We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for the price”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Anchor Resort
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife and I (early 60s) have been going to Old Orchard Beach in September for years and The Royal Anchor has been our favorite for some time. The owners are wonderful, helpful people who truly care about their clientele and always make you feel welcome. They take good care of their property and the lovely pool, right on the beach, is always spotless and heated just right. The rooms are clean and the large beds very comfortable. We enjoy sitting on our private terrace where we can watch the ocean. It's also great to be able to fall asleep listening to the surf. We are happy that most rooms were refurbished over the last few years as our only complaint until then was that the rooms were starting to show some wear and tear. The prices are a bargain when you consider the ideal beachfront location, the quality of the accommodations and service, the great pool and the good breakfast included in the daily rates. We will keep going back as long as we can.

Laurent Taschereau
Stratford (QC)
Canada
stouttuna@gmail.com

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms recommended. For more privacy and better views, choose 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank calubos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

Our parents took us there many years ago. Now that they have "left" us, we just love to go there and recall memories of them while taking some relaxing time away from work and husbands !!!!!!!!!!!!! (Oh Oh ! did I really say that ?) September is a great time to go !

Room Tip: All rooms are great but of course ocean view and pool views are the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

if you like body surfing decent size waves in fairly warm waters of the atlantic then this area is the place to be. Weather was pretty hot so the water was inviting and the waves became our best friends.Clean hotel with good breakfast right on a nice quiet piece of beach real estate made this holiday an enjoyable one. Great walking on the soft sands to either the funky pier or to gaze at the how the other half live in their regal manors. Bring your bicycles to cruise the avenues around the maine landscape and don't forget a trip to the famous Clam Bake seafood eatery where your palate with have a pleasurable time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angscotjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This was our first visit - wonderful location right on OOB. We came at the very end of the season, so it was not crowded. We stayed in one of their "upgrade" rooms, which has its own private terrace with lounge chairs overlooking the ocean. Beds were comfy, linens/pillows were nice. The bathroom is teeny but it worked out ok. The one thing I didn't check when booking was air conditioning - they did have ceiling fans, but no A/C. If we had come in the summer that would have been a deal-breaker for us, but it worked out for October. Their continental breakfast buffet was wonderful - fresh fruit; bagels, English muffins, and bread for toast with multiple toppings; boiled eggs; oatmeal; coffee, juices, and teas - I appreciated that the food was fresh (and not pre-packaged). Short drive to the pier or to other coastal locations. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamahahn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

First visit. stayed 3 days and loved it. Clean rooms, great breakfast included. Very nice staff and owners very friendly. Great location. Very nice grounds with easy access to the beach. Easy parking. Rates equals quality of hotel. AAA (CAA) or Senior discount during low season. We will defenetly go back.

Room Tip: 3 floors but no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brisimono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
2.6 km away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#20 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
199 reviews
1.2 km away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
454 reviews
0.6 km away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#22 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
0.1 km away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#13 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
2.6 km away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Anchor Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Anchor Resort

Address: 203 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-3017
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: ₹ 4,422 - ₹ 11,471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Royal Anchor Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Royal Anchor
Royal Anchor Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing