We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveller rating
358
134
32
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
134
32
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground parking penthouse suite perkins cove bagels continental breakfast grand stay marginal way living room small indoor pool boiled eggs shore road sister property cheese and crackers hot tub private deck within walking distance lobby area
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 549 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We have been going to The Grand for about 13 years in September. We my vacation in different places but when we come to Ogunquit we wouldn't stay in any other hotel but The Grand Hotel. It meets all our needs plus in walking distance to the village and Perkins Cove. We are now in our late 60's & we walk a little slower but we still walk to Perkins Cove with no problem!:)

Over the years we have stayed on the first floor & the 2nd and in different suite...like them all. The staff is very helpful & friendly.....since we have been coming for so many years it is like visiting old friends.

We always enjoy our stay!

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2015

Dear Sadie003, Welcoming you back to The Grand each time is indeed like welcoming back old friends. We truly do appreciate your loyalty and we are always happy to have you with us! It was so nice of you to share your opinion on TripAdvisor and we thank you so much for taking the time to do it. Until next time, we wish you good times, good health and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015

The Grand Hotel is a wonderful place to stay. I have been going there with my husband for quite a few years. Never had a bad room. They are all comfortable and roomy. Great indoor pool that is the perfect temperature. Indoor parking area. The staff is amazing and so friendly.
The hotel is within walking distance of the Marginal Way walking path, Perkins Cove, Ogunquit Beach, and the shops in town. We walk everywhere. Just love this place!

Room tip: Any room is great.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2015

Dear Anne T, Such a nice review! Thank you for taking the time to write it and for allowing us to host your many visits to Ogunquit. So nice of you.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

The staff was friendly, and the room satisfactory. Unfortunately, we had to leave expectantly for a family emergency. When I receive my credit card statement I noticed we had been charged for the full amount of the stay. When I called the hotel and spoke to a women named Jenel she explained there was no refund for early check-out. So please, when you make your reservations at this hotel, read the fine print. As their policy is no refunds for early check-out. Even in the case of emergency. We will not being staying at this hotel again.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank spardollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2015

Dear spardollars, It is unfortunate you had to cut your stay with us. When you notified the front desk you would be leaving a day early, there was no mention of an emergency and you indicated that everything at the hotel was fine. We were not informed as to why or when you were leaving and in fact, we only knew you actually left later in the day when we checked and found the keys in your room. In your review. you mentioned being surprised when you received your credit card statement that you were charged for both nights. You paid for the entire stay at check-in and you were given a registration and credit card receipt so the charge on your credit card statement should have been anticipated.

Nobody likes to pay for things they did not receive or in your case, did not use. We certainly understand this so we would like to take this opportunity to explain some of the reasoning behind our policy. Many, if not most, hotels in seasonal areas, do not offer refunds for early departures. As you can perhaps imagine, after turning people away for days and weeks ahead of time because you have a full hotel of reservations, to then sit with empty, unpaid rooms is just bad business. Small family operated seasonal business can not not afford to operate that way. Just as we would not break our agreement with you and offer your room to someone else, we would expect you to not break your agreement with us that you would pay for the nights you had reserved.That is the reasoning behind our policy and not offering refunds for early departures is clearly stated on all confirmations as well as on the registration card you signed upon arrival.

Having explained our policy, we would like to note that we do understand that life sometimes gets in the way of our plans and unfortunate things do happen to people. We do work with people in these situations on an individual basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

The two room suite is perfect. The bed is so-o-o comfortable. The location is wonderful but the staff is what makes the hotel such a pleasure. We have stayed there for about five years and each year they make nice improvements. The breakfast is more than adequate. The whole experience is just very pleasant. Joanne S.

Room tip: We prefer the first floor because it is closer to the breakfast area. The balconies have a better view on the first floor.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2015

Dear Joanne S, Thank you so much for your many stays with us and for your kind words about our hotel, staff and location. We really do appreciate your choosing us for your visits to Ogunquit and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

This is a great location between Perkins Cove and Ogunquit Center. There is garage parking which is very rare in Ogunquit. The suites are roomy and free wi-fi is a plus. The free breakfast offers bagels, english muffins, cereal, fresh fruit, pastry and coffee. Each suite has a balcony with 2 Adirondack chairs and there are rocking chairs on the front porch. The staff (Heidi, Philip, and JaneL-not JaneT) were all friendly and helpful.

Room tip: Our room faced the road and was quiet. Noise is not an issue.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTTraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2015

Dear CTTraveler62, How nice of you to give special mention to our top notch front desk staff! Thank you for that, for staying with us and for your very kind review. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisvor readers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews