We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn in Kennebunkport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Ranked #11 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Cape Arundel Inn & Resort is a very nice place. We were not able to be in the main house and stayed in the Club House Inn which is not on the main Ocean Blvd. That was okay because it was very quiet and peaceful. The only negative we had was that you have to carry your bags up a narrow and curved staircase. If you have any health or arthritic problems this is not good. Myself, I have very bad knees and my husband had to carry all four of our heavy bags up the narrow staircase and our room was at the very end of the hall. We finally figured out we could go down the back stairway by the laundry entrance and it was much easier on both of us. We are not spring chickens so we like easy!

Room Tip: Try to stay in the Main Inn and not the Club House. It looks like the rooms are much nicer and right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana B, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Luanne P,

Thank you for your recent review of Cape Arundel Inn & Resort!
Autumn in Kennebunkport is a beautiful time of the year – we’re thrilled that you had a chance to experience it. Please forgive us for missing you in assistance with your luggage. We always have a team member available that can help with luggage or any other request that a guest may have, we review this at the check in process. We’re sorry to have let you down in this aspect but are happy to know you did enjoy your stay. We do hope to welcome you again; perhaps in another one of the wonderful seasons that Kennebunkport has to offer.

All the best,

Jana Bissonnette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Beautiful old world charm

Very comfortable bed and ample room size

Nice decor reminds you of home

The bathrooms were old and could use a makeover

Window air conditioner ... have not seen one of those in years

Inconvenient outlets and slow wifi

Stayed: September 2017
Thank costatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana B, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear costatlanta,

Thank you for taking the time to review Cape Arundel Inn & Resort. We couldn’t agree more that the property makes you feel right at home! We take all your thoughts into deep consideration. Thank you again for your time and we hope to be able to welcome you in the future.

Sincerely,

Jana Bissonnette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Nice room but if a late sleeper not for you very noisy large gaps between doors housekeeping loud so forget about sleeping past 8
Staff in both inn and restaurant are fine recommend Oceans for dinner
Major downside no car service so if you want to go out for dinner no alcohol for you must drive
No taxis available with a total of a group of 8 inns a fee based car service would be
Can not blame staff for management decisions

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana B, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Tom P,

Thank you for recent review of Cape Arundel Inn.
We are thrilled that you were able to dine at Ocean Restaurant, it is truly a Kennebunkport gem! The Main Inn was built as a private family home in 1895 and while we have made many updated to the property there are still some squeaks and creeks that do still occur. You are correct that there can be limited car service available in our area, we do our best at the front desk to be able to answer all questions and assist where we can – especially in transportation needs. We do offer bicycles to all our guests on a complementary basis and we also offer daily rentals on street legal golf carts. We do hope to welcome you again in the future where we can show you all of the wonderful offerings our property has.

Best,

Jana Bissonnette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

This was our third trip to Kennebunkport. We have always gone to the Cape Arundel Inn for drinks on their porch as well as dinner at Ocean (which is consistently one of the best meals in town), but this was our first time staying there. The service was wonderful, our room in the Clubhouse was well-appointed, and the atmosphere was relaxing in every way. If you book in time for an ocean view, that is definitely the way to go, but the Clubhouse rooms are still quite comfortable, and the Clubhouses itself is beautiful. A MUST do while you are there is a visit to Devin at the bar at Ocean. If you like bourbon, order the Amber Sky. It is amazing! We have already booked our room next year, and this time we will be in the newly renovated ocean-front bungalows. We got to see one while we were there, and they are stunning!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clelia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana B, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Clelia K,

Your recent review has us glowing! Thank you for your kind words. We were so thrilled to be able to welcome you to Cape Arundel on your third visit to Kennebunkport. The Clubhouse truly has a relaxing atmosphere in every way.
We agree that Devin is a star at the bar and the Amber Sky is not to be missed!
Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best,

Jana Bissonnette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

I booked an extended weekend getaway for me and my husband at Cape Arundel Inn to escape the daily hustle and bustle of NYC, rejuvenate and relax. Mission accomplished, BUT, I need to dock two stars for a couple of things that I expected staying at a luxury property.

First, the positives:

1) Location: Cape Arundel Inn is perfectly situated right on the coast, offering captivating views of the Atlantic Ocean. The location and size of the property offered the perfect amount of privacy - away from the busier, downtown Kennebunkport area, but close enough to get to via car (about 5-7 mins) or bicycle (about an exhilarating 15-minute ride). We stayed at the Clubhouse, a secluded annex to the main Inn, which was located about a 1/3 mile away in a residential area. While the clubhouse offered no ocean views, we were mere steps away from the pool.

2) Amenities: Overall, the amenities provided with our stay --- the pool, complimentary daily breakfast (continental or a la carte at the Ocean restaurant), bicycle use, beach towels, board games, and other activities --- were very good. We had an incredible dinner at Ocean (one of the best meals I had in KPT!), with views to match. The room was OK- bed and bedding were very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and heated floors were great; however, the fireplace didn't work and the lighting could be better.

3) Service: Throughout our stay, we were greeted with exceptional service from staff. There were various touchpoints between staff and guests that indicated good customer service and attention to detail, including champagne at check-in; a chilled bottle of champagne waiting in our room; a goodie bag at check out. The wait staff, pool attendants, and guest service agents were all incredibly friendly, helpful and very accommodating.

Now for the negatives:

4). Amenities: On one of the days we stayed, it rained...ALL DAY. During days like this, sometimes all you want to do is stay in, watch TV and order room service. Unfortunately, the "lunch" menu offered poolside is extremely limited, and delivery options available (pizza) were so meh. We ended up driving into town to grab lunch, and immediately went back to the hotel. I hope the property considers offering in-room dining options, and a more expansive lunch menu (lobster rolls, fries, chowder, burger - standard Maine fare).

5) Adults-Only policy is NOT enforced. This is perhaps the most disappointing, because we did not get what we expected. The MAIN reason why I chose Cape Arundel Inn above all the other properties for our private, quiet getaway is that it billed itself as an adults-only property. As it states on their web site: "Traveling with Children: Cape Arundel Inn & Resort is an adults-only property. Find a family-friendly hotel within the Kennebunkport Resort Collection." Unfortunately, on multiple occasions, we saw as many as six kids staying at the property, including two loud ones staying across the room from us. This was pretty disappointing, and to be frank, false advertising. Either management should strictly enforce this policy, (hint: make it more visible to potential guests upon booking), or forego this policy altogether.

In all, my first trip to Kennebunkport was great. I would consider staying at Cape Arundel Inn again (would probably get an ocean view room in the main inn), and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanacasas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana B, General Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear joanacasas,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of Cape Arundel Inn & Resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed the views and the pool at the Clubhouse. Dinner at Ocean is a wonderful treat and we are honored to know it was one of your best meals in the Kennebunkport area. We pride ourselves on our wonderful staff and amazing guest services staff so to know that that stood out to you is something that we will share with all team members.
With regards to the lunch offering, we can understand that on a rainy day your options of in-town activities can be limited. On a normal day we find that our guests are out and about enjoying the Kennebunk’s so they often chose to have lunch outside of our property, this is why the afternoon food offering is more focused on lighter snacks and small bites should a guest want something while they are relaxing poolside.
We can understand that having children in the pool area can be a disturbance and you are correct that we are adult only facility. We are currently investigating what occurred and where there was perhaps a miscommunication with other guests.
Please note that we are continuously working on ways we can improve whether in service or in rooms and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jana Bissonnette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
2.4 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
658 reviews
2.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
304 reviews
7.8 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
523 reviews
1.3 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,773 reviews
2.3 km away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Arundel Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Arundel Inn & Resort

Address: 208 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: ₹ 7,426 - ₹ 39,802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cape Arundel Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests choose from two distinctive locales to book their stay: The landmark Cape Arundel Inn’s Main House on Kennebunkport’s exclusive Ocean Avenue or the nearby Club House, a vintage manor tucked within 15 wooded acres. Guests staying in the Main House building’s guest rooms enjoy breathtaking ocean views, onsite restaurant, Ocean, and a spacious lawn area – replete with Adirondack chairs in which to sit and soak in the fresh sea air. At the Club House, a short drive away, guests can enjoy the clubhouse featuring vintage pool table, full bar, light lunch, library and spacious patio surrounding the heated lap pool. Resort highlights include a full a la carte breakfast at Ocean restaurant, spacious, tranquil grounds at the Club House and elegantly appointed guest rooms throughout. While the time away on your chaise lounge at the Club House, soaking up the summer sun’s rays, then enjoy a stroll to Cape Arundel Inn for an afternoon porch cocktail as you drink in breathtaking ocean views. In the evening, savor a wonderful dining experience at Ocean, prepared by Chef Pierre Gignac. Ocean offers fine cuisine inspired by southern French and Mediterranean flavors, beautifully presented and enhanced by the outstanding wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cape Arundel Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Arundel Hotel Kennebunkport
Cape Arundel Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing