We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate in Relaxation”
Review of Hidden Pond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hidden Pond
Ranked #7 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ultimate in Relaxation”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I second what other reviewers have said; Hidden Pond is the ultimate in relaxation. Fabulous location for exploring the Kennebunks, Portland, Freeport, etc., but with the beautifully furnished bungalows/cottages with fireplaces, couches, and screened porch, it's also a great place to just sit and read.

Our meal at Earth was excellent, highly recommend. Food was wonderful and service was even better. Massage by Melissa was also outstanding.

We loved: high attention to detail with small things like sharp knives and flashlights in the room, the super-charm of the decor and setting, friendliness of the staff, incredibly comfortable bed, pillows, blankets, the s'mores by the bonfire, housekeeping did a great job each day.

Suggested improvements: more timely delivery of breakfast (our breakfast delivery ranged from 8am sharp to 8:40), inclusion of fresh fruit with breakfast (we did stop and pick some up and loved the small fridge in the bungalow), a small microwave in the bungalows, a more thorough check-in process (we were shown to our bungalow and then immediately left on our own with no idea how to work the a/c, the lights, fireplace, etc. - all easy enough to figure out, but a walk-through would have been nice), more reliable internet service (ours was very spotty to the point of not available 80% of the time). These are thing you expect at $500+/night, and it is a smidgen disappointing Hidden Pond doesn't feel like a better deal for the money.

Overall, wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lark123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPTMGR, Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear ECGH,
Thank you for your visit and constructive review. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your accommodations, dinner and spa treatment! Regarding your other feedback, we have taken it all into consideration for next year. We have a working list of improvements provided through feedback like yours - guest feedback is crucial to improvement and we appreciate it.
We hope to see you next year so you can see your suggested solutions in place!
Best,
Hidden Pond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    46
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
127
243
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We just returned from a great weekend at Hidden Pond. The hotel is in a beautiful spot. The bungalows are great- nicely furnished and decorated with lots of room. I loved the outdoor shower and the screened in porch. I also loved the fireplace. The property is lovely and the restaurant, Earth, is great. I also loved the bonfire at night and making smores. Felt like camp! The staff was very nice. Overall, it was a great, relaxing weekend.

Here are a few things, though, that I think would bring the hotel up to the excellent rating. First- the spa. They charge top spa rates for massages and other treatments. However, there are no changing facilities, no relaxation area, no hot tub, no sauna, nothing. You just get your treatment in a little room. The design is interesting, but if I am going to pay top dollar I am expecting a full spa experience, which this definitely is not. I would also suggest giving each client a picture of the human body and ask them to x out places they don't like massaged and circle the places to focus on. I spoke to the therapist before we started, but didn't seem like she followed what I asked for. She massaged my face for 10 minutes, which I just found odd. At other spas I have seen them offer this page at check in and I think it helps clarify expectations so no one is disappointed.

Also, while the two pools are very nice, it would have been great to have a hot tub some place. The bungalow rooms also don't have tubs. So there's really no place to take a warm bath. The pools are heated, but not exactly warm.

The restaurant, Earth, is good, but there is no breakfast served anywhere on property and for lunch the menu consists of a total of about four choices- hamburger, crab cocktail, pasta with squid, tiny salad (six bites to be exact). While I love that they deliver a breakfast basket to your room each morning, there's nothing healthy in there. It's a carb overdose. I would suggest adding some fruit, cereal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, something or anything with the tiniest bit of protein. The last day, it was more like a dessert basket.

A few other things- the gym!!! In my life, i have never worked out in a dirtier gym. There was sawdust on the floor- it was like it hasn't been cleaned since it was built. Dusty equipment that seemed like it was never wiped down. This was definitely the biggest turn off of the weekend and I mentioned it to the desk attendant who admitted that she isn't sure if it is cleaned regularly. You guys can do better than this! I also took the yoga class one day. While the teacher was sweet, she seemed extremely young and inexperienced. I was the only one in the class and she never looked at me. She did the class right along side me so it was hard to hear her when she was speaking in downward dog, etc. I am a certified yoga instructor and I can say that this isn't the most professional or helpful way to conduct a yoga class.

The concierge could also be more helpful. I emailed to ask for a list of restaurants and activities prior to coming. They quickly responded, but when I asked them to make some reservations for us, I never heard back and had to follow up with them. At that point it was tough to get a reservation at a normal hour so we were stuck with 9:15 pm dinner. Also, they told us in the email that Nunan's is BYOB. We went there and they haven't been BYOB in 20 years! It's important to get the details right.

Overall, this is a very good hotel, but with some minor adjustments, it could be excellent!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aandb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPTMGR, Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear aandb7,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide feedback and we appreciate your business. We have reviewed your feedback and addressed particular issues immediately (gym cleanliness, concierge education). Regarding your other feedback, we have added it to a list of things to improve upon next year. Your spa suggestions are very insightful, your breakfast suggestions on par with other guests and overall your comments will help us create the exceptional guest experience we strive for.
We hope to see you again in the future, and thank you again for your comments!
Best,
Hidden Pond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

What a wonderful place Hidden Pond is for a getaway from the hustle and bustle of everyday life! The cottages are comfortable and in a beautiful setting. The beds are the best! We had two cottages (there were 8 of us), Lazy Days and Hummingbird. We even called back to ask what type mattresses are on the beds because we slept to good. The bon fire and s'mores every night was so fun! The staff was excellent and always helpful. All around it's a great place to stay and we highly recommend it. We look forward to returning for another trip!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank payne0295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPTMGR, Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear payne0295,
Thanks so much for your visit and review! We're so glad you and yours enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience some of our unique and fun offerings.
We hope to see you in 2012!
Best,
Hidden Pond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at Hidden Pond and enjoyed every minute of it. The property is a few miles from Kennebunk/Kennebunkport and is very secluded but so close to the ocean. The landscaping is gorgeous and our cabin (Dilly Dally) was decorated beautifully. Every morning a tasty bag of pastries and thermos of coffee is delivered to your door; milk, juice, jam and butter are provided in the fridge. We loved riding the bikes provided by the resort and even rode over to the sister property, Tides, about a mile away. Staying at Hidden Pond allows you to enjoy the beauty of Kennebunkport but when you are ready to escape the throngs of tourists in search of salt water taffy, Hidden Pond provides the exact type of escape you need!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJR12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPTMGR, Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear JJR12,
We're so glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay at Hidden Pond. We look forward to seeing you next season!
Best,
Hidden Pond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We enjoyed 3 nights at Hidden Pond and wished for a longer stay. Rain and lack of Fall color didn't deter us - it was quite cozy by the fire in our cottage. Our dinner at Earth was amazing and the atmosphere cannot be beat. Thank you to Mike at Earth who was delightful. The grounds are exquisite throughout and must be experienced to appreciate fully. Hidden Pond is a true jewel. Dinner at sister property The Tides Beach Club was equally lovely - even in the rain.

Small suggestions: umbrellas and extension cords in the cottages, maps/instructions/hours of operation in the cottages for the local grocery, pharmacy, etc. Add Hidden Pond on the next printing of the local sightseeing map.

Room Tip: Consider a bungalow if you are travelling without kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPTMGR, Manager at Hidden Pond, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear BizM0m,
Thanks for your visit and review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and dining. We have added your thoughtful suggestions to our list of improvements for next year, and truly appreciate you taking the time to send them.
We hope you'll visit in the future!
Best,
Hidden Pond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
2.2 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
7.1 km away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
6.7 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,660 reviews
24.1 km away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#1 of 1 in Cape Elizabeth
969 reviews
6.5 km away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Pond? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Pond

Property: Hidden Pond
Address: 354 Goose Rocks Rd, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-5302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price range (per night): ₹ 33,731 - ₹ 1,34,473
Hotel Class:4 star — Hidden Pond 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Pond is a private retreat for those seeking high-end accommodations and personalized services in a relaxed and natural setting. The (16) two-bedroom cottages and (20) one bedroom bungalows, feature Frette linens, fireplaces, flat screen TVs and Bose sound systems with iPod docks, state-of-the-art kitchens in the larger cottages while the bungalows feature a wetbar, landscaped outdoor showers and decadent screened porches allowing inside living to virtually extend out amongst the forest. Earth at Hidden Pond is an al fresco restaurant focusing on farm-to-fork freshness. Heirloom vegetables and herbs are picked daily from the surrounding gardens, and thoughtfully incorporated into both food and beverage menu offerings. Another added amenity is the new Tree Spa, featuring three spa treatment rooms nestled in the trees. The Tree Spa is available to guests only and their services will further ensure your visit is nothing but blissful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hidden Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Pond Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing