We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would love to stay again.”
Review of Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seaside Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbertville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would love to stay again.”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I spent 3 nights at the hotel with my boyfriend. I took him there for his birthday in mid October. The rooms were clean, the cleaning staff was great - friendly and helpful, and the views were amazing.

The breakfast in the morning was nice. True, it's not a full B&B breakfast, but there's plenty of yummy options: bagels and toast, cereal, hard boiled eggs, fruit, french toast or muffins, coffee, tea, juice... The hotel is very quiet. It's sad that there was construction going on, but the views are still so great that the construction can be ignored - and we were the closest to the construction compared to all the rooms. But even something like a loud obstruction cannot ruin the stay. If you stand outside on your balcony (from a 2nd floor room of course) you have a direct view of the ocean and can hear the waves crashing. We walked on the beach every day since it was practically in the back yard.

It was such a wonderful trip. There are many great cuisine options nearby. We like to explore and try new places, but with any luck, we'll be back at the Seaside Inn soon.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor. The difference in price is only a few dollars per night and the views are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at The Seaside. Our staff works very hard to make sure every stay is enjoyable. We do apologize that our neighbor is rebuilding his house this year, but he has been very kind and is doing everything he can to keep the noise down. We are hoping the house will be finished by early spring.

Thank you again for all your kind comments.

The Seaside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    35
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
38
72
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harpers Ferry, WV U.S.A.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

A girlfriend, her sister, and I wanted to spend a couple of days in the Kennebunkport area after my friend's daughter's wedding in Jackson, NH. We lucked out and got a wonderful room on the second floor facing the ocean. The room was larger than a traditional hotel room with a roomy deck. The inn keeper was gracious and helpful in finding activities and good restaurants for our entertainment. The extended continental breakfast is served in a cozy dinning room and was quite good. We were there in mid-October 2011 and I would love to spend a week there in the summer as the beach is right out your front door. Beautiful scenery in every direction.

Room Tip: Upper floor on ocean side with ocean view is great. Lower floor on ocean side has nice patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IT_SilverLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at The Seaside. The summers here on the beach are wonderful so we would be very happy to host your return to the Kennebunks.
Have a wonderful winter and we hope to see you next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Seaside Inn is all about location. It is right on the edge of the dunes that separate the shore from Gooch's Beach. While the lower seaside rooms do not really have an ocean view they are situated on a beautiful lawn and each room has a few chairs with a side table. The sound of the ocean fills the air. The breakfast is just what you need to start off a day on the beach or exploring the near by port village. The oatmeal is outstanding - steel cut oats cooked to perfection. This combined with freshly baked, homemade muffins, fruit, juice and coffee is nicely presented in the cozy dining room. There were hard boiled eggs available too. As for the accommodations, they are clean and well appointed. There are no coffee makers in the rooms and no beverages are available until breakfast at 8am. So, early risers you are on your own. Each room has a refrigerator. Ear plugs would be a good idea, especially for the lower floor rooms. Noises from the upper floor rooms are quite loud, especially from the heavy footed guests. Plumbing noises are also prominent. If you have to be on the beach in Kennebunk, this is the place and perhaps the only place.

Room Tip: Second floor ocean side is the first choice. The first floor oceanside are really not worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lowjumpingfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Seaside Inn is a great property in a stellar location: Right on the ocean on an expansive property with charming New England Rooms, great front desk. Since you are on the ocean, on a great beach, in a stellar town, the room rates are actually surprisingly reasonable.

We have stayed at Seaside for many years and have consistently received excellent attention and feel like family yet I've never posted a review for some strange reason.

There are many great properties in Kennebunk so competition is fierce, but we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Again - the property is on the beach, but you sacrifice convenience for elbow-room: you'll have to drive to just about every restaurant, shops, etc and parking in town is never actually "easy." This is more than offset by the great hotel and friendly service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfColorado78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
It is so wonderful to hear our guests say they feel at home at The Seaside. That has always been our goal. We enjoy seeing all of our guests come back year after year. We have the best staff around and they have been with us long enough that they know each of our returning guests and what their preferences are.

The entire staff looks forward to your return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We've been coming to the Seaside for about two decades. Guess what? We're in love with it.
It's pristine clean, quiet, comfortable, serves a hearty breakfast, the staff and owners are very friendly and welcoming, and are great with helpful advice and are in love with their local history. You'r only about 150 yards or so from the Atlantic so you can hear the waves roaring away all through the night ... you'll get great sleeps here.
The same family has been runnning an inn at The Seaside for 400 (!!!) years ... they must be doing something right.
We'll be going back again, as usual;, this fall.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet (except for the sound of waves).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingzogofalbania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.6 km away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.2 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.2 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.6 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
1.3 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Property: Seaside Inn
Address: 80 Beach Ave, Kennebunk Beach, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7632
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,818 - ₹ 20,751
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn directly on quiet section of Kennebunk Beach. The only Kennebunk Inn directly on the Beach! Walk to Kennebunkport’s Famous Dock Square shops, boutiques and restaurants. Sea kayaking, lobster boat tours, whale watching, fabulous sunrises and sunsets from your room! Surfing, wake boarding and kayaking right out your door. Ocean view Hot Tub. Bicycles. The Seaside Inn is open year round and includes breakfast daily in the 1850 Boat House. Great values with our special Off-Season Packages in our Oceanfront Inn. View live beach cam on our web site. 9th Generation Family Innkeepers since 1667. Kennebunkport’s premier beachfront address. A memorable location and experience directly on the beach. Maine Environmental Leader award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Kennebunk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing