We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed with stay”
Review of Meadowmere Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meadowmere Resort
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Burlington, Ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed with stay”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We have stayed here many times before and it was very good. This time we went on package 2 nights with dinner at a choice of three restaurant 2 of which were closed. They had neglected to mention this at time of booking. Then we find when we booked online that the package is per person not per room as we had always done before. We were disappointed because this was one of our favorite hotel. We visit Ogunquit, Wells area often but will certainly think before going there again. Room keeping was fine but customer service was less than satisfactory.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Guest

It is with our apologies to respond to your posting and we thank you for your business.

We are disappointed that our hotel did not meet your expectations for your recent stay and we appreciate your concerns. We certainly understand that you wanted to be sure that the pricing for your stay was correct. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the confusion on our packages.

As you reserved our midweek Eat Drink Be Merry package online, the policy area on that webpage explains the package as follows: “Prices per person. Based on double occupancy. Please note restaurant choices for any package are based on dates of stay and restaurant hours.”

Please know that since opening the hotel, our packages have been priced per person and this has been reflected in our rate cards, during the reservation process and online so that guests are clear on package pricing. As the Eat Drink Be Merry package comes with dinner, our team contacted you two days after booking and three days before arrival using the number on file to discuss the dining options available and make your dinner reservation for you. At that time, a message was left explaining the options and as it is the offseason in local area, the week of your reservation had one of the three choices available. We would have appreciated the opportunity to adjust your reservation in advance should you have no longer wished to be on the dining package based on this information.

After arrival, our Front Desk and Front Office Manager worked with this guest to explain the pricing. After feeling that this guest was still concerned, our General Manager contacted this guest the day after their stay to insure that the pricing was explained to their satisfaction. Though this guest expressed an understanding at the time, we are disappointed to learn that there are still questions and would have appreciated the opportunity to clarify. As per person package pricing is the common way hotel packages are priced, we are happy to take the time to make sure a guest understands and is comfortable will billing concerns.

While disappointed the billing questions remain, we are happy to note for future reservations to be made with a manager to best assist you on any future stays. Should you wish to discuss further, we welcome you to contact us.

Thank you for sharing your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    244
    70
    40
    18
See reviews for
290
457
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife and I just completed our most recent visit to the Meadowmere Resort. We have been repeat guests since March 2000 and try to visit at least once per year. Our most recent visit was a surprise trip for my wife's birthday, and the Meadowmere made her special day that much more memorable.

We are amazed at how our visits seem to get better each time we come. Our most recent experience began with a very pleasant conversation to arrange the reservation. I had requested a specific building in which to stay, and that request was happily furnished. Upon our arrival, we were greeted immediately and was checked-in promptly.

Upon arrival to the room, we were pleasantly surprised to see that we had agruably one of the nicest rooms in the resort short of a suite...large, beautifully furnished, and extremely clean. The king bed was probably the most comfortable of any hotel we have experienced. We were also pleased to see that the Meadowmere had replaced the old tube TVs with very nice flat panel televisions.

The amenities, as usual, were teriffic. The indoor pools and spas are open until 10pm on the weekends, which is generous. During the course of our stay, we were given very helpful dining suggestions. We also enjoyed the live entertainment Saturday night in the West Meadow Pub (and truly enjoyed the drinks and the personality of the bartender, Charles).

My only gripe in the past had been the tendancy for other guests (particulary younger guests and children) to run around the hallways and be excessivly loud, as well as children being in areas that they shouldn't be (ie the outdoor jacuzzi). Having mentioned that, I was pleased during this visit to see that the resort has taken steps to enforce these rules, and I encountered absolutely no issues at all with excessive noise, and did not encounter any children in the outdoor jacuzzi.

This most recent visit further reinforced my belief that the Meadowmere is the best resort in which to stay in Southern Maine. You may find other less expensive resorts, but none come close to the level of comfort, ammenities, and cleanliness that is found at the Meadowmere. My wife and I are already looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and for enjoying the Meadowmere for over 12 years!

We are delighted to know that our hotel is your home away from home. It was our pleasure to make the birthday celebration special! Thank you for the compliments on our service and upkeep – We know these are important reasons to keep returning. It sounds like you have enjoyed Ogunquit during our school vacation weeks, when the little ones get excited to enjoy the hotel. We are always happy to assist when the enthusiasm is perhaps a little too much and help make a stay more relaxing. We are delighted to know that our attention to detail and cozy comfort is a perfect fit. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for recommending us!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I read alot of bad reviews about this hotel AFTER I had already booked it. But now that we are here, I am glad to say that we are 100% impressed. The staff has been friendly, the room was immaculate, and I love the private balcony. We still have a few more days here, and I am looking forward to using all the ammenities!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and for enjoying the Meadowmere!

We are delighted to know that our hotel has made you feel at home. Thank you for the compliments on our service and cleanliness! We hope you can enjoy the amenities while here, especially the guest favorite Roman Spa, our indoor salt water Jacuzzi. It is our pleasure to make your getaway relaxing and enjoyable.

We are delighted to know that our attention to detail has made a difference.

Thank you for recommending us during your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

In the hospitality business, it is often the response to things that go wrong, rather than the mishaps themselves, that define your experience. Such was the case with our two-night stay at Meadowmere.

Our weekend spa package included massages and a deluxe room with a jacuzzi tub. The jacuzzi is in its own room within the room, not plunked in the middle of the floor like you often see at these places. It is a nice feature and the only reason to pay more than $200 a night here, because otherwise, everything is fairly standard, and in fact the bathroom is small and spare, with an exterior sink.

On the final (and coldest!) morning of our stay, we awoke at 8AM no hot water in our entire section of the facility. After our initial call, the front desk kept us apprised of the situation, saying that we could shower in the gym if need be. We received a call that the water would be restored at 10AM, one hour before our check-out. Unfortunately, when we turned the tub on, brown, murky water poured out. We gave up on the tub and the hope of squeezing in any more relaxation at that point.

Upon checkout, the young man at the front desk says, "was everything OK with your stay?" An odd statement given our previous conversation. "Well, there was the whole no hot water thing." He starts printing out our receipt, placing it in front of us as we're still talking! Then we told him about the disgusting brown water. I thought he'd be shocked and apologetic. Instead he says, "oh, you know, you should have told us, because we sent someone around to all the rooms that had this problem, to clean out tubs." WOW. He then launches into this convoluted pseudo-explanation about sediment in the pipes. The issue, to us, was not HOW it happened, it was that it DID happen. At no point did he apologize for the inconvenience, explain why he hadn't warned us about the sediment when I spoke to him on the phone, or offer any concession. This was the same person who checked us in, and he took NO ownership of us or our less than stellar experience.

At that point we flat out asked him to adjust the rate, because as I stated to him, the tub was a central reason that we paid $750 for a two-night stay. He put both of his hands on the desk and backed away and summoned the manager. She, by the way, was standing two feet away, in full earshot of our exchange, but seemed much more interested in the sweatshirts she was selling to another guest. After a quick glance at our bill, she arbitrarily offered us a measly $26 off the stay, with no explanation as to how she arrived at that figure.

We didn't fight. Relaxation WAS the point of this trip, after all. However, this was a sour ending to an otherwise pleasant trip. There was no reason to send us away feeling that way. This wasn't a money grab. I expected them to happily and proactively adjust the rate or make some other gesture to make it right, not to have to stand there and extract a measly $26 as a forced concession.

I hope management understands that experienced travelers expect things to go wrong, but they also expect staff to rise to the challenge when they do. Based on this five minutes in the lobby, I would be very reluctant to recommend this place, and I would certainly not return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SFK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guest

It is with our apologies to respond to your posting and we thank you for your business.

We are disappointed that our hotel did not meet your expectations for your recent stay and we appreciate your concerns. We certainly understand that when an unexpected situation arises, it can be frustrating. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the unexpected and unforeseen concerns that a pump failure may have caused.

Unfortunately during the last hours of this guest’s stay, a pump failure created a hot water issue in the section that he stayed in. Upon learning of the hot water problem at 8am that Sunday morning, our Maintenance team immediately began investigating. As one can imagine, a hotel system is complicated and large, with many parts to review to find the correction – However, in under two hours, Maintenance located the failed pump and adjusted the system to restore hot water by 10am that morning. Our Front Desk team was informed at each step along the way and contacted each guest affected to best serve their needs – from locating a separate room for showering to calling them with the good news that the system was repaired. In fact at 9:30am, this guest was called to be informed that the hot water would return at 10am and to ask if there was anything further we could do in the mean time to make them comfortable. Should this guest have alerted us to the problem with the Jacuzzi when in the room and not upon departure, we would have immediately sent our team to correct the problem. We know that enjoying the hot tub is the important feature to reserving one of our Jacuzzi Suites and we would have appreciated the opportunity to have assisted you better to make this in room amenity enjoyable.

The manager was happy to adjust 10% off the room rate for the second evening. As this guest mentioned, they enjoyed a spa package and those elements would not require a discount. We are disappointed to hear that this guest was unhappy with the adjustment to the area of their stay that was impacted. We adjusted 10% of each guest room rate affected by this issue and all but this one guest were impressed by our immediate reaction, handling of the unexpected issue and adjustment to their billing.

While disappointed the last five minutes of your stay made such an impression, we immediately provided an adjustment once knowing you were so disappointed with your stay. Should you wish to discuss further, we welcome you to contact us.

Thank you for sharing your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We recently spent one night at Meadowmere (Feb '12) It was very clean and the front desk staff was friendly and informative. I particularly liked movie theater as we were looking for a quiet little something to do and this fit the bill. It is a unique feature that we enjoyed. I was not terribly impressed with Jonathan's, the restaurant. I had a Caesar's salad, which was good, and my boyfriend had fried shrimp. HIs shrimp were miniscule and nothing special. I felt his dinner was very over-priced. I would not dine there again. Overall, I cannot agree with the "amazing" reviews but it was a pleasant, satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amostown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and for enjoying a winter getaway with us!

It was our pleasure to accommodate your getaway – We often have couples join us in the off season to relax and unwind. Thank you for the kind words about our service and cleanliness. We know that maintaining our resort is an important reason so many guests return. It is great to know that you enjoyed our amenities!

It is unfortunate that your dining experience at Jonathan’s was not satisfactory. It sounds like you may have thought the restaurant is part of the hotel (It is in fact separate from the hotel) and may have thought we would be reluctant to make other recommendations. Please know that the Ogunquit area has many wonderful options and we are happy to provide options on your next stay to find the best fit. It is important us to help make the entire stay a wonderful vacation.

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.6 km away
The Anchorage By the Sea
1.6 km away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.5 km away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.5 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.4 km away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowmere Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowmere Resort

Property: Meadowmere Resort
Address: 74 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#15 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,295 - ₹ 23,330
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowmere Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin a tradition at The Meadowmere Resort, a family owned inn in the heart of Ogunquit. Relax with award winning amenities, great location, environmental excellence and every room choice to make your hotel stay special. Set on the Southern Coast of Maine and one hour away from Boston, the Meadowmere is a favorite Maine vacation resort for generations. Enjoy gourmet getaways, spa packages, Maine weddings, corporate meetings and year-round vacations in the heart of Ogunquit Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Meadowmere Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowmere Resort Ogunquit
Meadowmere Hotel Ogunquit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing