We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, warm & welcoming”
Review of Scotch Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scotch Hill Inn
Ranked #13 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Walpole, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, warm & welcoming”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed at the Scotch Hill Inn with 10 others for a yoga retreat weekend that went way beyond my expectations. The two new owner/innkeepers, two Mike's, have made this attractive inn in a great location so welcoming with beautifully & artistically decorated bedrooms and all the amenitites that make you more comfortable than in your own home. From the fresh-squeezed orange juice, to the incredibly comfortable mattresses; Each room designed with it's own personal style is inviting. From the front porch you can see everything as it's beginning to happen on Main Street. The chef, Anthony, makes incredible meals, we had two magnificent breakfasts & a special dinner that was out of this world. I chose a vegetarian lasagna that I took home & had for another meal. The ingredients were top quality and much care is given to presentation. The personal care & interest taken for every detail at this inn is top quality and you won't find warmer hosts for your welcoming stay. I'd return again in a heartbeat. Thank you for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and has it's own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
159
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
south windsor, ct
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife and I have been visiting Ogunquit for a number of years and have stayed in many of the nice B&B's and Inns in Ogunquit. Some friends, last year, recommended our visiting an Inn that was recently purchased and done over by two new Innkeepers. From the moment we walked in we were "wowed"! We met the Innkeepers, Mike and Mike and were hooked! Being opened year round, we have stayed there 5 or 6 times since they opened last spring.

We just returned from staying there to celebrate my birthday and had a wonderful time! As always, the breakfasts, prepared by Chef Anthony, are tops. Usually two choices, they will happily take special requests for the main entree. Always serving fresh squeezed juice, fruit cup with a light yogurt and crunchy granola. The breakfasts are the best we've had in all our stays in Ogunquit.

Scotch Hill In isn't just about magnificent breakfasts, it's about warmth, charm, cleanliness, Innkeepers who care so much about the comfort and happiness of their guests. Met another couple (also previous guests) who joined us for breakfast on the porch......they had driven 5 hours from New York to celebrate her birthday! Talk about a small world. Seems like we have met so many happy "returnees" in our stays at the Inn.

Scotch Hill Inn is also about location! We arrive, park the car, and don't touch it again till we sadly have to depart our stay. EVERYTHING is within walking distance.....shopping, restaurants, a movie theater (seasonal) for rainy days, and most importantly, the most beautiful and clean beach you can find most anywhere.

At the end of the day, after dinner, drinks, or just socializing on the porch, go inside for a cup of coffee, tea, soda, even wine (yup!) always available for the guests.....fresh cakes/cookies too! (thanks Anthony).

Scotch Hill Inn is also about sleeping on fresh, soft linens atop of the most comfortable mattreses we've found anywhere! Every room is very light filled, very nicely decorated, spotless, and each has their own unique charm. Yup, we're hooked! Can't wait till our next visit at the Inn.

Buzz & Janet

Room Tip: Every room is wonderful and we've stayed in most of them. Love Room 5, with it's huge walk i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buzz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Our yoga retreat this past weekend was a huge success and the venue was a big part of it. The Inn keepers and their chef pampered us and catered to our every desire. The Inn is beautiful, warm and welcoming.The rooms are awash with bright colors, the perfect amount of furniture, and the beds are the most comfortable ever. The food was above 5 stars! Michael, Mike and Anthony are the greatest hosts. You couldn't ask for anything more!

Room Tip: Every room in the house offers it's own special charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The owner's and chef were so welcoming, accommodating and warm! Their B&B is clearly a labor of love from the amazing baked goodies to the 24/7 available coffee, fridge full of beverages and wine to the delicious breakfasts...not to mention the most comfortable beds of all time! Kudos Mike, Mike and Anthony! Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: We called the Inn to help us pick the right accommodations for our needs. The owners were so helpfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My husband and I just returned from an amazing weekend away at the Scotch Hill Inn. We had a baby shower to go to in Wells and were looking for a reasonably priced B&B in the surrounding areas. A lot of hotels/B&Bs in southern Maine close during the off season but we really lucked out with the Scotch Hill Inn.

We arrived on Friday night at 9:30pm and our late arrival was not a problem. Michael is a fabulous host and he had even warmed up the electric tea kettle for us in case we wanted tea upon our arrival. There was always some sort of scrumptious baked good waiting for us in the dining room, as well as the fridge stocked with wine, beer, soda, and bottled water. The electric tea kettle was a real plus as we are not coffee drinkers and it was nice to have a cup of tea whenever we wanted. For coffee drinkers, there is a Keurig machine and also they will brew coffee.

Michael is really friendly and always concerned about his guests. We feel we connected with him more than other owners of B&Bs that we've been to. We stayed in room 3 which has a gigantic king size bed with the most comfortable mattress. The rooms are all updated but maintain a historic look to them, and we liked that our bathroom was done in a black and white vintage tiled flair.

Breakfasts with Anthony are amazing. The starter course is a yummy yogurt/fruit/granola parfait and then you have a choice of sweet or savory for your main course. Our first morning we both had an asparagus/potato/bacon/cheese/onion frittata which was to DIE for. Our second morning I had eggs, bacon, and ginormous yummy potato pancakes and my husband had blueberry pancakes (which were very yummy as I stole some off his plate). Anthony is also incredibly friendly and we really enjoyed talking to him.

The Inn itself is situated in a perfect location, walking distance from town and the shops and even the beach. I imagine that during the summer months when Ogunquit is up and in its high season that this Inn would be a perfect place to go to. We'd love to come back at some point and can't say enough how much we loved our stay. We were sorry to leave to come back to Connecticut!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hibiscusgirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.7 km away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,019 reviews
0.7 km away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.8 km away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
466 reviews
0.0 km away
The Black Boar Inn
The Black Boar Inn
#9 of 26 in Ogunquit
267 reviews
0.8 km away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotch Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotch Hill Inn

Property: Scotch Hill Inn
Address: 287 Main St, PO Box 1479, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3216
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,098 - ₹ 16,776
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotch Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Ogunquit, Maine stands the Scotch Hill Inn Bed and Breakfast. One of the oldest in Ogunquit, the hotel was established in 1908 by the original owners, the Perkins family. The Scotch Hill Inn offers unparalleled accommodations and amenities and is just a five minute walk from Maine's pristine beaches. The Scotch Hill inn is also just minutes away from Ogunquit's world famous Marginal Way and Perkins Cove. Shopping in Kittery, Maine and a variety of restaurants from fine dining to local cafes and pubs are nearby. We Serve a three course gourmet breakfast daily on our porch. Please come by and visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Scotch Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing