alone” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Percy Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Percy Inn
Ranked #11 of 13 Portland B&B and Inns
Tampa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for those who enjoy being left alone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

If you're searching for an attentive, intimate B&B that feels like a stay at grandma's the Percy Inn is not suited for you, but for those who enjoy privacy, simple comforts and don't mind serving themselves the Percy is perfect! True, we never met the inn keeper, but we were not bothered by it. There was an envelope with our name waiting for us at the desk that provided everything we needed to direct us to our room and get settled in. The inn keeper was just a phone call away and when we needed the password to access the wireless network he cheerfully provided the answer on the first dial out. The mini fridge in the guest room was stocked with sodas, there were coffees and teas in the poets corner on the third floor as well as cereals, pound cake, yogurt, and a few other complimentary items available to guests 24 hours in the second floor pantry. We stayed in the Walt Whitman room. It was small but cozy. The bed was very comfortable. The reception on the TV was a little touch and go but we don't travel to watch TV. Major pluses are the historic building and matching decor, available parking and location. There are many quaint shops and restaurants literally just steps away. The staff was available and pleasant each morning and were fantastic at checkout. The only thing that made our visit just good and not great were the dutch style stairs, particularly the flight leading from the second to the third floor. They are very steep and going down them was a little dizzying. The railing was also loose and I can see how that is unnerving to guests, as we did slightly feel that way ourselves. We would certainly stay again if we return to Maine, but will probably book farther in advance to ensure we can grab a room on the first or second floors.

Room Tip: Stairs leading up to the 3rd floor are very steep, not for all travelers. Would reccomend rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sakitini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    32
    33
    21
    19
See reviews for
17
89
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Confused by the lack-luster reviews.

The Inn itself is beautiful and charming, our room (the Ralph Waldo Emerson) was large, comfortable and reasonably priced.

Though we never met the Innkeeper (which didn't bother us - we went away so we could spend time with each other, not hang out with an innkeeper), we had the company of other Inn staff who gave us great restaurant suggestions and walking directions.

Breakfast was exactly as described on the website - a continental buffet. We were lucky enough to have warm triple berry pie that morning also - which was delicious. The room breakfast was served in was very cute.

We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happycamper794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Hard to believe that the owner of this establishment was a travel writer. The room was off the breakfast area. Very dark - could not even a book. No water pressure in the shower, no soap provided. Never saw a person until it was check out time. Breakfast was so uninviting we walked across the street to a restaurant. We have stayed In B & B's across the country and have always had a hot breakfast. We spoke to another couple checking out just before us and they too said it was the worst place they had ever stayed in. Obviously, we will never return to the Percy Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portland hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

It seems that the charm of B&Bs has been fading. Although we try to stay away from hotels when leisure traveling, the personal touch of the B&Bs we have found lately has been missing. That is true of the Percy Inn. We spent 2 weekdays there and the best we got from Dale, the innkeeper, was a personally signed form letter extending his welcome and regrets for being out on an errand upon our arrival.

The property is neat, clean, and in a quaint neighborhood. Amenities are what you would expect from an average B&B or a nice hotel. The small breakfast room was adequate, as was the fare.

It seems as if the innkeeper relies on the building to supply the charm which he must lack. For the price, we will look elsewhere on our next visit to Portland.

Room Tip: Steep, winding, narrow stairs make carrying bags to the 3rd floor tough. Stay low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Our stay at the Percy Inn on June 2011 was definitely not what we had expected. It did not live up to the websites description or amenities. When we arrived there was no one present at the Inn to greet us or check us in. The Inn Keeper left envelopes with the room keys for each guest at the entrance door. The entrance door to the Inn was open to the public all day and most of the night. Door closes from the outside at 12 midnight and reopened automatically at 6am. This is dangerous and unsafe. We saw a person enter the house and look at the envelopes with the keys and then walked out. That’s how easy it was to get in and take the keys. Our room looked like the picture on the website –quaint but the bathroom was not. The bathroom looked like a closet with a standing shower that barely fit an adult. There was no one to ask how to raise the heat in the room. It was a search to find the thermostat which we never found and therefore were cold during the night. A cozy warm New England guest bedroom it was not! There was a fireplace in the room but it was not for use. The TV sets were small, old with awful reception. The Inn keeper left a phone number for the guests to call if we had any questions, but the phone was never picked up when called. The morning was yet another disappointment. We were told it was hot breakfast but it was only cold continental. The highlight of the breakfast was hard boil eggs that were black when opened because there were sitting in the hot pot for over 2 hours. The only positive about the Inn was the one staff seen once in the morning who changed our room to one that had a bigger shower, but the room was of lesser quality. I am accustomed to warm and friendly Inn Keepers who pride themselves in making sure their guests have a pleasant stay but this was not one of them. We never saw the Inn-Keeper and it seems that this is just a business to him and definitely not his home. I will never stay at this establishment again or recommend it to anyone.

L.S. & A.G.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank abrahamgonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.1 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.4 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.9 km away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Percy Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Percy Inn

Property: The Percy Inn
Address: 15 Pine St, Portland, ME 04102-3807
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Percy Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing