We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Young House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Baxter Park Inn(Millinocket)(Great Value!)
US$ 153
US$ 131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pamola Motor Lodge(Millinocket)
US$ 98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 104
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Terrace and Restaurant(Millinocket)(Great Value!)
US$ 87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
155
40
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
40
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchbaxter state parkpond roomhomemade breadinn keepers aregreeted enthusiasticallyspent one nightegg dishesold victorianb and bgranolasmall townnice stayfollowing morninghome away from homelarge roommade us feel at home
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed at the Young House after a day of camping and hiking in Baxter State Park, and enjoyed everything about it. Lovely B&B right in the center of Millinocket. Comfortable wrap-around porch to relax on a nice spring day. Our room was sunny, well appointed, and clean. Breakfast was memorable - both the delicious food and the "family-style" seating that helps break the ice with other patrons. Most of all - though they were busy with a full house - the owners were a delight: personable, knowledgeable about the area, happy to take the time and chit-chat with their guests. This is the right way to do all-fashioned, home-style and slow-pace - no gimmicks, just good food, comfortable room, good location, attentive service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We have been there because of the reviews and we must admit that we finally found them a little bit exaggerated. There is nothing special to do in Millinocket.
The motel is close to the main road to Baxter state park.
The rooms were nicely decorated, but we found them dusty. We could not use the fan coolers because there was a significant layer of dust on them. Also, we had to negotiate a little bit to get some additional shampoos, which looked pretty funny.
Breakfast time was a little bit late, when considering to hike in the Baxter state park.
Generally speaking, the owners were nice.
Our children enjoyed all the DVD collection that they had.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aureilhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Young House. It was a wonderful experience. I said "experience" because it has so much more to offer than a regular motel could. It is decorated beautifully with a delightful country decor, the rooms and bathrooms are spotless, the breakfasts are yummy and the hosts are gracious. We were even lucky enough to meet fun and interesting people at breakfast.
If you are looking for something that is more interesting, comfortable and gives you the opportunity to meet fascinating people, this is it!
I highly recommend it .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Very comfortable. Home- like environment. Fantastic cook to order breakfast. The best of many we've stayed at.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riversids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I wanted to climb Katahdin the morning after we arrived. The Compass Room was perfect...as rising at 4am didn't disturb anyone. The sack breakfast was devoured and we really looked forward to coming back to the B&B after our hike (and our breakfast the next morning. Micky and Fred were great...helpful with suggestions and just fun to talk with. We were interested in some of the Art-work available in Millenocket and they were very supportive of the art community. Would definitely recommend it and should we ever be in the area again, would stay with them in a minute. (They graciously let me wash off my trail-accummulated boots with their hose.) The other folks we met there were wonderful breakfast companions.

Room Tip: If you are going to leave before breakfast to hike, the Compass Room was perfect.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohio_Geologist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews