We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host”
Review of Grey Rock Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northeast Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grey Rock Inn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great host”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed a week and it was just great. The host Adam bent over backwards to make our stay great.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iggygriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Northeast Harbor is beautiful, with easy access to Acadia, however, if you want to make sure that you get the bed you reserved, the dates you reserved, the rate you reserved and if you'll get breakfast and what it entails, get it in writing up front, so there will be no misunderstandings, once you check in.

Room Tip: There is only one king sized bed; if that's important to you, make sure it's reserved for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fmtbebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Don't be put off by the negative posts. Grey Rock is quite comfortable and the mgmt. (Adam, Janet, and His Mother), are very nice, respectful of guests space, and go out of there way to ensure that guests have a delightful stay. We have stayed at other properties in Bar Harbour (Balanced Rock Inn) and there is no comparison -- Grey Rock is much better.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malthus500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

The Gray Rock Inn was clean, decorated with lovely antiques, and cozy. Just as advertised. The single room I reserved was sunny, comfortable, and had a tiny bit of a view of the harbor. It did have its own bathroom --- across the hall. I would have liked to have known this ahead of time as "ensuite" to me means the bathrooms are attached. And that's what I wanted. Weirdly, none of the bedrooms had locks(!) which was a bit uncomfortable for me.

If you're looking for a real B&B experience, you may be charmed by this accommodation. The host, Adam, is a gregarious and friendly character (with a capital "C") but was a bit too intrusive for my tastes. I was expecting this to be a traditional country inn with a reception desk and then complete privacy. Not so! My every movement was commented on, from going to dinner to what I should take upstairs for bedtime reading to his insistence that I meet his mother right away when I came down, half asleep, for coffee in the morning! Some people may like that; I did not.

The hot breakfast (ccoked by Adam and his mother) was good but served very late. Anyone wanting to get an early start be forewarned!

Would I go back again? Probably not. That being said, I wouldn't cross the Gray Rock Inn off your list at all if you want a more intimate, and somewhat quirky, B&B experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SallyAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

If you like anonymity and unobtrusive hosts then this is not the place for you. Do not expect service your way. Service is at the whim of the host and with an attitude that can make you want to avoid further contact. If you have ever seen the BBC production of “Fawlty Towers” you will know what I mean. On the other hand if you like the intimacy of the B&B experience with quirky hosts then this might be the place for you.

Breakfast was at one time only, no exceptions, and was a good 30 minutes late so don’t plan on an early morning start to your activities. What ever you do don’t complain, contradict the host, put your glass down without a coaster or ask for an iron or you just might get a gentle scolding.

As lovely and clean as the place is with the family antiques and well appointed rooms, we found it a bit unnerving that there were no locks on our doors. It was also unnerving that the host entered our rooms while we were out and straightened up our belongings. To be fair the host has good intentions but his familiarity was not for us. We expected a first class Inn not a family B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelguide55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northeast Harbor
0.8 km away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
85 reviews
11.3 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
586 reviews
3.5 km away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,240 reviews
12.1 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,640 reviews
0.5 km away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Rock Inn

Property: Grey Rock Inn
Address: Harbourside Road, Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island, ME 04662
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Mount Desert > Northeast Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Northeast Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,012 - ₹ 24,222
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing