We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
32
16
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
16
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday lunch the pub cauliflower cheese family meal family room on arrival room was clean
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Me and my partner stayed for a night on 31/08/2013 we had a nice time. We arrived around 6.30pm had a nice welcome shown to our room which was excellent very clean and a lovely comfortable bed .Later in the evening we went into the inn to have a drink and the staff and locals were very friendly to us, and the breakfast was 1st class and cooked to perfection would highly recommend it to people and the cook is a very nice and friendly lady where nothing is too much for her ..... MR Wright and Partner

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here with my fiance for 2 nights, and we had a great time. Very warm welcome from the Landlord and Landlady. Rooms are cosy but had everything we needed. They're in a little courtyard at the back of the pub and the building is really pretty, very old and full of character and charm and the rooms themselves are clean and bright.
We had dinner on the first night which was delicious - I had the steak (cooked to perfection) with all the trimmings and my fiance had the home made steak and ale pie which he devoured. I couldn't manage a pud, but he had home made sticky toffee pudding, which he said was probably the best he'd ever had. There was a really good atmosphere in the pub, the locals made us feel really welcome and taught us how to play table skittles (not seen that in pubs where we're from!). Went to bed feeling very merry and very full.
After a really good sleep (beds are very comfortable), we went for breakfast the next morning. It was excellent, a good choice of cereals and an awesome full English. The cook made sure it was exactly as we wanted it and it was great.
We didn't eat at the pub on the second night as we were at a family party in Corby, but got back in time for a quick nightcap and more skittles before heading off to bed. Breakfast the next morning was just as good, set us up nicely for our trip back home.
We've already booked to stay again just before Christmas when we have a wedding to attend nearby but I'm hoping that we'll get a chance to return before that.
A really lovely B&B, warm welcoming atmosphere from the staff and locals and nothing was too much trouble at all. Many thanks for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah20-2-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very disappointing to say under new management! No welcome, over-priced wine that wasn't cold enough and only ok food. We were the only people eating this lunchtime and I am not surprised. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The Fox seems to have been having an 'interesting' time of it lately, I knew none of it on arrival. Under new management now, the new landlords are kindness personified, despite still facing a few hiccups. Room was maybe small for two, but didn't spend much time in it anyhow. Right at the bus stop, if you're on PT, and plenty of surrounding rural walks. Cosy bar and friendly people there, and good food. I had a great stay, if you're looking for a country retreat, here it is.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edieabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a Saturday . The accomadation was clean and the service we recieved on check in was good .
The pub is connected to the accomadation but has a seperate entrance which is fab as we had a family and meant we did not have to keep going through the pub
Good selection of beers in the pub .. The resturant looked clean and fresh looking , however we did not eat here so can not comment on the food .

Good value for money for a good nights rest in a nice location

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews