We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special dinner”
Review of Katie's on Shore Road - CLOSED

Katie's on Shore Road
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Stearns Road
Transit: During the season, Katie’s is on the Ogunquit Trolley line on Shore Road which stops at the corner of our property.
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We visited this restaurant after viewing a play at the Ogunquit Playhouse. The meal was superb, the staff outstanding and we will return when we visit the area again. I liked that the restaurant even uses local soap and lotion in the restrooms-Stonewall Kitchen items.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NHToni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard1030, Owner at Katie's on Shore Road, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thanks so much for writing! Many of our other guests also go to the wonderful productions at the Ogunquit Playhouse and Katie's is so close to the Playhouse without being on busy Route 1. We are proud to have Stonewall products in the restroom and we buy them from Spoiled Rotten, which stocks so many fine items!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

A wonderful new place my wife Merry and I decided to try this past Aug. The decor is blue from
the walls to the vases w/ blue marbles in them to some blue tchotchkes (not tacky ones). The
floor was a beautiful honey colored hard wood which was immaculate. Our waitress Joanne knew
who we were from our 98 Provence days. We ate mostly appetizers, a lightly battered tempura
lobster, stuffed squash blossoms, an amazing salad with nice earthy oyster mushrooms (I think)
and we split an entree of the very best lobster mac n' cheese I have ever had. Katie's on Shore
Rd. is a MUST.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Iluvmexico68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard1030, Owner at Katie's on Shore Road, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thanks so much for your kind review! I got a chuckle from it. Yes, last winter we painted the walls blue (light blue for the interior walls and darker blue on the outer walls) and we think it is calming and relaxing, the perfect accompaniment to great food! Thanks for noticing!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Everything about Katie's is great--from the bartender, to our waitress, to the wonderful meal. We will certainly return!!

Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard1030, Owner at Katie's on Shore Road, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

People are important. The chefs and bartenders/servers are like family at Katie's. In fact every night, the chefs and front of the house sit down to a meal together just before we open to discuss the evening's menu and get feedback. Thank you for recognizing that they all play an important role in your enjoyment of Katie's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Wonderful staff from host, bartender to chef and waiter. We had a small wedding party of 6 and the experience was great. Good food, special attention.

1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard1030, Owner at Katie's on Shore Road, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thanks so much for your positive review! When we know in advance that our guests are celebrating an occasion, we like to make the evening memorable and special. It's great that your party enjoyed everything!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

.... with an essentially American menu--- steaks, chickens, etc.--- there are some interesting items here but basically staight ahead, good quality served in a really interesting place. I had expected to be seated in a fairly hokey New England restaurant but the location ehre is open, and sort of contemplative, with interesting art in a not overly cluttered environment (no sea gulls, no cute beach items etc.).

We are not big fans of the lobster/fried seafood scene so Katie's was more to our taste. They offer a number of specility cocktails and a good wine list (maybe a tad juiced up on price but that's a problem endemic to U.S. restaurants).

Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ordinarymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard1030, Owner at Katie's on Shore Road, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

We appreciate your candid, kind comments. Yes, absolutely, we are not standard touristy fare at Katie's and, yes, we are basically an eclectic American restaurant. What we are trying to accomplish is to serve great food in a comfortable (but not "kitschy") atmosphere. From the comments in your review, it seems that we are succeeding!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing