We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good food”
Review of Cafe de Bangkok

Cafe de Bangkok
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Hallowell
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 15
Cuisines: Sushi, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

We have been here more than a few times and each time we have been pleased with the food. The food tastes great, service was fast and we got exactly what we ordered.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank DedaHallzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2018

The main attraction to this restaurant is its lovely river view. All the the food looks and tastes the same. The only reason they succeed is because there is a dearth of Asian restaurants in this area. The sushi from our local grocery store is just as good as what they offer.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

After a hiatus of a few years because of a previous disappointing experience, we tried Cafe de Bangkok again. From less than adequate service to stale, unappetizing food, this meal was disappointing to say the least. Fortunately there is another Thai restaurant in the area with friendly staff, a nice atmosphere and fresh, delicious Thai food.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank P4113DWpaulw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped in for the Panang Curry as described on the website as “sweeter and milder” than other curry. Dish did not fit the description. There was nothing mild about it. It was so hot that it wasn’t enjoyable. All the waitress did was look at the menu and show me that it had two peppers next to the dish so that made it a “medium “ heat. I don’t agree. This restaurant has gone way down in our estimation and we won’t recommend it or come back. We asked for water and she brought one glass. Service was slow, inefficient and the meal quality was not as it used to be.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 608elainew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

I have to say this restaurant was a surprise for me. My friend and I were out driving and got hungry! I know that's a big surprise. We decided last minute to eat here and what a pleasant surprise. The staff was helpful, the place was clean and neat. The food was excellent. All of that and a view of the river that was mesmerizing. I would urge anyone near by to treat themselves to this place and bon apetite!!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank totalbroncofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cafe de Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing