We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveller rating
254
171
62
38
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
171
62
38
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsputting greensalt water poolgrand old hotelmain buildingno air conditioninggalland houseprivate beachoverlooking the oceanceiling fandog loversnew englandbeautiful hotelblueberry piewall paperpool sidebreakfast buffet isking room
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 560 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017

The Colony Hotel was a stretch for my family financially but after looking at the photos online I got the impression it would be exactly the New England feel we would love. I was not wrong!! This hotel and grounds are perfect for all types of families. I have 2 teen age boys who are tough to impress but this place got them! It is a very safe environment so the boys got to run around on their own. The pool is fantastic even at night. There was NO television in the room which also made life heavenly, nobody complained about it. Dogs are allowed in the hotel which added to the air of Maine relaxation. Even the wallpaper in the room was perfectly picked. The view over the ocean was serene...this is a must stay even if a stretch, it is worth it!! We will be back!

Room Tip: splurge for the ocean view!! Well worth it!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Perched on the shore overlooking the rocky Maine coastline, the Colony defines the idea of the Maine summer vacation. Not much has changed in 100 years. From the gleaming wood floors and the billowing white curtains to the Adirondack chairs on the magnificent porches, the tradition remains. Explore the endless ocean paths by foot or by bicycle, and shop and dine in picturesque Kennebunkport. Eat lobster everyday. Whatever you do, go to the Colony and continue the tradition.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank orangeexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Everything about this stalward beachside beauty speaks comfort. The overstuffed lobby sofas and club chairs embrace you. The attentive and well trained staff is dedicated to ensuring every guests need is anticipated and fulfilled. Children and pets are warmly welcomed. This is THE place for pooches who crave escape from the rat race! Year after year its reassuring that the deeply felt commitment to the core values of hospitality are preserved here. As long as there are summer breezes, may the Colony prosper.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We stayed here for one night on our way back to NYC. They are very accommodating to dogs so that was great for us traveling with our dog. You can walk to the restaurants in town. There is a beach nearby to walk the dog on. Any place in the hotel is ok for your dog except where there are carpets. We checked in on a very rainy chilly day and the front desk was very unhelpful - we asked for early check in at the front desk and it wasn't available but she didn't even tell us there was a nice warm spot by the fire downstairs in the hotel we could have hung out with with our dog to dry out until the room was ready.

Room Tip: some rooms do not have AC, internet is spotty
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank scottodmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

My husband and I stayed on a Sunday and Monday night in mid-October. We had a lovely oceanfront room with fabulous views from the many windows. The beauty of this setting cannot be described in words! Very nice staff. Everyone is attentive yet laid back at the same time. We barely left the property during our visit. Buffet breakfast is wonderful!

Room Tip: I recommend the main building -- very classic. Oceanfront rooms are a must to fully experience this wonderful place!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 215Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews