We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Best Campground EVER!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Desert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Desert Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2017

This was THE best campground we have ever stayed in!! The sites are large and we never felt "cramped" even though we did have neighbors. The "Gathering Place" has free Wi-Fi and serves treats from local bakeries every morning. The bath houses are all wooden and are CLEAN every day. There is soap and paper towels in each bath house. You do pay for hot water in the shower ($1.00 for 5 minutes), but, cold showers are FREE! LOL! Bring quarters with you as we never saw a place to make change. We were on site D12 with water/electric. This is a mostly tent campground but they can accommodate pop-ups or trailers 20ft or less. We were in a pop-up and there was PLENTY of room for us. Yes, sites on the water are more "pricey" but well worth it. We did not want a platform to camp on so chose a more remote site. We walked out on the floats several times to watch the tide come in/go out. They sell wood (hard or soft) at $5 a bundle and ice 5lbs for $2. Our check in went smoothly and our site was not difficult to get into or out of. If we are ever able to return to Acadia from Ohio we will DEFINITELY camp here again!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

We are a family who is used to state park campgrounds and I have to tell you that this campground blows those out of the water. From the (mostly) private, wooded lots to the size of the campground to the pristinely clean (cleaned 2x a day) bathrooms, this is most definitely the place to go if you want to camp near Bar Harbor. I have to say that it's very refreshing to find a campground that rents to like-minded folks. We observe quiet hours, clean up our trash and take very good care of our sites. At 10pm, you could hear a pin drop in that place! I love that they have staff that live on site with very clearly marked housing. I felt comfortable enough allowing my 9 year old to walk to the Gathering Place alone and he loved it! We traveled from Delaware and it was most definitely worth the 10 hours. We loved it so much that we reserved our spot already for next summer! Do yourself a favor and check out this campground. The owners are very concerned with keeping visitor footprints to a minimum so they invest a lot of money and time into keeping the campground maintained in the off season and it clearly shows!

Room Tip: Most water sites are on platforms which can end up being raised off of the ground on the side of a h...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Dinkerbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

For the same price as staying inside a quiet and comfy motel with an actual bed, you are allowed to pitch a tent. Sites are close to 60 dollars a night. This is fine if you are a young family and you are doing a budget holiday trip for a few nights. There are no extended stay discounts or price breaks for 1 or 2 people. You will pay for everything else, from showers to firewood. It's a sad and acceptable option if you can't get in at Blackwoods, which is about 10 bucks cheaper. Also, bring earplugs, as you will be awoken by children and the smog from people running their motor to defog their windows.

Room Tip: bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank burnsculpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

I'm 55... been tent camping my whole life. Been to many different campgrounds. As a Canadian I am used to some top notch Provincial Parks. This Park is phenomenal. Clearly anybody with anything bad to say about it has not seen many campgrounds! Fantastic sites... Great washrooms...great location for exploring Acadia National Park. I was only able to land a two night reservation. I will most definitely do what it takes to book a longer stay some day in the future and have been telling everyone I know that this is a dream campground for their future plans!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Brooklinjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

This beautiful campground is set right on the ocean with spectacular views. There are many sites that are wooded and more private with . They also have a dock that the children (and adults) can fish for crabs with nets. Coffee and sweet treats are available during the "Gathering Place" open hours and you can get your internet fix there as well. You can also enjoy taking out their canoes or kayaks for a fee whether it be a couple of hours or a full day. My family loves it here and most of all we have made great people and friends.

Stayed: August 2017
3  Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Desert
9.2 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
8.1 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
8.8 km away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
100 reviews
7.6 km away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
259 reviews
8.5 km away
Colonel's Suites
Colonel's Suites
#1 of 3 in Northeast Harbor
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Desert Campground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Desert Campground

Address: 516 Sound Dr, Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island, ME 04660-6618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Mount Desert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mount Desert
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1958, Mount Desert Campground has been providing clean and quiet grounds for campers to enjoy! While you won't find frills and gimmicks here, you will find beautiful wooded sites located along the salt water shore of Somes Sound. We take great pride in ensuring our camper's stay is a pleasant one, which is why we also provide the most up-to-date facilities. For more information, please contact us today or visit our website for more details! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing