We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No exaggeration--as good as any food you'll find anywhere in the world!”
Review of Blair Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blair Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I have to begin with a disclaimer--my wife Carrie and I have never actually stayed at the Blair Hill Inn. We own a vacation home 45 miles away and, three or four times a summer, drive 45 miles each way for the sole purpose of feasting at the Blair Hill Inn. I can't think of many places that would draw us to do that. And we've been doing it since Ruth and Dan McLaughlin bought the place 14 years ago and opened it as a premier restaurant and B&B. It has done nothing but improve since then as the McLaughlins have poured themselves into the refurbishment of this grand 19th century mansion, producing a restoration that is truly exquisite in every detail.

We always arrive half an hour early in order to have a drink on the porch and enjoy the best view in Northern Maine, which on a clear evening stretches a good 50-75 miles in a 180-degree arc that includes countless mountains, the endless North Woods, the incomparable Moosehead Lake, and sunsets that most people can only dream of. Ruth and Dan go out of their way to greet their guests, and not just those like us whom they've known for years. Within minutes, you feel more like you're at a house party than a restaurant.

The prix fixe menu is always both ingenious and simple: a choice of two or three appetizers, soup, salad, three entrees, and two desserts. Either during cocktails or just before the meal, there's usually an amusee to stimulate the palate--perhaps an escargot in a puff pastry, or a tiny quiche. (Although Carrie and I lived for two years in Paris, we'd never heard of "amusees" until BHI.)

While we have traveled all over the globe and eaten in some of the world's top-rated restaurants, Carrie and I have never been more thoroughly rewarded by a meal than at the Blair Hill Inn--and it's happened every time we've eaten there. It is that perfect cuisine experience in which flavors have been combined in an inventive yet subtle way that produces a flavor you've never quite tasted before, a perfect amalgam of nevertheless independently distinguishable tastes. (Carrie always hangs onto the menu so that she can go back and see what she's eating, because the combinations are always so fascinating and unique.) So often when restaurants strive for uniqueness, they stray so far off the beaten path that you have trouble finding something you like; that's never happened to us at the Blair Hill Inn. In fact, what usually makes it hard to choose is that we want it all. See for yourself--there's a sample menu on the website. We have been consistently astonished at the quality, and I wish I knew how they do it, especially since the chef has changed several times since Dan did the cooking himself that first summer. Yet the quality has done nothing but improve, and the current chef, Jonathan Cox, a Culinary Institute alumnus who arrived last spring, is the best yet. His roast corn soup with a dollop of Maine crab is quite simply the best soup I've ever eaten.

The prix fixe is $59, but with a cocktail, wine, and tip, it's more like $100. Even at that, though, it's a bargain. As I write this review, salivating from our year-round home 135 miles from Greenville, part of me is ready to hop in the car and drive a mere 2-1/2 hours each way. Of course, we could stay there....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank FrankS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 186 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

Everything is simply fantastic: the rooms, the food, the atmosphere...a place hard to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My wife and i stayed here about 2 years ago, i travel a good bit and i can say without reservation that this was the most memorable trip i have been on.
The rooms are large and luxurious, and the breakfast was unmatched.
We stayed in Room 5 which has a huge soaking tub, that feels good after a day of hiking.
Thanks Dan & Ruth, we look forward to our next stay.
Peter & Amanda Laughlin

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank plaughlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had a fabulous visit to Blair Hill Inn. The beautiful online photos didn't do it justice - it's even better in person. We were so impressed with the attention to detail. My daughter and I both need to eat a gluten free diet and Dan surprised us with fantastic gluten free pancakes for breakfast. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This Inn spectacular in many ways. It is the best maintained small establishment we have ever encountered. From the grounds to the building to the rooms, everything was clean, bright, and inviting. On top of that, the owners and their staff could not have been nicer. We were nervous about committing to pay big city prices for a place in Northern Maine, but when we saw that the owners obviously pour these funds back into the property, we understood the prices. We would stay here again and highly recommend Blair Hill to anyone who is traveling in the region.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albemarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
0.3 km away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
257 reviews
3.5 km away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
4.4 km away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26 km away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
46 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Blair Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Hill Inn

Address: 351 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range: ₹ 22,321 - ₹ 31,569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Arguably the finest inn of inland Maine (and possibly the entire state)" Travel & Leisure Magazine. The Relais & Chateaux Blair Hill Inn is Moosehead Lake's most desirable country hotel, restaurant and spa. Guests from around the world return time and time again to this 10-guest room private retreat in the wilds of Northern Maine to decompress from the hectic demands of life. The stunning lake views, exquisite farm-to-fork cuisine, soothing spa treatments and peaceful atmosphere are provided amid an aura of understated elegance. Participate in as many, or as few, lake and mountain adventures customized for you as you'd like. Relaise & Chateaux, AAA 4-diamond, Forbes Recommended and a Select Registry Distinguished Inn of America. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Hill Hotel Greenville
Blair Hill Inn Greenville, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing