We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice inkeepers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice inkeepers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

The innkeepers are very friendly and know the area well. Breakfast is very nice. Linens are to-die-for; my husband said it was the best night sleep he'd had in ages. The downside; we would have liked a TV in our room and don't really appreciate getting to know the family pet.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkeyewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    22
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
27
76
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

After reading all of the glowing reviews of the beautiful, historic Inn, I am very disappointed to tell our story. When we arrived, the innkeeper at the Waldo Emerson Inn advised us that we had been booked in one of their "overflow rooms" down the drive from the Inn. We were charged the full $155 as if we were staying in the Inn. Since our daughter had booked the room for us, I did not offer any resistance. In a later conversation, my daughter had no recollection of being told we were staying somewhere other than the historic Inn. We stayed in the upstairs bedroom of a fairly modern Cape Cod style home owned by Dave, the former innkeeper, and his wife Gail. It was a nice, clean and welcoming home, but not at all what we expected when we booked a room in a historic B&B in Kennebunk, Maine. Since we were the only guests staying with Dave and Gail, it was a little awkward despite the fact that they were very friendly, nice people. I find this a very difficult review to write, but I want any future guests to be aware of what they are agreeing to if they are offered an overflow room at the Waldo Emerson Inn.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the "River Room." It is not in the Waldo Emerson Inn.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DrGregC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waldoe, Owner at Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Dear Dr. Greg:

Thank you for your kind review and helpful suggestion. We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your reservation. The River House rooms are indeed available as an alternative to staying at the historic inn. It is newer and contemporary in decor and is on the river behind the inn.

Your reservation was made by your daughter using the reservation booking engine rather that by calling us directly. We do not show the River property on our website as we do not want to create confusion.

Only on the on-line booking engine are the River rooms shown and completely separate from the Inn with separate pictures showing the home, river, surroundings and the three guest rooms. Our offer is still open for a 50% discounted one night stay at the Waldo Emerson Inn itself, please reserve by phone.

Again, we are sorry about the misunderstanding and we are looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucerne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

There's an original letter from Mark Twain framed and displayed in the Waldo Emerson Inn, addressed to one of innkeeper Cathy's forebears, and you can't help thinking th great man would have been delighted to be present in such a delightful house as this. Co-host John gives everyone an energetic and informative welcome and is clearly proud of the inn's many attractive features, from tasteful furnishings to comfortable beds and a copious hearty breakfast served at a communal table in the splendid dining-room. The inn is very practically located on Summer Road between Kennebunk town and Kennebunkport and the adjacent quilt gift shop is a treasure trove in its own right. A great choice of stay in a busy stretch of the Maine coast where such value for money is not always easy to find.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustLucerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

My mom and I came to Kennebunk to see my daughter perform at Arundel barn Playhouse. The location of Waldo Emmerson Inn is perfect! Close to Hwy 1 with easy access to beautiful coastal cities. Just a few minutes away from Kennebunk Port (and all of it's traffic!) and the beaches. The rooms were all perfectly CLEAN everyday and pretty too! The breakfasts were each better than the last... and we stayed a full week. I now understand why breakfast is the most important meal; in Kennebunk, it is the best! Fresh fruit, homemade granola, coffee, juices, home made hot entrees, and a meat! The only thing I would do differently is to request the downstairs room. But we just took the stairs slowly, and burned a few calories! I hope to return next summer with my whole family.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary weekend and look forward to returning in the future. The inn keepers are very kind, helpful and John will give you all the history on the inn and is very well informed. While the inn is about 3 miles from downtown Dock Square Kennebunkport, we found it quaint and perfect as it was not in the center of all the weekend people, but easy enough to get into town for dinner and walk around. We used the bikes provided on Saturday and biked 15 miles between the inn, the beach, the town and had some wonderful lobsters on our ride back at a place called O'Reilly's Lobster Coop. The breakfasts both mornings were real home cooked meals and generous portions and we both had some of the most comfortable nights sleep ever. Some places are noisy as well, but the Waldo Emerson was quiet and you truly felt at home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MASevilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
3.7 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
3.7 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.7 km away
Port Inn Kennebunk
Port Inn Kennebunk
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.7 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
3.5 km away
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 108 Summer Street, Kennebunk, ME 04043-6620
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,438 - ₹ 14,480
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldo Emerson Inn is a colonial style inn listed on the National Register of Historic Places. A restored shipbuilder's manse located next to the Kennebunk river with all the latest amenities including working fireplaces for a relaxing romantic getaway. Let us pamper you with our terrific Dutch breakfast and afternoon tea in the Inn's historic parlor or in the shade of our large oak trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldo Emerson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing