We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birch Point Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Kineo View Lodge(Greenville)(Great Value!)
US$ 135
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moose Mountain Inn(Greenville)(Great Value!)
US$ 152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 34
Expedia.com
View Deal
Lodge at Moosehead Lake(Greenville)
US$ 380
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 424/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Herbert Grand Hotel(Kingfield)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
US$ 93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugarloaf Inn(Carrabassett Valley)
US$ 97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
8
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
5
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Wow Moosehead Lake. What a wonderful vacation destination it was for my family. The activities included what seemed like unlimited hiking possibilities, riding in a seaplane, sailing on the Katahdin, shopping and just carrying on conversations with the locals who take such pride in their area. There was so much more we didn’t get a chance to do. But what added to make our vacation so memorable was our hosts at Birch Point Cabins, Elizabeth and Pete. Their accommodations were beyond our expectations. The K-1 cabin was so meticulously clean, beautifully decorated (Elizabeth did all the sewing, what a job!) and equipped with anything you might need. We utilized the kitchen and brand new barbecue grill to be economical and there was never a time I wished I had this or that to help prepare a meal. It was well thought out. In fact, every aspect of this cabin was well thought out. It felt like we were staying with family. The cabin location was great only a mile into Town. The views are tremendous. At dusk we would stroll down to lake and light a fire in the fire pit and watch the sun go down. Heaven.
Words do not do this location justice you have to see it for yourself.
One more thing, if Pete recommends the best place to get pizza or an ice cream cone don’t doubt him. He knows!

Room Tip: K-1 cabin was well suited for our family of three, although it easily sleep and fit the needs of five people.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knowltonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Staying here was one of the best decisions I've ever made. The LaBrecques have made a restful wonderland by the shores of Moosehead Lake.
My husband and I were travelling to Maine to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary- In the middle of our trip we wanted to find a lake where we could relax for a day, maybe even have our own cottage, before heading off for more sightseeing. We arranged the reservation with Elizabeth based on the pictures we saw. We arrived late in the evening, and couldn't have been more surprised. I think many people expect a little cottage to have some cobwebs, some dust in the corners of the cabinets etc. This house is absolutely sparkingly clean and feels like it was built brand-new just before we arrived. Not even a spider! The decor is modern and fun, my favorite touch is the vintage framed Maine Fishing poster in the bathroom. The beds are very comfortable, the pillows are not lumpy and even the dishes are cute!
The lake is just outside the cottage, and is huge and deep blue with gorgeous healthy trees all around and happy little ducks by the dock. You can watch the steamboat Katahdin puff by when they run cruises, and watch seaplanes land and take off. We sat in the adirondack chairs by the shore wrapped up in blankets against the unseasonably chilly, but very sunny, weather. Heaven!
Greenville is just down the road, and was so much fun for poking around the stores and buying some Maine blueberry ice cream. Our favorite store downtown was Kamp Kamp, they had arrowheads, toys and Native American style jewelry in the front, and then really interesting lodge-style antiques in the large back room. Another fun activity are seaplane trips which are frequent on Moosehead Lake- you can go to other lakes, see the moose or just fly around as I understand it. We'll do that on our next trip. If you don't feel like cooking in the (beautiful, modern) kitchen, there are many fun places to eat in town. I'd especially recommend Auntie M's, we ate there every morning for breakfast. It was delicious, inexpensive, and early in the morning you see a lot of plaid flannel. :)
The LaBrecques were fantastic guides for us, directing us to the best moose-spotting sites and to delicious restaurants off the beaten path. With their help we saw total 4 female moose and one bull moose.
I really cannot recommend the Birch Point Cabins enough. There is so much to do, the folks in the village are so friendly, and the owners are new friends. Don't pass this up.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rachelareva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

took me a year to write this review! went on a valentines day snowmobile trip weekend, and what a weekend it was! everything possible could go wrong (bearing on trailer blew, i got extremely sick, windchill stayed at -20 the entire weekend), but is stil soooooo memorable. Pete and Elizabeth were friendly and welcome-able, cabin was very clean and comfortable, no complaints and a great time to be had. no other place we will stay except here for our next vacation at moosehead!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank igoldfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

We stayed in the smaller K-1 cabin as the larger cabin was booked, but Elizabeth kindly showed us the interior before the people arrived and it is fantastic. K-1 cabin is also great and so wonderfully equipped and decorated. We were so cozy with the efficient gas firestove and made use of the magazines, books, and puzzles. The location couldn't be more relaxing with big chairs, a fire ring, and even marshmallow sticks down by the lake. The fall foliage was gorgeous and Peter and Elizabeth gave us great info on where to watch for moose. We were lucky enough to find an entire family of moose both days there in different locations. Also great recommendations on where to dine out if you don't want to fix your own meals in the wonderful cabin kitchen. Slight downsides in the small cabin are that there is no bed large enough for a couple unless you want to sleep on the livingroom futon (although I did have fun climbing up to sleep in the loft twin bed); small shower that has a very limited hot water supply; and bath towels (extra charge) that were very old and scratchy. We still felt that Birch Point Cabins are a great find and we look forward to spending a week in the future in the larger cabin.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

My family and I are just back from a week's vacation on Moosehead Lake in the Birch Point Cabins. We stayed in K2, which is the larger of the two cabins on site. Pete and Elizabeth are a wonderful retired couple that purchased the two cabins next door to their house on Birch Point a few years ago and completely renovated and updated them. Pete and a friend did most of the work themselves! Everything you could possibly need is provided - the kitchen is fully stocked and they even provided towels and linens for an additional nominal charge. We thoroughly enjoyed canoeing (rentals from Northwoods Outfitters about a mile down the street), and sailing on our Sunfish that we brought with us. We spent a day fishing on (stocked) Prong Pond, a day hiking Big Squaw Mountain, a day blueberry picking, and a day cruising the lake on the historic Katadin steamer. Lots to do - even when the weather does not cooperate.

The K2 cabin is lovely - gorgeous views of the lake, homemade needlepoint touches, clean, new, and comfortable. There's a grill for your use, chairs around a fire pit, and plenty of room for swimming and docking boats. We paid $1,000 for a week during the high season, and made our reservation in January in order to get a week that worked for us.

I can't say enough about Pete and Elizabeth. They are delightful, helpful and attentive without being intrusive. They made our stay so wonderful...always at the ready with directions, tips for things to do or places to go, and even digging up reference books to help me to identify the birds and the mink (!) I saw.

I highly recommend the Birch Point Cabins and Moosehead Lake for your family's next vacation. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mindfultraveler12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews