We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uniquely Good”
Review of Hot Suppa

Hot Suppa
Ranked #15 of 617 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: The menu at Hot Suppa is all made from scratch from quality ingredients; local goods are used whenever possible. Our renowned breakfast and lunch are served seven days a week, so you can get that corned beef hash fix whenever you’re jonesing. Dinner is available five nights a week, featuring our favorite dishes, like fried chicken & a waffle, falafel salad, and Maine oysters on the half shell. We offer a full bar service if you care to relax into the evening with a Porch Swing cocktail, or recover in the morning with a spicy Bloody Mary or cold draft beer.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Uniquely Good”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stopped by for a late lunch. Wow, what a choice of sandwiches. The fried green tomato sandwich and a bloody mary were the perfect combination. Well priced and great service, it's a wonderful little neighborhood spot.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bradalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    113
    28
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent, reasonably priced breakfasts”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We've been to Hot Suppa several times over the past year for breakfast and thought it was excellent every time. Eggs, waffles, toast, salmon on potato pancakes...all were outstanding. Very reasonably priced and good, friendly service, too. Can't wait to try dinner there.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maineiacs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a bit of a wait.”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We enjoyed a Saturday breakfast. All the staff was friendly, the wait time was less than stated. The cornbread hash was great.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nmv712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Incredible food!”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I went to Hot Suppa on a Friday night, the wait was reasonable, the staff EXTREMELY pleasant... and the food - WOW! I had the mac and cheese, collard greens and corn bread.. "almost" as good as my mom's home cooking, the food was fabulous - AND an extra plus.. I asked for a Chocolate Martini and it was one of the best I've had in Portland - Kudos to this restaurant - very small, but cozy and great food and friendly staff - will definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dynette999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“memorable brunch”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

went here for brunch and it was so good we wished we had time to go back and try them out for dinner. the atmosphere is hip and young, it must be lively in the evening. the food was great, service friendly... like a modern hip take on the classic diner, serving up-to-date food with no fuss but a lot of attention to doing it properly.
will go back when next in town.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hot Suppa also viewed

 

Been to Hot Suppa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing