We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical, wonderful place”
Review of Asticou Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asticou Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The Asticou Inn is a wonderful place to stay. It is nothing fancy but it is clean, quaint and lovely. The rooms we had were very spacious and the service was fantastic. We had very personal, thoughtful service from several of the staff members. The Inn is located in a great location - very close to the North East Harbor Village and to the Acadia National Park. We enjoyed the food, there was good variety and it was always fresh. The gardens and setting of the Inn were just gorgeous. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Asticou. It is very good value!

Room Tip: Speak with the Manager about your room requirements as the Asticou has many different room arrangeme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NycAnnieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 201 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed there in August 2011. We were looking for a place to stay for one night and someone recommended the Asticou. As soon as we heard there was a wedding and a birthday dinner that weekend, we should have left and found another place. It is not that the wedding was loud, but that the hotel cannot accommondate functions plus regular guests. The staff was made up of young people from around the world who did speak English well but who obviously had no training in working in a hotel. It took a very long time to check in and the staff seemed more interested in selling us goo-gaws they have on display at the front desk. The main building was filled and we were in the Cranberry Lodge. The room was over $300 and we were given a large, old room with no TV (I know, this is Maine blah blah) with a tub/shower that had a disgusting curtain that clung to you when you took a shower. Even cheap chain hotels have mastered the technology to prevent this. I hope you are not too old or feeble - you will not be able to climb into that tub.

In the evening we were told we could not go into the bar area as there was a birthday dinner on the porch. There was no one in the bar so we went anyway. In the morning, they provide a buffet breakfast and have the nerve to charge $12.00. The buffet had a few dishes and a bowl of cut-up old brown fruit. This was at the height of blueberry season! Breakfast goes until 10:00. We arrived at 9:30 and were told they were no longer making pancakes. We stated this was not acceptable. The teenager managing the buffet went into the kitchen and 15 minutes later brought out two plates of blueberry pancakes that were raw and liquid in the center. When we pointed this out he told us that due to the wedding and birthday dinner the regular chef needed a break (understandable) and someone else was in the kitchen - who? One of the clueless teenagers who work at the hotel? We were not offered new pancakes or removal of the breakfast charge. I will say one nice thing - the coffee was great.

The one skill where the teenagers excelled was in following guests around to ask, "What is your room number?" whenever you pick up something - so they can put it on your bill. This includes the morning newspaper that I wanted to read with breakfast.

Maybe if there were no functions going on the service would have been proper. Maybe rooms in the Main House are better. In any case, if the hotel cannot accommodate regular guests while functions are going on, the hotel should not accept these guests. How about hiring a real chef to take over when the regular chef needs a break? How about free breakfast? How about scattering a couple of newspapers around at breakfast? How about a TV in the room and a decent shower?

There has got to be a better place to stay for $300+ in the Bar Harbour area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank bananaiguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This is the real deal. A luxury Maine inn on Mt. Desert Island. Large clean rooms, comfortable beds and great service. Not really a tourist town. This is a get away from it all bedroom community which happens to be adjacent to the pristine Acadia National Park. Staying here is the opposite of staying in Bar Harbor. A place to decompress and probably a good wedding destination too.

No air conditioning, No TV. Didn't miss either. There is a TV and internet in the lounge but the connection is SLOOOOOW Cell service is tricky too, almost by design.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a view but we didn't stay in one. We faced the street and really enjoyed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We were so disappointed in all aspects of our stay at the Asticou. We were expecting a quaint, old-fashonioned Inn (nothing fancy). Instead, we found the facility to be run down. We stayed in one of the cabins which, while it was big, was quite rustic. The outdoor pool was very poorly maintained, with wobbly stairs and rusty ladders. Most disappointing was the staff, who were, for the most part, very unfriendly and unwilling to help at all. We were shocked by this and definitely expected much more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rubesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

While the exterior and common rooms of the inn have a certain charm, our room was barely better than camping. We stayed in one of their "topsider cabin suites. " It smelled moldy, and everything was rustic and worn and shabby. We dined at their restaurant, "The Peabody," and although the menu was ambitious, nothing was prepared properly. The tuna tartare was "cooked" and the salmon and rice were unseasoned with even a minimum of salt. We were incredibly disappointed, and had we not been forced to pay in advance we would have left early.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GRNJtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northeast Harbor
1.3 km away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
99 reviews
10.8 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#4 of 41 in Bar Harbor
715 reviews
10.8 km away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,376 reviews
11.4 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.0 km away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asticou Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asticou Inn

Address: 15 Peabody Drive, Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island, ME 04662
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Mount Desert > Northeast Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Northeast Harbor
Price Range: ₹ 13,528 - ₹ 22,569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Asticou Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored 19th century country inn at the foot of Acadia National Park and overlooking Northeast Harbor. The beautiful Asticou Azalea Gardens are right across the street from the inn. The history of this property is truly fascinating!The inn features a restaurant and a heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Asticou Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asticou Hotel Northeast Harbor
Asticou Resort Northeast Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing