We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was SO un-Maine...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beau Rivage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beau Rivage Motel
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This was SO un-Maine...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

First of all, this motel (and town) is no where near the typical Maine experience. Both would fit in better along the tackiest part of the Jersey Shore. But on to the hotel...

The owner is downright rude. Obviously he has been burned by clientele who skipped out on him before, but it does fit the ambience. We reserved two rooms for ourselves for three nights, and one room for friends for the second and third night. When we arrived, we were asked to pay in full for everything. We ended up negotiating with the employee at the front desk and agreed we'd pay for our two rooms up front and our friend would pay for their room when they arrived the next afternoon.

At 10:30 the next morning, the phone rings and the owner tells us to pay for our friends room in full by 11:00 am or we would have to leave! We usually don't pay the balance until checkout at most places we stay at, but obviously this place was out of our league! The owner was downright rude!

Second, the rooms look clean at first glance, but when you look behind or under ANYTHING, it's filthy. We had checked the online registry for hotels with bedbugs, and at least we didn't have to deal with that.

Third, it's true about the train. Ever see the movie "My Cousin Vinny"? You got it...right behind the hotel and the entire place shakes. At least you can hear the whistle before it gets there and be warned.

If you are looking to vacation at a tacky beach town, and stay at a hotel that is dirty, with a rude owner and want to experience the "My Cousin Vinny" effect, then this is the place for you.

For us, never again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachBall54, Manager at Beau Rivage Motel, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback but find it unfortunate for us both that you had issues regarding our payment Policies. As is standard for many non-franchise Motels, all balances are paid upon check in as stated on our website and our confirmations. Our front desk clerk was not in a position to make exceptions. Also, we found it inopportune that you would find issues with the cleanliness of our rooms. Our room inspections are the single most important part of our day to assure guests a clean and comfortable room, and we apologize if our staff missed something. We are finding it very difficult to believe that 3 pairs of eyes missed so many things. We trust in the majority of our guests who have expressed numerous compliments on a day to day basis about how clean our place is. But you are entitled to your opinion and we appreciate your feedback nonetheless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    69
    18
    14
    17
See reviews for
105
56
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night at the end of August 2011, we were getting a head start on a "kid free" weekend. We chose this hotel for it's proximity to the restaurants and such, having never been to OOB before we thought we'd try it for a night before continuing on to our destination the next day. I rarely complain about accomodations since we try to keep costs down and look for "value" hotels. This place was nothing like it's website. The rooms have not been updated for years, the bathroom and vanity fixtures are out of the 70's (maybe even the 60's)

There appears to be less parking spaces than rooms and those that are there are poorly arranged and small. The overall feel is "70's Spartan".
The mattress was about as comfortable as piece of plywood.

That being said there were a few "Good Points"
The room and grounds were kept quite clean.
The shower water pressure and temperature were well above average.
It had a very good location convenient to everything.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTrupps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

The room seemed a bit dirty. A nasty smell blew in from the window AC unit. A good location, an easy walk to all beach attractions. Not sure what Maine defines as a "heated" pool, but we in NY have a different, and warmer, concept of a heated pool! Three hotels throughout Maine, all advertising heated pools, all three with cold water. Look around town, there are many choices of accomodations. I'm not saying to avoid this hotel, but one could do better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cptjoe36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

It's been the third time I stayed at the Beau Rivage in Old Orchard Beach. It's not a fancy hotel by any means, but it's close to the beach (just one block) and close to the pier (about 5 minutes walk).

My room was 16A, which had a King bed, a mini-fridge, a microwave and a very small TV (I had the feeling of going back in time... but who cares... I'm not going to OOB to watch TV). The room was quite spacious (more than I expected), but the bathroom was very small (the toilet was almost underneath the sink... but again, I didn't care). The room was very clean and had a little view of the ocean from my window (but not the beach), which was nice.

As other pointed out, there is a train that goes right behind the hotel many times a day... even at night! For a light sleeper like me, that wasn't good. It woke me up every night... and I had ear plugs. However, I assume that any hotel nearby would have the same problem... but that was annoying to say the least. Another thing I didn't like was the doors to the rooms. They were hard to open (at least mine) and they were making lots of noise. That was annoying too when many members of a family were going in and out of their nearby room very frequently.

I really liked the pool though... and most of all the spa! It's open until 11PM, which is great, and you're even allowed to bring some beers (if you're quiet and if you don't bring bottles), which is even greater. It was nice relaxing in the spa while chatting with other people.

Other than that... parking was free (one car) and coffee too in the morning. Staff was polite and helpful. As the name suggests, this hotel seems to be owned by a French Canadian family... so some staff were speaking perfect French, if that's any help to you.

Since it was at the end of August, I managed to have a rate of 109$/night, which I thought was a good price. I know that Old Orchard is very seasonal, but I wouldn't pay 200$ to stay here... but at the good price, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SatanicSurferz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the Beau Rivage Motel. I would definately stay there again. The staff were extremely knowledgeable in helping us get around and do things. They were also very good and recommended things and places to eat. The pool, hot tub and sauna were very sufficient to keep 4 children happy and content not to mention the mini walk to the beach.

The only downside was that my room did not have a tub and the shower was very small for an adult. The rooms (mine had a kitchenette) were sufficient and the kitchenette came with all of the dishes and utensils two people could use. We also enjoyed the BBQ area which was also equipped with all you need. Just step into the office and they give you a basket of utensils. The best part, I didn't have to clean them. The motel did all that.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shery11ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
1.1 km away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#14 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.7 km away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#34 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.4 km away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 km away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.5 km away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#10 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau Rivage Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau Rivage Motel

Property: Beau Rivage Motel
Address: 54 East Grand Avenue, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2810
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,657 - ₹ 16,950
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beau Rivage Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all Old Orchard Beach, Maine has to offer when you stay at the Beau Rivage Motel. With a variety of clean, comfortable rooms and suites, you're within a short walking distance (1/4 Mile) to the Pier and the Palace Playland Oceanfront Amusement Park. Even closer, 75 yards, the famous 7 mile long sandy beach located across the street. On your return, you can grill up your favorites in our BBQ area, relax by the pool or have a soak in the hot tub. With microwaves and mini-frigs' in every room, and complimentary wifi, our friendly staff will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Beau Rivage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing