We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victorian by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victorian by the Sea
Ranked #2 of 9 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in Maine, and for most of our trip stayed at Victorian By The Sea. The owners, Rob and Jeanne, are wonderful people. This beautiful place is nestled away from traffic, yet close to Camden's great restaurants, shopping, and port area. A very romatic place with beautiful gardens and a lovely bay view from the wrap around porch. Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean, and let me tell you that Jeanne has a gift for cooking the most delicious meals we have ever had anywhere. Breakfasts were heavenly, and we had everything we needed. It was like we were home, and at the end of our stay, it was difficult to leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunrise Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weedwacker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
129
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We just completed a 3 night stay at the Victorian by the Sea and had a fabulous experience. We utilized almost the entire B&B for a family reunion and although we didn't have it all to ourselves, there was one other couple in the last room, Jeanne and Rob made it feel like our home away from home. After this portion of our trip, we continued up into Canada and stayed at many other B&B's and no one compared to the beauty, value, and awesome breakfast of the Victorian by the Sea. We also had many several families with kids and the owners were very accommodating despite the issues that come up with traveling with a family. It was very concerning picking a B&B for an important event such as this using only the internet but we really scored with this one. Very beautiful, friendly, private once you close your door. You will love it.
Mark Vornberg

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArchitectMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
387 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We spent two nights here in early July. We drove from Boston in the morning—4 hours—and we were enjoying the Victorian by the Sea by early afternoon. The hosts greeted us and gave us great local tips. We have been to Maine many times, and we found this B & B as well as the location just outside of Camden to be ideal. It is convenient to restaurants and Camden harbor, but it is in a quiet setting off of Route 1 down a road toward Penobscot Bay.

We had excellent gourmet breakfasts. We slept well on very comfortable beds with comfy linens. Our room was spacious and overlooked the water. In spare moments, we read on the veranda.

We took a late afternoon sail on the Surprise Windjammer from Camden harbor, had dinner in Rockland, spent an afternoon at Christina Olson’s home (Andrew Wyeth subject) near Cushing and at the Farnsworth Art Museum in Rockland, among other high points.

Wonderful innkeepers, Rob and Jeanne! Thank you for a nice respite.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Victorian by the Sea for our first anniversary and it was a truly special experience. The innkeepers, Robert & Jeanne, were helpful and available, but never intrusive. The Inn is beautiful, comfortable, and immaculate. In a quiet cove on the Midcoast of Maine, if you want to stay in a quiet, beautiful place with spectacular views and terrific food, this is your spot. Spacious rooms, great breakfast, our every need was met - from help planning an anniversary dinner to reservations for a schooner cruise on Penobscot Bay.

This is the bed and breakfast experience at its best.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Northern_Explorer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Because of the miles between the family, my nephew gave his aunts, uncle and his mom a Stash Tea Certificate that offered a "buy one get one" for overnight accommodations. The plan was for all of us to meet halfway for a visit. Well life got in the way, and the great idea didn't happen. Instead my husband and I were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary, so we used the Stash Tea Certificate at the Victorian by the Sea. It was beautiful. It was romantic. It was perfect. We booked the Sawyer Suite. The view from our private balcony was very nice. The fireplace in our room was a prefect place to curl up in front of with a bottle of wine from a local winery. The rainy, chilly weather only added to the charm of the Inn. Each morning we were served the most wonderful breakfast. Jean and Robert are wonderful hosts and full of information on the area. We are definitely going back

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.4 km away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.6 km away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
7.0 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.4 km away
Inn at Sunrise Point
Inn at Sunrise Point
#3 of 9 in Lincolnville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
7.4 km away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian by the Sea

Property: Victorian by the Sea
Address: 33 Sea View Dr, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,541 - ₹ 21,213
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and peaceful seaside B&B located 1/4 mile off Route 1, just four miles north of the Camden, Maine harbor offering 7 guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Victorian by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian By The Sea Lincolnville, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing