We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location with Views and 5 star Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Ranked #13 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location with Views and 5 star Amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Our stay at the Breakwater Inn was amazing. The hotel was close to everything with it's own 5 star restaurant, rooms with views and extremely comfortable beds.a little pricey but well worth it. We spent 2 days there on a road trip through New England to see the fall colors. staff was wonderful and it was a romantic time for us.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nissismusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    68
    31
    9
    15
See reviews for
38
147
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I have stayed here many times over the last 10 years and it only gets worst over time. Front desk is normally staffed but somehow it seems as if they are always to busy to help. The lack of instruction with the coffee service, meals and location of other items is lacking. For example when asked at the front desk if they had a tooth brush (which my wife forgot )they said "we do not have any". When asking for a key to the lockers in the spa I was told, "go to the desk in the spa to get one" however when I went to the spa I could not find a desk or anyone. I returned to the main desk where the same person gave me a key. The breakfast service was unbelievable, no instruction again as to how it works with many staff standing around and doing nothing and when asked for coffee it was if I was bothering them. The best thing is the room. This place needs management!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mps7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson,az
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This property is a real mixed bag. The setting is lovely (right on the water) and some parts of the building are fine with others mainly the rooms in need of updating. Our room was so small we could barely walk in it and forget about luggage. We asked about a larger room and were told they had a room with a porch. We kept asking if it was larger and he keep pushing the porch--English was not his first language. WE finally got a larger room.
There are no elevators and the halls and stairs are hot and stuffy. Getting ice is a major hassle as you have to ask at the "desk" which is hidden in a corner. Guests cannot get their own ice and you often get attitude. Some of the staff especially the locals were very friendly. The "imported help" not so much. Basic things like not replacing toiletries and only filling coffee cups half way are just other examples of lack of customer service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durigirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here for 2 days and wish we stayed longer..The Inn was amazing, clean friendly great view and the amenities were fantastic from afternoon tea sitting on andirondeck chairs watching the boats sail by...spa treatments..breakfast buffet ..bar and restaurant all fantastic. Everything was clean and comfortable beds. Mabels across the street has fantastic clam chowder and homemade desserts to die for. Hannahs store within walking distance is a fun shop for the ladies..so much to see ..we went on a sailing ship and saw Pres Bush Sr speeding by in his boat. Spetacular views and great roads to dosome walking the scenery is fantastic.Allisons restaurant was our favorite too in town. What a great get away! 5 star ++++

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazamm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Breakwater Inn for two nights to celebrate his birthday. The Inn overlooks the bay looking out to the ocean. The rooms are beautiful with a bacony overlooking the water. The bed was a bit soft and not the most comfortable, but the room itself was very nicely decorated. They served breakfast in Stripers every morning and it was very good with an assortment of items. The services was excellent and they were very accomodating. I would love to return for a bit longer next time.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetsetsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 km away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.9 km away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.3 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.3 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakwater Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Property: The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Address: 127 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,113 - ₹ 22,494
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Breakwater Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1880's, The Breakwater Inn & Spa is one of the most historic Kennebunkport hotels and inns with all the modern hotel comforts, located right on the Kennebunk River waterfront. Experience our chic water view inn rooms, cottages or spa rooms as you indulge in exclusive signature spa treatments in our luxury spa complex. Delight in innovative cuisine at Stripers Waterside Restaurant, taking pleasure in the freshest seafood, lobster and shellfish from the New England Maine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TravelClick so you can book your The Breakwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing