We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, awesome location - will definitely be going back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Norseman Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Norseman Resort
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
South Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel, awesome location - will definitely be going back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

This is my first review that I've written for this site. We stayed at the Norseman in the Sailoft section of the hotel over the restaurant because we needed 2 rooms. Our friends traveling with us had room 109 in the Sundowner, so we had the best of both worlds. I had read many reviews about the hotel prior to staying there, and yes, the showers are tight. Yes, the toilet area is also kind of tight in the smaller rooms (like the sailloft rooms). However, for a beachfront hotel, it is impeccably maintained, the service staff is awesome and you absolutely cannot beat the location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJBenoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    96
    38
    12
    9
See reviews for
90
141
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

I have been to Ogunquit manny times this was the first time staying at the Norseman due to it always being so busy. We went from Friday to Monday...
Upon our arrival it was very easy check in and the people at the front desk make you feel so welcome and comfortable like you are family.The location is amazing it is the only hotel on the beach, and our room faced the beach on the side as you walk on to the beach. The room was a smaller room but had enough space for us with some amenities like a coffee machine and fridge in the bathroom. It was spotless and the staff that clean up the rooms were so nice to talk to and these girls work hard to keep that place shining.and sand free.There is a restaurant in the complex which serve the best breakfast in town and reasonable too get there early otherwise you will wait in line.
We went at the beginning of August the weather was fantastic and the ocean well it was a tad cool at 58 degrees each day but I still went in to dunk. The beach is family friendly where the hotel is ...,as you walk the middle part is mostly gay friendly,,, and the rest is the next local beach,,,, it is a beautiful beach to walk and very clean even with all the families and people on it... There is nothing much to do at night except the Front Porch if you want a piano bar which again is gay friendly mostly but we went there anyways and had a great time singing the songs..Most of the clubs are again mostly gay friendly with little to do other than eat in restaurants and walk the strip at night or go to Perkins cove.
Our favorite restaurant was Billy's chowder house near Wells beach the food was great and the ambiance a bit like the bar Cheers in Boston. Reasonably priced and great service. and the food is amazing especially the fried clams with stomachs and the fish and chips were great too. The chowder there is what chowder should taste like.
We did eat at a place called the Lobster Barn did not enjoy it at all everything has bread crumbs on it and around 1 inch of it on top of all their seafood.. very expensive and not worth it, the ambiance was ok but the food needs an extreme makeover the scallops that I ordered for $18 was for only three scallops covered in breadcrumbs and it was dried out. the clam chowder was greasy and watery and not great . I would never go there again!!! Service was ok a tad lacking and the waitress who recommended the dish to me after I complained it was dry just said "O sorry .."
At Kittery we ate at the small stand we had lobster rolls and some sweet potatoe fries and lemonade it was good but expensive for everything, it was over $40. for two people. I would go again it hit the spot and the place was clean. Kittery has some great deals there and it was fun to go and shop.
Tip: there is a Hannaford to buy wine and cheese cheaper, than in town ,,and it is near Wells beach on route one I would go there to buy groceries to end our day,,, a little wine and cheese and crackers on beach priceless...crackers in town at the store were $3 more than at the grocery store ...sticker shock.
bring lots of sun cream and mosquito repellant for night.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlenegoesbyebye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

From the time that I checked in to the time I checked out the entire staff was so very helpful. The room was very clean and the food was terrific at the resturants. The blueberry pancakes are to die for!! I needed time away and this was just the place to go and regroup myself. I would recommend this to anyone. Oh and not to mention, but the location can't be beaten. This will be were I retreat whenever needed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dionne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

we have been coming to this resort for 7 years & everyone of the staff has always
been friendly & polite & helpful. We had a mixup on our departure date which was
our error & the staff (Karen & Larry) resolved the situation by issuing us a credit for
the night. In this day & age something like this does not happen. Thank you for
everything & we will see you next year.

Helen Galligan & Bea Jones

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nymets47320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

My partner and I have been staying at the Norseman every July and sometimes also a week in august for 12 years now. We always find it very clean and the staff very freindly and helpful. No you don't get any frills but they don't advertise any. The location is the best. To be able to walk right out onto the beach from your room is wonderful. Huckelberries is a nice place to eat for breakfast and lunch. The staff is very freindly, also Splash is great if you want to eat right on the beach. The food at both is very good and reasonably priced. We hope to continue for many more years. We would never consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patches0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.6 km away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.7 km away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.9 km away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.9 km away
The Dunes on the Waterfront
0.5 km away
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norseman Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norseman Resort

Property: Norseman Resort
Address: 135 Beach Street, PO Box 896, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,176 - ₹ 23,129
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit's only beachfront resort. Variety of accommodations to meet your budget and expectations. 2 restaurants, free parking. Outdoor heated swimming pool, tennis court, sauna, fitness room. All rooms have fridge, hairdryer, iron, queen or king beds. Our hospitality professionals have been taking care of our guests for over 40 years. Experience the Norseman and find out why our guests return year after year. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norseman Hotel Ogunquit
Norseman Motel Ogunquit
Norseman Ogunquit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing