We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No exaggeration--as good as any food you'll find anywhere in the world!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blair Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blair Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brunswick, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No exaggeration--as good as any food you'll find anywhere in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

I have to begin with a disclaimer--my wife Carrie and I have never actually stayed at the Blair Hill Inn. We own a vacation home 45 miles away and, three or four times a summer, drive 45 miles each way for the sole purpose of feasting at the Blair Hill Inn. I can't think of many places that would draw us to do that. And we've been doing it since Ruth and Dan McLaughlin bought the place 14 years ago and opened it as a premier restaurant and B&B. It has done nothing but improve since then as the McLaughlins have poured themselves into the refurbishment of this grand 19th century mansion, producing a restoration that is truly exquisite in every detail.

We always arrive half an hour early in order to have a drink on the porch and enjoy the best view in Northern Maine, which on a clear evening stretches a good 50-75 miles in a 180-degree arc that includes countless mountains, the endless North Woods, the incomparable Moosehead Lake, and sunsets that most people can only dream of. Ruth and Dan go out of their way to greet their guests, and not just those like us whom they've known for years. Within minutes, you feel more like you're at a house party than a restaurant.

The prix fixe menu is always both ingenious and simple: a choice of two or three appetizers, soup, salad, three entrees, and two desserts. Either during cocktails or just before the meal, there's usually an amusee to stimulate the palate--perhaps an escargot in a puff pastry, or a tiny quiche. (Although Carrie and I lived for two years in Paris, we'd never heard of "amusees" until BHI.)

While we have traveled all over the globe and eaten in some of the world's top-rated restaurants, Carrie and I have never been more thoroughly rewarded by a meal than at the Blair Hill Inn--and it's happened every time we've eaten there. It is that perfect cuisine experience in which flavors have been combined in an inventive yet subtle way that produces a flavor you've never quite tasted before, a perfect amalgam of nevertheless independently distinguishable tastes. (Carrie always hangs onto the menu so that she can go back and see what she's eating, because the combinations are always so fascinating and unique.) So often when restaurants strive for uniqueness, they stray so far off the beaten path that you have trouble finding something you like; that's never happened to us at the Blair Hill Inn. In fact, what usually makes it hard to choose is that we want it all. See for yourself--there's a sample menu on the website. We have been consistently astonished at the quality, and I wish I knew how they do it, especially since the chef has changed several times since Dan did the cooking himself that first summer. Yet the quality has done nothing but improve, and the current chef, Jonathan Cox, a Culinary Institute alumnus who arrived last spring, is the best yet. His roast corn soup with a dollop of Maine crab is quite simply the best soup I've ever eaten.

The prix fixe is $59, but with a cocktail, wine, and tip, it's more like $100. Even at that, though, it's a bargain. As I write this review, salivating from our year-round home 135 miles from Greenville, part of me is ready to hop in the car and drive a mere 2-1/2 hours each way. Of course, we could stay there....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
159
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Biella, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Everything is simply fantastic: the rooms, the food, the atmosphere...a place hard to leave!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

My wife and i stayed here about 2 years ago, i travel a good bit and i can say without reservation that this was the most memorable trip i have been on.
The rooms are large and luxurious, and the breakfast was unmatched.
We stayed in Room 5 which has a huge soaking tub, that feels good after a day of hiking.
Thanks Dan & Ruth, we look forward to our next stay.
Peter & Amanda Laughlin

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plaughlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at this wonderful Inn in 2007 when we first travelled from the UK to tour New England in the Autumn.

What initially drew us to it were the reviews from previous guests on Tripadvisor. Without exception they have all marked this place as " excellent " The Inn doesn't even get a single downgrade to a merely "good" ! We find Tripadvisor a very useful tool on deciding wehere to stay on our travels and we think that this level of guest satisfaction is quite unique.

Since 2007, we have been back to stay on many occasions. Since our retirement in 2006 we have travelled a bit and been fortunate enough to stay in 5 star hotels in London,Berlin,Brussels,Paris,Washington DC, Boston and New York and the bedrooms of the Blair Hill Inn surpasses them all.

Our favourite Room is No.6. This is the room we first stayed in .It is large,beautifully appointed and comfortable and has a simply luxurious bath and shower room. However all the 8 bedrooms are as beautiful and unique. Ruth McLaughlin,the Innkeeper will allow you to have a look at all the bedrooms if unoccupied and they are all just breathtaking !

Everything here is spotlessly clean .The Lounge,Dining Room,Breakfast Room and Bar are all stylish and classy and been put together with a great deal of thought.

To have a morning cup of coffee, on the Porch,whilst looking out over Moosehead Lake is one of the great pleasures in life we think ! If you can stay through Thursday to Saturday, the Inn serves a fantastic 5 course Dinner in the beautifully appointed Dining Room. We believe all the ingredients are locally sourced. If you want a romantic setting to have Dinner with your Loved One, then this is the place !

Although we visit new places in Europe and the USA every year, this is the Inn/Hotel we always return to . We have never been disappointed in a single thing here and we intend to return every year.

To sum up, the Blair Hill Inn is a gem of a place.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had a fabulous visit to Blair Hill Inn. The beautiful online photos didn't do it justice - it's even better in person. We were so impressed with the attention to detail. My daughter and I both need to eat a gluten free diet and Dan surprised us with fantastic gluten free pancakes for breakfast. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
0.3 km away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
33.3 km away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
26.0 km away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.4 km away
Inn by the River
Inn by the River
#1 of 1 in The Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
3.5 km away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Hill Inn

Property: Blair Hill Inn
Address: 351 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,876 - ₹ 32,353
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Arugably the finest inn of inland Maine (and possibly the entire state)" Travel & Leisure Magazine. Here is a refreshingly distinctive inn that thrills the most discriminating traveler. Few places possess such dramatic landscape and magnitude of lake and mountain views. With sparkling views at every turn, the inn's fresh and stylish elegance delights guests from all over the world. Sumptuous cuisine and truly warm service await your visit. Blair Hill Inn - genuine, refined and welcoming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Hill Hotel Greenville
Blair Hill Inn Greenville, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing