We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit Under New Ownership”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parsons Post House Inn
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Reviewed 11 June 2016

When we received the news that the Parsons Post House Inn had been purchased by the Sea Chambers in an email we were disappointed and didn't know what to expect. We have visited the Inn many times over the past few years and had gotten to know the prior owners Laura and John who went out of their way to make each visit enjoyable.
When we arrived and entered the Inn (after going across the street to the Sea Chambers to check in) the first thing we noticed was the small Inn feeling was gone, no lobby area with small table and chairs to sit and chat but 6 Adirondack chairs sitting in it's place. We try to stay in Room 28 whenever we visit, to us being at the end of a hallway makes it quieter than other rooms we have stayed in. The room was pretty much the same but the blankets and bed covers had changed and not for the better, the duvet cover was gone and blankets mis-matched.
The staff at check in were very nice and helpful, although at check out the gentleman behind the desk was a little sarcastic with a simple question we had asked him, maybe that's just the way he is.
Parsons Post is perfect for a couple wanting to be in the center of Ogunquit and within walking distance to pretty much everything to include marginal way, restaurants and the beach.
The one plus we learned staying this time is that we can use the amenities at the Sea Chambers to include the pool, hot tub and can also take part of the continental breakfast offered each morning, although seating is difficult at the breakfast having a way to save some $$ in the morning by eating there is good.
Will visit again in September.

Room Tip: Rooms 28 and 27 are the best as it's at the end of the hallway,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2016

Really liked the hotel. Picked it out based on Tripadvisor feedback and rating. Perfect location as we never had to drive anywhere. CLean, well kept and very nice staff. Two minor complaints keeping me from a five star rating. 1. Mattress older and very soft on each side. Hard in middle and was slanted on each edge. 2. Very thin windows as heard a lot outside at restaurant next door until 11:30.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 104matthewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

We stayed in the top floor penthouse and were blown away with how spacious it was. The furnishings were well chosen, the beds comfortable, and the kitchen fully equipped. Living room area had a very nice view of the water and the unit had plenty of light. The only issue was the shower and maybe it's because I'm spoiled with a huge shower at home, but it's pretty small, darkly tiled and the plumbing is noisy. Everything else more than made up for it, though. We would not hesitate to stay there again. This B&B surpassed out expectations. It was absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TeaAndCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Finally our overdue review! There is little we can add that hasn't already been said-Laura and John are THE perfect hosts and thoroughly deserving of all the glowing praise! They were brilliant with our boys, bringing out Iron Man robot, always having a moment to chat with them and us, recommending places of interest, a bite to eat, take out etc. We stayed in the penthouse for Thanksgiving (Canadian)-perfect for families-roomy, comfy, tastefully decorated, stunning ocean views. And of course there were Laura's irresistable muffins and cookies! We loved Perkin's Cove, the Lobster Shack for lunch, Cove Cafe for breakfast and all the adorable gift shops! Maine in the fall is spectacular with the colours seemingly more dramatic than other areas of New England we have visited. Thanks for a wonderful and faultless stay, we will continue to recommend your inn to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank littlemissmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015

We had been travelling round New England for a couple of weeks and came to Ogunquit for our last few days. It is the most attractive little Maine town and Parsons Post House is the perfect place to stay. We stayed in the Penthouse which was amazing with gorgeous views! Nothing was too much trouble for Laura and John, our hosts, and they gave us lots of help on where to eat,places to see. Our accommodation was superb and beautifully kept - the bed was sooooo comfy!! If you want to stay in Ogunquit, then look no further!

Stayed: October 2015
Thank 26Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 km away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
306 reviews
0.6 km away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
367 reviews
0.3 km away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,069 reviews
0.3 km away
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
0.6 km away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parsons Post House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsons Post House Inn

Address: 62 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3702
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Parsons Post House Hotel Ogunquit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing