We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice enough but glad I was only staying one night”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Wilmington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“nice enough but glad I was only staying one night”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Overall pretty good, but we had to re-arrange the livingroom- when we were laying in bed (murphy bed) the loveseat was right in the way of the TV. So, we had to move the coffee table and the loveseat- they were squashed into the corner with the sofa. The bathroom linoleum needs to be replaced and there wasn't sufficient coffee supplies in the kitchen- very little coffee creamer and no sugar or other sweetener. Luckily the front desk was very nice at 6am and gave me some supplies- breakfast didn't start until 7.

Room Tip: bring your own coffee supplies- and a snack if you want to eat before 7am
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcolbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    29
    28
    6
    10
See reviews for
22
27
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
donnacona
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We were there for a golf vacation, badly, it rain all week.
We were very happy to have the spa,and the pool. This pool is the best I ever had. You get in and out inside and you swim outside and it is open until 10 pm.
The staff is great.
Ask for something and you get it. it is amasing.
Very good bed, pillows and sheets.
Room service is excellent the staff gives you what you ask.
The hotel is quiet, not what we heard from reviews. If you get ther at spring break, it is probably noisy. Parking lot is a little far from the hotel door, specially if it rains.

Room Tip: Take a 1 floor room, it is the floor of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeetclaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

The Grand Summit is family friendly....perhaps too family friendly. I would recommend this place for families, but not for couples looking for peace and quiet. The walls are very thin, and in our room it basically sounded like a herd of elephants walking on the floor above all day long. We noted teenagers, perhaps 16 or 17 years old drinking beer in the pool and hottub at night. The staff was very friendly and all the valets were very nice. The breakfast is very good. Showering is an adventure here. You have to duck in and out of the water between fluctuations of scalding and freezing water. I reccommend showering during non peak hours such as 3AM for your own safety. The beds were comfortable and room amenities were simple but acceptable. The ski area is very nice, I would visit Sunday River again, but will look into a bed and breakfast instead of the Grand Summit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowski75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed here while skiing at Sunday River. I think it is a typical ski hotel, nice beds but not much else in the room except a TV and a bathroom and a table with coffee maker. You don't really need much else if you're going to spend all your time skiing.
Pros:
- Location was great, you could ski from the hotel right to the lift and very easy to ski back home.
- Breakfast: Breakfast was included in our package and was served from 7 to 10:30 every morning. Specially liked the omletes and the chicken hash. Servers were very good at filling up coffee cups and water.
- Beds were very comfortable
- heater worked really well in our room
- Heated outdoor pool and hot tub: It was great to be able to relax in the hot tub and pool after a day of skiing. Pool was open till 10PM every night.
- Staff - from the front desk clerk to the housecleaning staff, everyone was friendly and helpful. A++
- Shuttle around the Sunday River Area

Cons:
- Rooms are a bit dated however with the beating that the rooms get from skiers I completely understand the industrial carpeting.
- Noise: There were some rowdy skiers across the hall from us and you could hear them all night. Also a lot of door banging all through the night.
- no where to sit in the room except two cafe chairs at a table. it would have been nice to have some kind of easy/soft chair to read in.
- Area around the hot tub. Since the outside pools are heated you have to be very careful getting out of the pool and entering the hot tub. because of the water from the pool it freezes up very easily around the edges and I slipped on the ice going to the hot tub from the pool. I landed on my arm but luckily didn't break anything just some scrapes.
- Kids: This is something the hotel can't do anything about but there were kids everywhere and the parents did not watch them. Under 13 years were supposed to be accompanied in the pool area but there were lots of kids w/o parents around both in the pool and hot tub.

I would definitely stay here again if I return to Sunday River. The location is great and it was nice to be able to ski on and off the mountain. We had friends who stayed in the condos at Sunday River and said it was very bare so we were glad of our choice.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

A friend had his wedding here in Sept 2010. Here are some thoughts.

Food - The food was very good. We had chicken and fish, which both were very good.
Venue - The banquet room was amazing. It can probably seat up to 350 with comfort, with a nice dance floor and stage area.

Rooms - We stayed in one of the suites, and at 5pm, the room service still had not cleaned the room. We checked with them at 5, and the beds did get made, but the bathroom, kitchen and common room was a disaster. We transitioned from a prior room to the suite, and the staff must not have known we were not costumers, because the place was still trashed.

Security - One word, "Joke". There were people coming in and out of the reception that did not belong to the wedding. When confronted by family members, ruckus ensued. There were not security guards to be found until someone went to get them.

Based on all the bs the family and friends had to deal with that night, I would never recommend this place, until they get security cameras and an actual working security team. Instead of remembering a beautiful wedding, the family will remember the problems with security, the bride getting assaulted AT HER OWN RECEPTION, and how much of a joke the security is at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chughes207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
29.2 km away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
28.2 km away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
465 reviews
8.6 km away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
River View Resort
River View Resort
#14 of 15 in Bethel
64 reviews
8.3 km away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
6.7 km away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center
Address: Skiway Rd. and 97 Summit Rd., Sunday River Resort, Newry, ME 04217
Region: United States > Maine > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,815 - ₹ 50,573
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Summit Hotel combines the best of both worlds. It offers all the amenities you would expect from a full-service hotel like two restaurants, a health club, and a heated outdoor pool, with all the convenience of a true slopeside location. Accommodations include 230 well-appointed guest rooms, all of which were recently renovated, ranging from standard hotel rooms to suites with kitchens. Located at the entrance to the resort, the Grand Summit Hotel is a landmark and provides easy access to the resort's core winter and summer activities. The hotel's slopeside location is ideal for families looking for ski-in/ski-out access thanks to a number of beginner-level trails located nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Summit Resort Hotel Newry
Grand Summit Hotel
Summit Bethel
Bethel Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing