We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
32
16
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
16
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday lunch the pub cauliflower cheese family meal family room on arrival room was clean
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in at the fox inn for a race weekend at rockingham race track.
We had the family room which I must say was very clean. The bed was nice and comfy and the shower was hot. There were plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits in the room.
We had dinner at the pub on the Saturday night and I could not complain about any of it. The kids portions were massive and after saying to the chief about it he said no one leaves hear hungry.
On a hole all the staff and management worked hard on making sure we was well looked after.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank GaryB3250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Sorry say but was quite disappointed with our short stay, although staff are friendly and accommodating - on arrival we were told that the kitchen was closed and no food was available, which if we'd been informed beforehand we could have eaten before arrival, the nearest place to eat was a 30 minute walk away to another pub which served food, luckily the other pub was dog friendly. The room was clean but on the small side for 2 guests and 2 dogs.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

we recently stayed one night, with 2 westies and a 1 year old. we brought our own travel cot.
there was plenty of room for us in the family room, which was easily accessible from the beer garden. convient for dog owners. maybe not the quietest room as the window opens direct onto the beer garden, but we were there a saturday night with live music and we experianced no problems (plus the live music was great). breakfast was lovely, made to order, they even made a small plate for my daughter. it's a quaint pub, not high end, but good quality the room was apparently recently refurbished and it was tastefully done. we'd happily stay again.
we didn't eat at the pub in the evening so i'm not sure if the pub was pet friendly as well as the bedrooms.

Room Tip: pet friendly
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Non M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Despite what appeared to be just a normal country pub, I have to say the food was outstanding. However, when it comes to creating something appetizing for Vegans a lot of so called chefs fail miserably...Not in this case..all three courses, were imaginative and most importantly the flavours were perfectly thought out..not your normal "just bung a salad on a plate" and they'll be happy. The night was an RNA dinner and the host looked after us so well too..
Do not lose that Chef...

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

We came here for a family meal and were not disappointed. This place may be out of the way, but it's well worth a drive. It's in a picturesque location, the food is of a very good quality and the staff are very friendly. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank MartinA5054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews