We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
163
21
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
21
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gathering place somes sound quiet hours camping experience coffee and pastries waterfront site wooden platform rent kayaks hot water great camping catching crabs bring quarters local bakeries could hear a pin drop bathroom and shower facilities minute shower tent campers
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We stayed here with our 3 kids and our whole family loved it!!!! The campground was very clean and so were the bathrooms. There was crab fishing, paddle boarding, and they had kayak and canoe rentals. The camp sites were very nice and surrounded with trees, some sites even overlooked a sound!!! I would definitely recommend this campsite.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
Thank Pask3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

My husband and I have traveled to Maine annually for years and have stayed at Blackwoods Campground in Acadia. Due to changing our dates from fall to summer this year, everywhere was booked, but the owners of MDCG replied to an email that I wrote and mentioned they had a cancelation and would be happy to accommodate us.

One thing is for sure, we found our new campground. I can't say enough about how clean the grounds were, the platforms for tents were superb, which the owners will give campers nails to tack down tents since you won't be able to use stakes. There was enough space for our Jeep as well as privacy from other camping families. The bathrooms... I can't say enough of how clean and maintained they were. This is huge for us and there were enough of these to accommodate any site. Our bathroom looked brand new, had 2 shower stalls with benches and numerous hooks, 3 toilets, a vanity with chair, plenty of mirrors and 3 sinks complete with soap and paper towels. Not a spider web or bug issue in sight! You get 5 minutes for $1 in quarters for the hot showers, and they were hot fast. There is a "Gathering Place" on the way into the campground where they have wi-fi, nighty ice cream, coffee and donuts in the morning and a front porch where people can do puzzles and play games. The office will sell wood bundles and ice as well and was open from 8am-6pm. MDCG is located in the center of the island on Somes Sound, so its not a far drive from all harbor areas as well as the Park. There's a local gas station also that's a few minutes away that had any last minute needs.

MDCG offers kayaks, paddleboards and canoes for a fee. We didn't get a chance to enjoy this amenity, but will next time around.

I can say we will definitely be repeat customers. We scoped out other sites and will book early to try a site on the Sound next visit. The "A" sites had gorgeous water overlooks, but if you're looking for "deep woods" camping, "E" won't disappoint as well.

If you're looking for clean, maintained tent, RV, popup camping that will give you privacy and surround you in Maine nature, don't look any further.

Room tip: "A" sites are water side, but probably book fast! Gorgeous.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmjm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

This was the most pristine campground I have ever been to We stayed at E30 site. Great because it was a little more secluded. The only difficulty would be you have to get up a small rocky slope. It is a wooded site away from the water. The sites with water views were a little more crowded and had more children. We are empty nesters so we liked the quiet spot.
Nice wooded platform to put your tent and picnic table on. Small fireplace that works just fine for a fire to add effect. We did cook on it one night, but bring your coleman stove..

There are bath facilities for each area. Very clean. Four quarters for five minutes which was good enough. Outlet for hair drier when youve had enough of looking like the swamp thing.

They sell coffee and local baked goods each morning and have ice cream for sale in the evening at The Gathering place, which has wi-fi.

They have canoes and kayaks. We canoed one day. For kids, you can buy little crab catching kits. If you have children they will not be bored here.

I loved the area the campground was. Close enough to Bar Harbor or for us to go to dinner at Thurstons (ate there twice) , or Beals. Both excellent food.

It was also close enough to drive to all of our hiking biking areas. There is also an Island Shuttle that takes you and your bike everywhere.

The hosts were very informative and friendly. I would go back. As a matter of fact, I did not want to leave.

THe one drawback. You could hear the highway and noise from garbage and septic truck. Trade off for convenience. If you want pure quiet not the place for you.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank askreppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We had site C13. The platform was large enough for our 10 X 14 ft. tent. The view from the site was lovely (because of the steep drop off, this particular site would not be good for young children). The campground was exceptionally quiet. The bathrooms were clean. My only complaint was that $1 for a 5 minute shower is expensive compared to most campgrounds we have visited.

Room tip: The water views are the best!
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 5inwayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Just got back, been there around 11 times. It's a quiet campground. It's mainly for tents and features nice platforms, they only allow in so many pop-up trailers. It's very wooded, but less so along the ocean sites. Everyone that goes loves it and most are repeat customers.BEST PART: Super Clean Bathrooms! They are cleaned multiple times per day. Great central location on Mt Desert Island for going places. Not much to do at campground except there is a long floating dock where people can rent kayaks and kids can go crabbing. My only complaint is that the shower stalls are too small.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKHenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews