We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“winter in Maine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Lord Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #3 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“winter in Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Captain Lord Mansion is the height of luxury in coastal Maine. The rooms are awesome and the breakfasts are delicious. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room selection is varied, bathrooms being the most varied
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdrrsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    45
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
36
742
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Great christmas trp the inn made us feel like home for the holidays will be going again ...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOANNE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
408 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Another visit to CLM for excellent service and very comfortable rooms. Sue and her team prepared great breakfasts!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

This is our second Christmas spent at the Captain Lord Mansion. Every Thing about the Mansion is superior! The two rooms that we have stayed in were impeccably decorated. The bed's are found to be extremely comfortable...& the heated marble bath floor's were very inviting .

The Staff I would have to say is the reason we keep coming back to the Captain Lord Mansion !! Every inquiry is meet with such sincere pleasantries.

I look forward to our next stay at the Captain Lord Mansion!!

The Hunter's ...from Maryland.

Room Tip: The Oriental is on the first floor in the main house very good!! The Daniel is in the Garden House a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Baltimore, Christmas is a time for giving and receiving. Bev and I are truly thankful for positive reviews such as yours. We are so pleased that you received our staff's sincere attitude of service and giving. Hopefully the staff reflects the desires and modeling by us, the owners and innkeepers! Of course, we try to make sure we carry this level of service the entire year. Have a blessed year and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Generally speaking, I am not a fan of B&Bs; honest austerity of a hotel, or even a motel, gives me comfort and peace of mind. However, our kids sent us this gift certificate, and we decided to give it a shot. One night stay in Captain Lord Mansion dramatically changed my perception. Granted, there was nothing dramatic about that night, or the day before, or the morning after (no pun intended), but this warm and fuzzy feeling that took over me when we stepped into the reception area, and then continued to our room, never dissipated, and, in a way, it's still here. Of course, I should mention excellent service, fabulous location (the ocean is just a short drive, or a long a pleasant walk away), great sheets (!), very inviting room, decorated with a great deal of taste, unbelievably therapeutic jetted tub, cute little shops in the area (again, not a fan, but most people are), wonderful, unpretentious food... But, first and foremost, it was a great escape: we visited a different time, not just a different place... Strongly recommend for those who's in a dire need of change of pace and peace of mind.

Sarah A.

Room Tip: The stairs might be a challenge for some folks; if you have a choice, try a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Massachusetts, Wow, we are thrilled that you found such peace and relaxation here at the Captain Lord Mansion. Bev and I have tried to create such an atmosphere, but one never fully knows if you are successful until a review like this. The time of year from late October to late May is what we call our "Serenity Season" which is much less crowded at the inn, as well as with reduced rates and many attractive packages. So, we hope guests will experience the kind of peace about which you write as well as dicovering a good value. Thank you again for this wonderful review. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.6 km away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.5 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
6.8 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.7 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
0.1 km away
Captain Jefferds Inn
Captain Jefferds Inn
#2 of 25 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Property: Captain Lord Mansion
Address: 6 Pleasant St, P.O. Box 800, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,928 - ₹ 23,691
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing