We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Five Star” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Barn Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Cape Ann, MA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Five Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

The White Barn Inn is just about perfect and well-deserving of it ratings and membership in Relais & Chateau. Even the lowest priced rooms are comfortable and beautifully appointed. The service is excellent without being obtrusive. The dinners are truly remarkable and perfect for a special occasion. The location is also perfect for meandering around Kennebunkport and environs. And no, we did not see George and Barbara. :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulZCapeAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    52
    34
    16
    18
See reviews for
20
204
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a weekend this May (2011) at the White Barn Inn and were lucky enough to stay in their waterfront cottages. We stayed in Gull Cottage and it was fantastic, tucked away down a private road overlooking the Kennebunk River. The view was unbelievable and although the weather was amazing when we visited, the wood burning fireplace in the room must be truly decadent in the Winter or Autumn months. There is a small bathroom and kitchenette in the cottage which is ideal and doesn't detract away from the rustic elegance of the cottage. The cottages are just down the hill from the White Barn Inn itself, which is perfect for privacy and also puts us closer to the charming town of Kennebunkport. The restaurant was unbelievable, as was the delightful afternoon tea selection. After the weekend all we could say was how nice all the staff were and how much we want to go back next summer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sterling_Lobsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Excellent service and accommodations. We asked for dining advice since the barns restaurant was closed during our stay. The advice we received was not accurate and consequently we were very out of place at dinner. Other than that it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hahnstätten
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed in a Junior Suite in the main Inn. The room is very luxurious and has everything you can wish for. The bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is beautifully designed and has a Jacuzzi for two and a large seperate walk in rain shower. The room features a doublesided gas fireplace which allows you to enjoy the fire in the room as well as the bathroom. Dinner at the restaurant is "must". It is a 4 course prix fixed menu, but you are able to choose between different options on each course. Dinner is expensive but it is worth it. The Inn is the perfect setting for romantic days at the beautiful coast of Maine.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 20Dream12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The perfect place to celebrate a special anniversary. It reminds me of many of the hotels we stayed in in Europe. Small rooms but with a lot of character. You feel pampered from the minute you enter the White Barn Inn's doors. They have a lovely tea in the afternoon and a very nice breakfast in the morning. Dinner in the restaurant is a special treat. Expensive but worth the splurge. I haven't been to a restaurant this good in the United States. Plan on spending the evening. The service is slow but, it is supposed to be. Off season is the time to go. It is peaceful and lends itself to some quality one-on-one time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twinkletoes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.5 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.5 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 6 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
7.4 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.6 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.6 km away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.9 km away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Barn Inn

Property: White Barn Inn
Address: 37 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,332 - ₹ 33,694
Hotel Class:4 star — White Barn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport--jewel in the crown of the Maine Coastline, perfect for your own ideal stay. The White Barn Inn (a member of the prestigious Relais et Chateaux) offers sumptuous guestrooms that boast true luxury and comfort. Surrender to our full spa experiences... energize and beautify as our Spa Director creates your personal revitalization. And experience the only AAA 5-Diamond, Forbes 5-Star restaurant north of New York City. The setting is unique, encompassing two restored barns from the 1820's. Here savor the rich flavors of New England and coastal Maine. Your White Barn Inn experience will bring everlasting, fine memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your White Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Barn Hotel Kennebunk
Maine White Barn Inn
The White Barn Inn Kennebunkport Me

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing