We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location!”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous location!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Very friendly and attentive staff. You can not beat the location. Our room was small, but we booked last minute. The bed was extremely comfortable and the waterworks bathroom was impressive. My complaint was that the hallways were very warm to the point of being uncomfortable. I can not wait to go back!

Room Tip: The corner rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear Julie Z,
We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed the location of the property, your bedding and the beautiful waterworks bathroom. We look forward to seeing you again as well!

Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    48
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
238
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Super clean and refreshing place. Our room was huge and even had a nice little balcony. Very sharp bathroom with heated floors and nice big shower. It is a smaller hotel but very nice. Cool little coffee shop with a lot of good breakfast and lunch food.

Perfect location. Bars, restaurants, shopping all within a few blocks.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wal-Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Wal-Dawg,
Thank you so much for choosing the Grand Hotel as your vacation destination. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your spacious room and all its luxuries. The Grand truly is in the perfect spot for enjoying the beautiful towns of Kennebunk/ Kennebunkport and all they have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again and hope this is just the first of many stays with us.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond,
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenport, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Any boutique hotel that uses waterworks in their bathrooms is clearly sending a message. Rooms are comparable to a Ritz Carlton/Four Seasons. Clean, comfortable beds, with refined finishes. No bath tub in our room, but if you read the studies you probably shouldn't be using them in hotels anyway. The room we were in (206) was a bit louder than I would have expected - you could clearly hear kids running around in the room above us on numerous occasions. Street noise was not bad, but noticeable at times (partly attributable to the fact that it rained most of the time we were there). No pool on premises, and the ones at "sister" locations are a drive, as is the beach (although you could technically walk) - side note, the beach is unique and beautiful, with many surfing. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Folks who cleaned the room were among the most pleasant I've dealt with. Location is very good "if" you want to be in the middle of the most touristy part of Kennebunk/port. The "deli/market" attached to the hotel is excellent - fantastic crabcake sandwich on french bread - and great coffee.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trout444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Very nice and very clean. the hotel is a Spa, no restaurant or bar, but there are many places within walking distance. Kennebunk has many shops and places to eat or to get a drink along the water front.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeterReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear MeterReader,
We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel and the Kennebunks. There is no place nicer to spend your summer days in Maine. The Grand is blessed to be in the heart of such an abundance of amazing shops and restaurants. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel. We booked a king grande room and loved the large balcony overlooking the village..a relaxing place for morning coffee or evening glass of wine. The location is perfect--just steps away from great restaurants, boat cruises and eclectic shops. The hotel is new and absolutely immaculate.
The staff could not have been more accommodating--Jennifer worked out a glitch in our reservations without problems.
I travel weekly for business so it's tough to find a hotel that I enjoy--the Grand exceeded our expectations. We can't wait to come back...and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Does not have a pool but one is offered thru a sister property
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear dgusta,
I am so thrilled that we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. The views from the private balcony combined with the feeling of total comfort within your room are always a welcomed feeling. I am glad that you found it here with us at the Grand Hotel. I look forward to seeing you again and it was a pleasure meeting you both.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
7.1 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
255 reviews
0.5 km away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
0.1 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#5 of 8 in Kennebunk
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,689 reviews
0.4 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
638 reviews
0.3 km away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#9 of 26 in Kennebunkport
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 1 Chase Hill Rd, Lower Village, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7666
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,914 - ₹ 26,728
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Kennebunkport Resort Collection of luxury Kennebunkport accommodations, the Grand Hotel sits prominently on Chase Hill, with some guestrooms offering views of the Kennebunk River and bustling Dock Square. Featuring classic New England architecture and elegantly appointed rooms, the Grand Hotel is the perfect spot to enjoy your Kennebunkport, Maine vacation. With an onsite art gallery, you can indulge yourself in artistic delights. Our boutique hotel on the edge of Kennebunkport has something for everyone! Steps away from the Grand, you'll find exceptional restaurants, diverse art galleries, and charming boutiques. Kennebunkport also offers several beautiful beaches, perfect for soaking up some rays, shell seeking or a family day at the beach. Paddle a kayak and check out the River, or explore Maine's coast. Hop on a bike or scooter and explore Kennebunkport's winding back roads, or enjoy one of our scenic tours on a classic schooner, lobster boat or whale watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing