We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birch Point Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Kineo View Lodge(Greenville)(Great Value!)
US$ 135
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moose Mountain Inn(Greenville)(Great Value!)
US$ 152
US$ 141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 34
Expedia.com
View Deal
Lodge at Moosehead Lake(Greenville)
US$ 380
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 424/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 104
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Herbert Grand Hotel(Kingfield)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
US$ 93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugarloaf Inn(Carrabassett Valley)
US$ 97
US$ 89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blair Hill Inn(Greenville)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
8
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
5
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2015

My wife and I visited "Birch Point Cabins" in August 2015. We stayed for three days beginning August 26, 2015 in K1 (the smaller cabin). The cabin is cozy, spacious, clean and pleasantly decorated like a mountain lodge (see the photo). The location is great -- right on the lake but close enough to the town. It has plenty of electrical outlets (Pete is an electrician). It was quite warm weather at that time, so the air conditioner in the living room helped. Besides the living room, there is only one small bedroom with a bunk bed and a tiny loft with another bed. Actually, the small bedroom is only for one adult.

The hosts Pete and Elizabeth Labrecque were nice.

There are two outside seating areas for guests (separate for each cabin) – one next to the cabin (with a gas grill), the other – by the lake with a fire pit, fire wood pile and picnic table.

The huge spectacular lake is just outside the cottage. The water was quite warm and swimming was nice.

Small flaws:

There is no bed large enough for a couple, so one has to sleep either in the loft or on the living room futon which is not too comfortable for sleeping. Another virtual option is to sleep on the upper bunk bed which is difficult to imagine. The bedroom is too small and not well ventilated.

WiFi was so weak that iPhones did not get it while a laptop was very slow.

The TV set is very small and we were unable to find any news channels (even local).

But the most upsetting for us was the fact that we were unable to kayak which we are experienced in and wished to do. The nice picture of the property with the stack of kayaks at the private beach turned out to be a mirage: since the hosts do not buy the mandatory insurance, guests have to get kayaks or canoes on their own. However, the delivery is provided only for 3 days or a week or you get them by yourself which was could not do with our car not having a roof rack. Being at so nice lake and not kayaking was upsetting.

To be honest, there are two more minor things to be mentioned: the dilemma – to pay extra for sheets and towels or bring them with you as well as the fact credit/debit cards are not accepted.

Room Tip: Well decorated and cozy interior with the small bedroom not good for two people sleeping. A couple can consider the K2 cabin
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zanuda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

My wife, 5 month old daughter, and I visited Birch Point Cabins in September. We stayed in K2. The cabin is spacious, clean, with a wonderful sun porch to sit and look out at the lake. It was windy, brisk weather while we were there but the heat is more than sufficient. The days warmed up beautifully and we spent a lot of time in the sun room reading and taking in the sounds of the area in the afternoons. The location is fantastic. Far enough from town to feel private but close enough to run in to get groceries or have a beer. The TV is very small so don't plan to watch a lot of television. There is a commons area down by the lake with chairs and firepit. We spent more than one evening by the fire watching the sunset, which is breathtaking. The hosts are most friendly and accomodating. We did several hikes during the day and they loaned us a cooler, hiking poles, and even a warm fleece for my wife "just in case." They are full of information on local attractions, places to eat, and for great conversation. I could listen to Pete all day long! We are usually a very active couple, but our 5 month old kept us pretty close to the cabin. We did hike up at Mt Katahdin and Gulf Hagas. Strenuous but rewarding hikes. Pete supplied maps and info on the roads which was invaluable. We did see a moose on the way to Katahdin. I would recommend this place for active people and folks that just want to relax. I felt the linen fee was a little steep, but it seems a lot of places charge a fee.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtgator828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My husband and I are from Florida. We stayed for three days beginning July 14th in K1. The day we arrrived the high had been over ninety. We arrived weary and ready for a nap, only to find that the cabin had no air conditioning and the temperature inside was about 85 degrees. We never thought to ask about air conditioning. Our host met us there and helped us with our luggage as a thunderstorm came in, and had provided fans. He graciously showed us all the features of the cabin. We went back toward town to look around a bit and give the cabin a chance to cool down. When we came back, it was still about 80 degrees. I only mention this for those who may be visiting during the hotter months, however, no a/c is not at all uncommon for the cabins in this area. I imagine this would be no problem at all most of the time as the average temperature is generally in the 70's.

Overall, this cabin was far superior to most in the area in the same price range. The host and hostess were very sweet and helpful. They loaned us area maps, told us of certain services etc. The lake is crystal clear, and is refreshing. There is an almost constant breeze from the Lake. The nights cool off nicely, and the cabin cooled down after we left the windows open and the fans on. The cleanliness was SUPERIOR! The beds were very comfotable. We really enjoyed having coffee and breakfast down by the lake in the coolness of the mornings. It is quiet, and we enjoyed watching the chipmunks scurry around as well as the ducks.

They have a fire pit and fire wood down by the lake as well.

You will feel like you are visiting family, as the hosts are very helpful and available!

Room Tip: Beds comfortable, doorways to bedroom and bathroom quite small. Location is quiet, while still being close to town, guide services etc.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My husband and I stayed there in the K1 cabin for 2 weeks this september and we just loved it! The place is quiet, the lake is just outside and the cabin is cozy, sparkling clean and plesantly decorated. Pete and Elizabeth Labrecque are the perfect hosts, friendly, helpful, discrete and full of useful tips. We are definitely looking forward to go back!
Small flaws: There is no wardrobe in the K1 cabin
and, as other people suggested, it would not be a bad idea to cover the bbq area so to allow people to eat outside also during rany days.
And if you are planning a bbq ask Pete where to buy the meat! (Graves restaurant: Delicious!)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Miciola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed in the larger K2 cabin during the fly-in weekend. The cabin was incredible; perfectly decorated, very comfortable and inviting. The lakefront location was terrific with great views. Guests have their own outside seating area with picnic table, fire pit and gas grill. The wonderful owners, Pete and Elizabeth, live in the house next door and are the perfect hosts. They were always available for suggestions and directions, and even some great conversation. It was a very memorable stay; can't wait to go back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bax_Delmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews