We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
272
59
12
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
59
12
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heated floors gift bag art gallery glass of champagne granola bars my husband and i shops and restaurants wonderful hotel large shower perfect location within walking distance dock square room key small hotel bottled water directly across the street coffee cake
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

I read the reviews and decided this seemed like the place for us especially since we did not have a car and everything was within walking distance. No amenities except for bottled water and ice. There is no shuttle service, no breakfast and no refrigerator in the room. The chairs in the room were extremely uncomfortable. We opted for a room with a small balcony but did not know it was a standing terrace without chairs. The bathroom floor was heated and there was no way to turn it off which was uncomfortable since it was very hot out and it was making the bedroom warm. The lobby was so hot because they kept opening the front door and letting all the hot air in. Nobody was at the front desk past 7pm and we had to use our room key to open the front door. Our flight wound up being cancelled and rescheduled 2 days later. We had to change hotels because there were no availability. The hotel we went to had breakfast and a refrigerator and was 1/2 the price. Will not stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The hotel outside was lovely. Our room had a small balcony that overlooked the street and a charming yard ornament store next door. The bed was big and comfortable, along with the pillows. The location was also nearby many restaurants.

My only complaint was that we stayed on the 2nd floor and the huge utility closet was right across from our room and it was left open the ENTIRE TIME we were there. (almost 36 hours). Not only that, but it had very large black trash bags on the outside and a vacuum and many other closet items. It was like someone had been cleaning out the closet, or organizing it and had made piles all around the open door. One time I saw an employee in and out, but mostly the doors were just wide open and ugly. I wouldn't normally care, but it did bring down the mood of the "grand" place, big time.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Thank you, Deborah M for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Guests love the Grand and Petite Grand rooms with the balconies. Our comfy beds always provide guests with a superior sleep experience. Please let me apologize for the eyesore you experienced while you were with us. I will definitely address this with the housekeeping team. Thank you for your feedback, as comments like yours help us to recognize the areas of improvement. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Beautiful old home with plenty of rooms for this to be a hotel - bright, charming style. Plenty of space in rooms, with some that have patio's or balcony's. No true amenities but you don't need them given the hotel's location. Obviously more expensive during summer season, but that's Kennebunkport/Kennebunk for you! Just go, park your car and walk everywhere!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thank you ttill, for your review. Guests do love our fabulous in town location. We do offer some fun amenities, such as beach passes, chairs and towels. We also offer complimentary bikes for our guests, as well as access to some pools at our sister properties. You really can't top our location. You can park the car and walk to everything! Visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Very nice spot. Close to everything room was great and nicely appointed with a lovely shower. We rode the hotels bike twice. Across from General store which had a good breakfast and wines. Would definitely go back. Helpful staff nice art gallery on site. On check out they gave us water and lobster gummies.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank bhirten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Dear bhirten,
Thank you for your review. We are lucky to be situated in the center of town; walking distance to all that Kennebunkport has to offer. Guests love our complimentary bikes. They are a great way to experience our little town. Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff. We have a dedicated and helpful team! It is always a pleasure to provide our guests with a fun send off gift! Come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Found the hotel to have an excellent location, right in the heart of everything. The free beach parking pass was an added bonus. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back and recommend it to friends and family.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank scotplumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

scotplumb,
Thank you for your review. Our location really can't be beat; right in the heart of everything! Guests love our complimentary beach passes to Kennebunk Beach. We also have towels and chairs available too. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your room and our staff. We have a great team here! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews