We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic and well maintained”
Review of Spencer Pond Camps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spencer Pond Camps
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 September 2011

A friend and I only spent one night at the camp - and it rained the whole time - but the camp was dry and warm, propane lights, and everything you'd need. The camp and outhouse was very clean and nice. This place is off the beaten path and has hiking, canoeing and kayaking right there. The screened in porch (with view) elimated any bug problem and it was quiet and peaceful. The owners were helpful and it's a great place for families.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank coast222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We hadn't even been at Spencer Pond for a full day when we'd already decided that we'd be back next summer -- this time, for a week. It was clear that four days wouldn't be enough time here!
We stayed at the Moose cabin & enjoyed the swing on the screened in porch more than anything, I think. Lucky the cat was a companionable visitor and the kids loved the "chicken parade!" when the hens & rooster would stroll through the lawn.
It's a very special place and the love that Christy & Dana have for it shines through. They are excellent hosts & we loved our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Great couple days with my wife and dogs. Very dog friendly place. Great views across the lake and looking up at Spencer Mountain.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbrowning65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We rented a cabin at Spencer Pond after browsing through the website, and without really knowing what to expect. The reality was even much better than predicted from the already very nice website !
This place is absolutely unique, probably even more for European people, and since we left it I keep recommending it to every people we meet.
Despite some heavy rain, this will remain one of our very best moments in Maine !
Thanks Christy and Dana !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom_Bourgeois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We enjoyed a two night stay at Spencer Pond Camps in "Lunkers Lodge". It was perfectly sized and situated for two couples. The view of the mountain and the serenity of the "Pond" .....matchless. Dana and Christine are a hard working couple that understand what their guests want.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainer04917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
28.7 km away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
257 reviews
31 km away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
77 reviews
32.4 km away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer Pond Camps? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer Pond Camps

Address: 806 Spencer Pond Rd, East Middlesex Canal Grant, Greenville, ME 04441-6100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Greenville
Price Range: ₹ 6,369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind "unplugged and off the grid" in natural beauty, the way life used to be. Built in 1901, Spencer Pond Camps are an authentic and historic Maine Sporting Camp. They are the only cabins on the pond and sit in the shadow of Little Spencer Mountain. 14 miles via dirt roads from our closest neighbors, on an undeveloped and scenic pond. Recognized as an environmental leader, we offer you a choice of six rustic wilderness lakeside housekeeping cabins - each with its own unique personality. The cabins are fully furnished for comfort including screened porches, rocking chairs, woodstoves, libraries and homemade quilts on the beds.Canoes and kayaks are provided free of charge. Plumbing is "out back" and relaxation is everywhere, non-modernized without electricity and reminiscent of "Little House in the Big Woods" these cabins will take you back in time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spencer Pond Camps Greenville, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing