We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch out for being charged for cancelling reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alouette Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“watch out for being charged for cancelling reservation”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Just when hotels charge you for everything...I made a reservation on the 14th April based on we always go to Old Orchard Beach for our vacation. According to the information on line this hotel was out standing.
We drove up to Maine to have a look at the hotel..the hotel is nothing like the pictures on the internet. So tiny is the bathroom that if you there, one step from the toilet you are in the shower.
Then we tried to cancel our reservation 25 days out ..we were told there would be a $35.00 cancellation fee. So if you are looking to stay at this motel ...guest beware...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussiedave64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    101
    57
    33
    47
See reviews for
181
136
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed at an apartment that slept 5. Felt like the prices were a little hi for out of season but with not much open we had no choice. Apartment was cute. Typical for Old Orchard but it was clean so that matters. They say they have wifi but it never worked all wk end. The signal was too weak and when we asked the help they had no clue and didn't care to help further. Would I stay again? Probably.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keene
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Great location short walk to down town. Look out of your room at the ocean. Great breakfast heated pool. we had a wounderful time

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Have stayed a few times over the past decade and it continues to get better each time we visit.
The owners are very friendly and accommodate all requests that they can, VERY relaxing, right on the Ocean. Great Breakfasts! Highly recommended, especially if traveling with pets.
It's not luxurious, but is VERY relaxing and perfect for the area.

Room Tip: Rooms near the ocean are great if you like to be rocked to sleep by the sound of the waves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RACJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at the Beach Walk Oceanfront Inn, in the Windsong building, for a few days in August 2011. (I had been to Old Orchard a number of times prior to this trip.)

PROS:
-The location was great, right on the beach.
-There was guest parking right outside our door.
-There was a pool, right beside our building.
-Breakfast at the Alouette was good.
-The room had a kitchenette.
-Double sliding doors in our room and two little chairs outside the room, so you could sit outside with an oceanview.

CONS:
-The room was extremey outdated (which is what to expect for a beach-town), but this place needs some TLC.
-The room was very small. We were only 2 in the room, and I don't know how the room could comfortably fit more.
-The room was very dirty upon checking in. Somebody else's used contact lenses were on the bathroom floor, there was used broken up soap bar bits caked to the bathroom floor and wall / foods crumbs all around the base of the bed / ripped comforter on the bed.
-Whenever someone would use the outdoor shower by the pool we could hear the pipes vibrate with a loud sound ('moaning'? -for lack of a better desciptive word) the entire time we were there. At first it was laughable, but that got old really fast.
We called front desk about the state of the room and the pipes. We were told someone would be sent to clean the room or we could check-out. (We were told by another guest that the pipes were an ongoing problem for this motel and that they were not able to fix them in the past.) Seeing as though we wouldn't have had much luck finding another beachfront place to stay at a moment's notice in August, and we were only there for 3 days, we stayed put. Also, we spent our days at the beach, so we weren't going to be spending much of our time awake in the room.

If I were to return to Old Orchard I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyB1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
1.5 km away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#15 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
166 reviews
1.0 km away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
203 reviews
1.5 km away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#5 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
183 reviews
0.5 km away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#9 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
159 reviews
2.0 km away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#24 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alouette Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alouette Beach Resort

Property: Alouette Beach Resort
Address: 91 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2932
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,426 - ₹ 17,054
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alouette Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alouette is a beachfront destination with a variety of accommodations and levels of ameneties that fit the needs and tastes of both vacationers and business travelers.Ameneties include in season indoor and outdoor heated pools, a fun and casual cafe serving probably the best breakfast in town. Beachfront and ocean view vistas, many accommodations with kitchen facilities.The Alouette Sunrise Suites are brand new luxury suites -- they feature first class concierge level beachfront and oceanview suites, fireplaces, fantastic views from private balconies, soaking tubs, free long distance calls, free wifi, sauna and guest membership in a quality private health club.The Alouette also offers a selection of rooms that are "pet friendly" -- these accommodations includes beachfront and kitchenettes, Jacuzzi suites and economy offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Alouette Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alouette Beach Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Alouette Beach Old Orchard
Alouette Beach Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing