We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
132
100
35
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
100
35
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helen's restaurant machias river across the river sliding door view of the river room was clean pie enjoyed my stay mini fridge good size sunrise trail blue bird pleasant stay place to stay hot water business trip flat screen tv
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2018

We stayed in the two bedroom suite which was very spacious; full kitchen, livingroom, dining area with a private balcony overlooking the Machias River. Within walking distance of town which was handy while visiting for the Blueberry Festival. Helens Restaurant next door with small bar, great meals and yummy selection of desserts. Loved the free small blueberry pies in the lobby during the festival! Place is clean, best location in Machais close to everything. Price is reasonable.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelleymmi, General Manager at Machias River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Thank you so much for the nice review. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the festival despite the weather. We hope to see you again next year! All the best, Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

This was our first time in this area and our stay was one night on our way to Nova Scotia. There weren’t too many standard rooms available when I made our reservations, 2 months prior to arrival. Since we wanted a room with two beds, the room I had to reserve was the only one available. It was on the ground floor via a walkway alongside the office. I believe it was their handicap accessible room, by appearance. The room was large and had a couple of newer, modern dressers in it. It also had a small kitchen, a couch, and a recliner. So, more room than we needed, but that was okay. The air conditioner was high on the wall directly across from the entry. Thank God my husband is 6’3” because I wouldn’t have been able to reach the controls. The room was old. They tried in some ways, but the room definitely needed updating. We were there on a Friday evening and from 8 pm to well after midnight there was a constant reving of loud engines with loud mufflers out on the main road that this motel sits on. It was awful! We even got dressed and went outside at 11 pm to see what was going on and to figure out WHY no one was stopping it. We found out at breakfast the next morning (the restaurant sits in the same parking lot as the motel) that the local teenage boys like to rev their truck engines and race off down the road in front of the motel!! Doesn’t this town have a police force! Apparently this is a common occurrence and nothing is done to stop it. We would most definitely NOT stay here again.

Room Tip: Don’t stay here. Choose another place.
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank newyork145_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelleymmi, General Manager at Machias River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Machias does have its own police department. I wish you had let the clerk in the office know that you were being disturbed. We certainly would have called the police if it was necessary. I hope the rest of your trip was more enjoyable. All the best, Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Our stay was an experience in Down East hospitality. The rooms are spacious. The beds and pillows are so comfortable. A sliding-glass door at the back of the room opened to the Machias River within approximately 30 feet. A momma eagle tended her young ones in their nest just to the other side of rhe river. The staff was excited to share the viewing experience with binoculars at the ready. The famous Helen's restaurant is just across the parking lot and ready to serve. Management is incredibly friendly and helpful. This was an awesome experience and we will go back.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelleymmi, General Manager at Machias River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Wow! Thank you so much for the fantastic review. I'm glad you got to experience some genuine "Down East hospitality". We do work hard to provide exceptional customer service. It's nice to hear that you noticed. And the eagle, it truly doesn't get much better than that! We hope to see you again soon! All the best, Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We really enjoyed staying at the Machias River Inn. The rooms are spacious and clean. The bathroom also was clean and the water pressure in the shower was good. It is wonderful to be able to walk right outside anytime you like and either sit and enjoy the river or walk to local stores. We will definitely be back and will stay at the Machias River Inn. The one complaint that we have are the mattresses could be better but hopefully with more time they can improve. Thank-you for a wonderful stay!!

Stayed: August 2018
Thank 60763Rosie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelleymmi, General Manager at Machias River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards,
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We were looking for a scenic place to do an overnight on our long drive up to Nova Scotia. The Inn was fine for what we needed, but was a little tired, and the river is a classic mud bottomed tidal river like many in the area, and therefore doesn't offer much in terms of scenery. The weather was misty / foggy, and we got in late, so we may be being a little negative..

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelleymmi, General Manager at Machias River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

I am sorry you didn't enjoy our riverside location. Perhaps it was the weather. The river is actually very beautiful where the seals play and the eagles hunt. Most of our guests enjoy the view very much and get very excited when they see the seals and eagles. Try us again next year. If the sun is shining, I bet you'll have a different perspective. All the best, Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews