We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super tasty food”
Review of El Jefe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Jefe
Ranked #29 of 62 Restaurants in Freeport
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 August 2018

The atmosphere is really nice, not to many tables smooched together, your not sitting on your neighbor. There are some games inside and outside to play while waiting for your food. I had the taco salad which was a large portion and had it with pulled pork it was really good, had a nice variety of item in the salad. The guacamole and chips is SO good its one of the more expensive items on the menu but well worth it. You won't be disappointed if you go!!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank manthalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Mexican food? No. All of the ingredients were there but not put together and seasoned in the right way. The food in and of itself was not bad but it was NOT Mexican. We were charged for did refills of fountain soda. Overall it was pricey. We don't recommend it.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank RnJ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Small restaurant, used to be a deli. Limited menu, basically just burritos and tacos. You need to order 2 tacos to make a meal but only 1/2 burrito for same. Can't decide if the fish or squash taco is better, so I always get one of each. Far bigger beer menu than food, mostly local micro breweries (very happy husband). Also an assortment of margueritas, etc. Great place for friends to meet for a casual meal. Always see some kids there, also having a good time. Been on Friday and Saturday dinner without a wait, but that will probably change soon as others hear about this find.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Epeters4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

yummy food with a twist on the traditional. Squash tacos are delicious! Good chips and salsa and fresh margaritas. They have some picnic tables outside, so it's fun in the summer to hang outside.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank porterm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

The food was great, as was our server. I'm thrilled to have delicious tacos and burritos and maybe the best sweet potato fries anywhere in my home town! Downsides: kitchen was very slow and it took forever to get our food, but the server warned us, which I always appreciate. And the noise level was pretty high. There's outdoor seating on picnic tables, and we might opt for that next time.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MangiaMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Jefe also viewed

 

Been to El Jefe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing