We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxation at its best...Sparhawk is outstanding !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Latham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxation at its best...Sparhawk is outstanding !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We were looking to visit Ogunquit, and based on friends recommendations and a room cancellation, we were able to get a room at the Sparhawk. Unfortunately, we could only stay 1 night due to work schedules. The Sparhawk is superb...look no further if you are searching for a place to stay in Ogunquit. The hotel personnel are all extremely helpful and friendly. They want you to enjoy your stay and to come back. The rooms are super clean, our room (21) oceanfront, was great. When the tide comes in, nothing is better than sitting on your balcony listening to the waves. The Sparhawk is within easy walking distance of everything in town. We can't wait to get back to the Sparhawk, and hopefully, stay several nights this time.

Room Tip: Book early, as the rooms are usually "happily filled".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John1624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    44
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
73
126
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

What a wonderful place.

At high tide, the sound of the waves lapping at the seawall below your balcony is almost as beautiful as the view.

The rooms in the original "motel" section aren't big, but are well equipped and nicely furnished. The gardens are amazing. The staff -- everyone, from the office to housekeeping -- are incredibly helpful.

I've been coming here more than thirty years; my family more than seventy. Looking forward to many more.

Thank you, Sparhawk.

Room Tip: The original, older "motel" style rooms are actually the better unless you need a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GCH-MCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This has been our eigth year at Sparhawk and it seems that we can't get enough of this lovely resort. We always stay on the top floor of the oceanfront motel-style units. The water on high tide literally is directly below the balconies. We leave the windows open all night, since there is no need for air conditioning, and smell the salt air and hear the waves crashing all night. Even if there is a rainy day, guests can sit in the new chairs that Sparhawk has just purchased, and look out the big window at the ocean. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The housekeepers are wonderful and make sure everything is just right.

The inground vinyl pool has been replaced with a new gunite one and it is heated. The water was very clean and the towels were bigger this year. There is a tennis court, too. Beautiful flowers are everywhere and the Marginal Way, a path that follows the coast to Perkin's Cove, starts at Sparhawk.

The hotel is in the middle of town and guests can walk to just about anything. There is also plenty of parking for cars, and the trolly makes a stop near. As for breakfast, it is included, and each morning fresh warm muffins of different types are baked, and there is cereal, breads, fruit, yogurt along with coffee, juices and other beverages.

I love Sparhawk. It is my favorite place to vacation. There is no single type of guest at Sparhawk: families can be seen having a fantastic time along with retired couples. There is something for everyone. Don't miss out!!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront motel syle rooms have the best view. The top floors have the best sun, while the lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Have been staying in Ogunquit for 23 years. The Sparhawk has been our vacation home for 21 years. NEVER have we been disappointed. The grounds and the accomodations are beautiful and very well maintained. The service staff and the front desk people always go out of their way to be helpful. The continental breakfast is varied and very satisfying. This resort is a great value for your dollar.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterfall1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Sparhawk was highly recommended to me to visit in Ogunquit. I was fortunate to find accommodation there as I went in high season. The room was wonderful overlooking the river and the ocean. The staff were very friendly and particularly the fabulous woman who cleaned our room. It is not usual to find someone in her position who looks to help, but she was really good. The hotel does not provide a coffee machine on the room but does have coffee in the office all day for free. The breakfast was also good and the whole feeling was one of being in a B&B with a proper hotel room. The room does have a fridge although I only found it at the end underneath the sink. The location is outstanding in terms of the town and for walking along the Marginal Way. My only thing I would change would be that the furniture in the rooms could be freshened up a bit. Otherwise a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keurbooms11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ogunquit
0.2 km away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.2 km away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.2 km away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.6 km away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
3.3 km away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

Property: The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Address: 85 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3709
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,843 - ₹ 14,608
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Hotel Ogunquit
Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing