We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveller rating
516
10
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
516
10
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balcony room kennebunk river wine and cheese son erin dirt road my husband and i porch overlooking the river new england hideaway suite weather permitting other guests each morning front porch small balcony the main house smallest room our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
502 - 507 of 527 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2006

Date of stay: October 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2006

Date of stay: September 2005
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2006

Bufflehead Cove Inn is a B & B you'll never want to leave. It is set on several acres of lovely and peaceful riverfront property, an easy mile or so from the heart of Kennebunkport, . Each of the rooms is unique, with either River or Garden views. Our very large room had a garden view with private flower-filled patio. Personal touches are everywhere-- like a huge library of books and magazines, fresh cut flowers and turndown service with chocolates every night. The Innkeepers, Harriet, Jim, and Erin Gott , do everything conceivable to make this feel like Home, only better. Breakfast is graciously served on a lovely, spacious patio overlooking the River. You are asked what you would like to have so it is "customized" to one's individual taste. I even had hot Oatmeal in August!! There is always someone on site so if you lose your key, for example, as my husband and I did around midnight, it is no problem. And wine and cheese are served nightly in the lovely living room of the house so that everyone can get to know one another better. And we took full advantage, getting to know the owners and one other couple-- an added plus, lots of good travel tips. All in all, everything was PERFECT and we can't wait to return!

Check their website: [--------------]to see photos as well

3  Thank CHANCY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2006

As part of a 3 week holiday in New England, we stayed at Bufflehead Cove for 2 nights in July having booked this B&B based on previous good reviews that we had read on this site and from their own website information. Although we enjoyed Kennebunkportt overall we were disappointed with our stay at Bufflehead Cove for two reasons that were 'show stoppers' for us that would have meant us booking alternative accommodation.

The property is indeed lovely sitting on the riverside as it does and our room was very nice and quite comfortable although small. We also had a small balcony but found we were unable to use this due to the mosquitoes gathered around the woods and river.

From previous reviews and the property website we were expecting a very personal touch that we did not feel was evident during our stay. The owners do not live on the property and although their son Aaron was very welcoming and helpful, we did not meet Mrs Gott until breakfast on day 3 just before we left and did not see Mr Gott at all even though he was around on Day 2 but did not greet his guests. Rude we thought. We saw the 'famous' black labrador for around 30 seconds when we were actually leaving. We certainly did not feel the personal 'familiy' touch that we were expecting and were disappointed by this.

Our 'show stoppers' though were the location itself and the breakfasts. We booked Bufflehead Cove because we thought it was within walking distance of the village in the evenings. It isn't ...unless you are happy to walk a mile or so down an unlit track road and then along a busy road with little or no pavement to get to the village. This meant we had to use the car each evening so one of us had to be the 'designated driver' and stay on soft drinks. As we were on our first break in 15 months we wanted to relax in the evening and it was a key criteria for us to be able to walk out for a meal in the evening wherever we stayed. The other issue was breakfast. I had actually rung Mrs Gott before booking to say that when on holiday we prefer a cooked breakfast of bacon, eggs, sausage etc. and would this be available as I had noted that they served pancakes, fruit etc. and we really do not like to have this for breakfast. I was assured this was no problem and went ahead and booked. So we were unhappy to find that the only breakfast choice was 'take it or leave it' and we were served up with an abundance of fruit and pancakes. I understand that many people enjoy this for breakfast but we absolutely hated it and had they been honest with us and we had known this we would absolutely not have booked this B&B. At the time we did not want the upset but I am going to e-mail the owners separately about this as we felt pretty let down.

So overall we were very disappointed and felt it was poor value.

Date of stay: July 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Crawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

My, my, were we lucky the White Barn Inn would not accept guests for a one night stay, because otherwise we wouldn't have found the marvelous Bufflehead Cove Inn. It was our second choice and turned out to be the best choice in Kennebunkport. We arrived in the afternoon, delighted by the drive down a gravel path in the woods, and delighted even more by the view of the Inn on the water's edge, the warm greeting from Aaron, the glass of good white wine on the porch, and a room that was charming, in good taste, up to date, clean and comfortable. It was just what a deluxe room in Maine should be. Aaron was very helpful in helping us to locate just the right place for a lobster roll, too.

The room was great for sleeping, especially when it rained. We had the "Balcony Room" and the view from the big bed is like a picture postcard. Not to forget the cozy gas fireplace, or the bathtub built for two.

Breakfast the next morning was outstanding. Blueberry pancakes and all the trimmings. Plus there always are pots of coffee and hot water for tea available. Easy for being lazy, easy for walking the woods or walking into town. Bufflehead is all good.

Date of stay: July 2006
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RoadTripper3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews