We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place, needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial Village Resort
Ranked #36 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Reviewed 7 September 2010

The rooms are small and the beds take up almost all of the space. The furniture looks like it hasn't been replaced in 20 years, and the kitchen is even worse. The 20" TV they put in the living room can only be seen by a few people at a time. That said, the towels were great (although the bathroom was really small to accommodate up to 6 people) and fluffy, everything seemed clean, the pool was nice, and the location can't be beat. Only a 10 minute walk to the beach! Walls are pretty thin though and there was some weird banging noises outside our room. The indoor pool is a little too highly chlorinated as well- it hurt my eyes just being in the pool area. To be fair, it's probably really hard to keep up a place where people are tracking in sand on a daily basis, so I am impressed with the housekeeping services. We also liked the use of rowboats to get to the beach at high tide. So, not the nicest place, but definitely adequate for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

If you want to visit Ogunquit, or any other right-near-a-major-beach-area,
accommodations are going to cost plenty. My husband and I have been going there for over 20 years now, and Colonial Village is the best value for what they offer. We love the fact that they offer an efficiency room with a 4-burner stovetop, a microwave, and a full-sized fridge. The decor is not the most contemporary, but that's no big deal--we go to Ogunquit for the beach, not a fancy room. Don't believe some of the reviews that say the rooms are "musty"--ours was always very clean, and the housekeeping staff did a great job! The office staff are also great people, very friendly and cordial. If there is any problem, they address it immediately. Our only complaint is the mattress are very firm, because we're spoiled with our pillow-top mattress at home.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ILOVECTANDNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

My wife and I spent one night in this resort to see the show at the Ogonquit Playhouse. We were very disappointed with the place. The air condition is too noisy, bed is hard as rock, window blind does not close completely, breakfast is skimpy and no internet (although the ad said that it is free. The electronic key does not work.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wohwoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I have been staying here every year for years with my family when I was younger and now with my husband. We absolutely love it there. Indoor and outdoor pools are great. There has always been an indoor jacuzzi and they recently added the outdoor jacuzzi, which is great at night when it's a little chilly out. In the daytime you can see the beautiful view of the ocean from the pool. Breakfast is usually doughnuts and cereal. There is a great breakfast place across the street that is very inexpensive and I look forward to every year. The trolley stop is also across the street to take you to any part of town. The staff has always been friendly. You can walk or row across to the beach, which I think is private to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellyu29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We stayed in the chalet and were very pleased. One room has the sleeper sofa, wing back chair, TV, kitchen table and chairs, small refrigerator and microwave and the other room has the king size bed and with a door out to a little deck. The bathroom separates the two room with the toilet and shower on one size and the sink on the other. We really like this set up since it's nice to be able to move around without disturbing your spouse.

There are little things that could be done such as providing in room hair dryers and toiletries. Only soap is provided.

The pool and outdoor hot tub were lovely but keep in mind, this hotel is ideal for children and if you prefer adults only - you will be disappointed.

But we found it to be a great location since it was only about a 20 minute walk to town and was a great location to cycle from. Both Wells and Kennebunkport are close and had concerts.

We found the front desk staff incredibly nice and very responsive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StoughtonGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
1.2 km away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
1.1 km away
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
1 km away
Studio East Motel
Studio East Motel
#20 of 36 in Ogunquit
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Stage Run by the Sea
Stage Run by the Sea
#31 of 36 in Ogunquit
56 reviews
1 km away
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel
#30 of 36 in Ogunquit
335 reviews
1.7 km away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Village Resort

Address: 548 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3212
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: ₹ 4,065 - ₹ 7,226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Village Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Newly Renovated clean and classic coastal vacation spot for families, offers a wide range of accommodations (motel rooms, efficiencies, suites, cottages or apartments) on 5 acres of land overlooking a tidal river along the Atlantic Ocean. All of our thoughtfully appointed accommodations are equipped with refrigerators, Keurig, microwaves, 230 cable channel including Cinemax and Starz, air conditioning, heat and more. We have indoor/outdoor pools with hot tub. For your furry family member we have few designated Pet Friendly rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colonial Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Village Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Village Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing