We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new campground from here on out!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Desert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Desert Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2016

My husband and I have traveled to Maine annually for years and have stayed at Blackwoods Campground in Acadia. Due to changing our dates from fall to summer this year, everywhere was booked, but the owners of MDCG replied to an email that I wrote and mentioned they had a cancelation and would be happy to accommodate us.

One thing is for sure, we found our new campground. I can't say enough about how clean the grounds were, the platforms for tents were superb, which the owners will give campers nails to tack down tents since you won't be able to use stakes. There was enough space for our Jeep as well as privacy from other camping families. The bathrooms... I can't say enough of how clean and maintained they were. This is huge for us and there were enough of these to accommodate any site. Our bathroom looked brand new, had 2 shower stalls with benches and numerous hooks, 3 toilets, a vanity with chair, plenty of mirrors and 3 sinks complete with soap and paper towels. Not a spider web or bug issue in sight! You get 5 minutes for $1 in quarters for the hot showers, and they were hot fast. There is a "Gathering Place" on the way into the campground where they have wi-fi, nighty ice cream, coffee and donuts in the morning and a front porch where people can do puzzles and play games. The office will sell wood bundles and ice as well and was open from 8am-6pm. MDCG is located in the center of the island on Somes Sound, so its not a far drive from all harbor areas as well as the Park. There's a local gas station also that's a few minutes away that had any last minute needs.

MDCG offers kayaks, paddleboards and canoes for a fee. We didn't get a chance to enjoy this amenity, but will next time around.

I can say we will definitely be repeat customers. We scoped out other sites and will book early to try a site on the Sound next visit. The "A" sites had gorgeous water overlooks, but if you're looking for "deep woods" camping, "E" won't disappoint as well.

If you're looking for clean, maintained tent, RV, popup camping that will give you privacy and surround you in Maine nature, don't look any further.

Room Tip: "A" sites are water side, but probably book fast! Gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmjm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2016

This was the most pristine campground I have ever been to We stayed at E30 site. Great because it was a little more secluded. The only difficulty would be you have to get up a small rocky slope. It is a wooded site away from the water. The sites with water views were a little more crowded and had more children. We are empty nesters so we liked the quiet spot.
Nice wooded platform to put your tent and picnic table on. Small fireplace that works just fine for a fire to add effect. We did cook on it one night, but bring your coleman stove..

There are bath facilities for each area. Very clean. Four quarters for five minutes which was good enough. Outlet for hair drier when youve had enough of looking like the swamp thing.

They sell coffee and local baked goods each morning and have ice cream for sale in the evening at The Gathering place, which has wi-fi.

They have canoes and kayaks. We canoed one day. For kids, you can buy little crab catching kits. If you have children they will not be bored here.

I loved the area the campground was. Close enough to Bar Harbor or for us to go to dinner at Thurstons (ate there twice) , or Beals. Both excellent food.

It was also close enough to drive to all of our hiking biking areas. There is also an Island Shuttle that takes you and your bike everywhere.

The hosts were very informative and friendly. I would go back. As a matter of fact, I did not want to leave.


THe one drawback. You could hear the highway and noise from garbage and septic truck. Trade off for convenience. If you want pure quiet not the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank askreppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We had site C13. The platform was large enough for our 10 X 14 ft. tent. The view from the site was lovely (because of the steep drop off, this particular site would not be good for young children). The campground was exceptionally quiet. The bathrooms were clean. My only complaint was that $1 for a 5 minute shower is expensive compared to most campgrounds we have visited.

Room Tip: The water views are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 5inwayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Just got back, been there around 11 times. It's a quiet campground. It's mainly for tents and features nice platforms, they only allow in so many pop-up trailers. It's very wooded, but less so along the ocean sites. Everyone that goes loves it and most are repeat customers.BEST PART: Super Clean Bathrooms! They are cleaned multiple times per day. Great central location on Mt Desert Island for going places. Not much to do at campground except there is a long floating dock where people can rent kayaks and kids can go crabbing. My only complaint is that the shower stalls are too small.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKHenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

The campground was beautiful with all of the trees and the lake. We were a bit surprised by our site as it was filled with roots and rocks leaving very little flat ground. However, we will definitely choose it again when we go back to Maine. The bathrooms were extremely clean!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Desert
9.2 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
8.1 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
8.8 km away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
100 reviews
7.6 km away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
259 reviews
8.5 km away
Colonel's Suites
Colonel's Suites
#1 of 3 in Northeast Harbor
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Desert Campground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Desert Campground

Address: 516 Sound Dr, Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island, ME 04660-6618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Mount Desert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mount Desert
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1958, Mount Desert Campground has been providing clean and quiet grounds for campers to enjoy! While you won't find frills and gimmicks here, you will find beautiful wooded sites located along the salt water shore of Somes Sound. We take great pride in ensuring our camper's stay is a pleasant one, which is why we also provide the most up-to-date facilities. For more information, please contact us today or visit our website for more details! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing