We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip to Maine, highly recommend the Scandinavian Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Axell's Scandinavian Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manchester
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Amazing trip to Maine, highly recommend the Scandinavian Inn”
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I stayed at the Scandy with my family over the weekend of 07/30-8/1. We came into Manchester for an event and the staff/owners of the motel were extremely accomodating for a very late arrival Friday night. The rooms are cozy and quaint, very clean, the bathrooms are spotless and the beds are extremely comfortable.
The Axell family owns this property and the Fairway which is about a mile or so up the road. The pool is located at the Fairway but we had access to use it. Both properties are very nice and our hosts could not have been more welcoming or pleasant.
No complaints. Would definitely stay here again and recommend either property to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    14
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
11
22
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

I have stayed in my fair share of hotels, and I have yet to find a single one that has as much attention to detail as Axell's Scandinavian Inn. Every singe room has it's own personal motif and character. If you factor that in with the very simple, personal, homey touches that many hotels nowadays seem to have forgotten about... you get treated to a very wonderful experience. The rooms are spotless, and the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. You almost forget that you're in a hotel. You almost feel as though you are a guest in their home. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great stay at a very reasonable hotel nestled in the heart of Maine. You will not regret it!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesWestfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Even with all the five-star ratings it received on this site, I was still blown away by how nice this hotel was. It was located conveniently close to I-95 and any place you might want to go in and around Augusta.I had a single king-size bed room that was as tastefully decorated and clean as I could have possibly imagined. The operators were friendly and helpful and the maid even went so far as to neatly align my flip flops which I had left strewn about the floor. I will definitely stay here again if I ever make my way back to Augusta.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kennethnoisewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

My boyfriend and I were traveling to Maine for a friend's wedding. We decided to stay at Axell's because we needed a pet friendly hotel/motel (we have 3 1/2 month old Sheltie), something close to the wedding and reception site (we are from WAY out of town), and couldn't afford to stay at the chain hotels. Axell's fit the bill and I was pleasantly surprised at how clean, cute, and accomodating it was.

Great stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms-Mizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Well-kept lawns and lovely trees, Close to lakes and a golf course. The state capital, Augusta, is a short driving distance. Scenic drives to historic sites. Well-furnished rooms with Kitchens and equipment. Clean and reasonable rates. The owners, Sheila and Kent Axell, are very personable and go to great lengths to accommodate their guests. I enjoyed my three-month stay! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lil22Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
4.2 km away
Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center
3.6 km away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
791 reviews
2.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
443 reviews
5.1 km away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
32.1 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axell's Scandinavian Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axell's Scandinavian Inn

Property: Axell's Scandinavian Inn
Address: 803 Western Ave, Manchester, ME 04351-3530
Region: United States > Maine > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manchester
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,832 - ₹ 7,022
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Axell's Scandinavian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just west of the Augusta line, we are two, small, locally owned and operated motels with all the amenities of a large one. Innkeepers, Sheila and Kent, have worked tirelessly to make each and every guestroom unique, comfortable and full of amenities that they themselves would like to find while they are traveling. You won't find "cookie cutter" guestrooms here, all guestrooms are decorated differently, so if you don't like the style of one, we are sure we'll find one you love! When you visit, you must take a dip in the new inground, salt water, heated pool, located at the Fairway, just one mile from the Scandinavian Inn ! It is fabulous! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Axell's Scandinavian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axells Scandinavian Hotel
Axells Scandinavian Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing