We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad mattress”
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad mattress”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We just returned from a night,s stay in one of the townhouse rooms with our family. The room,s were dated and overcrowded with large outdated furniture, the mattress was so old and out of shape my back still hurts, and the smell in the rooms was funky. The pull out sofa was not fit for anyone to sleep on,thank goodness we brought a blow up mattress. Nothing at the Breakfast buffet was children oriented. The staff was very friendly, and I will say staying at the town house with the kid,s was very relaxing having the outdoor play area to yourself. The kid,s had a lot of fun in the pool .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabrina1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We take all complaints very seriously and your comments are being reviewed among our staff members. We use Serta Presidential pillow top mattresses in our rooms and our head housekeeper is on a mission to find the mattress that prevented you from getting the good nights sleep you (and every guest) deserves. We'd love to hear from you regarding what we could add to our breakfast buffet to make it more fun for the kids. We want everyone to have a good experience when they're on vacation, especially our littlest guests. When they're happy, the parents are happy! Thank you again for your input and we hope you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    166
    58
    18
    13
See reviews for
206
477
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We spent two nights here for my wide's birthday. We had a beautiful king room with a double jacuzzi. We thought it was great until we saw discolored water in the tub. It turns out the city was flushing hydrants. The staff and general manager were wonderful and did everything they could by moving our room to avoid this problem. In fact the general manager met with us personally and arranged for our final room change. He could not have been nicer. We had a couple of real nice dinners at the inn as well as two wonderful breakfasts. We shopped downtown until we could not walk anymore and returned each day for afternoon tea which featured fruits, cheeses, cookies, brownies and of course tea. It was an interesting start, but the two days were very enjoyable and relaxing. We have been here several times over the years and will continue to return. Kudos to the staff at Harraseeket! ! Keep up the good work! If you are looking for a relaxing break and want to shop until you drop, come to the Harraseeket.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanderneucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
We're so glad your stay ended on a good note, and very sorry that the town chose that particular day to flush the hydrants. We typically get same-day notice from the town, which is barely enough time to warn our laundry staff NOT to run any linens through the wash. We thank you for your loyal patronage and for taking the time to post your wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

If life or business takes you toward Freeport, Maine, you should stay at the Harraseeket Inn. It's a lovely Inn, in the grand traditions of New England – in both design and atmosphere. The Broad Arrow tavern, located on the premises, offers excellent casual food. It's a great place to relax after a hard day of shopping at the local factory outlets. And don't forget LL Bean. It's less then a five minute walk. A very good buffet breakfast is included in the room rate. In fact, it's the best included breakfast I have had anywhere during my travels. There is also an afternoon tea – very civilized. Also included. The Inn has recently added an outside fire pit, which is a great place to meet fellow travellers for casual conversation over marsh mellows. I have stayed at the Harraseeket half a dozen times over the past three years and have always been delighted.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianCEastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review, you made our day! We're glad you were able to take advantage of Freeport in the off-season, when the sales are big and the crowds are small. We look forward to hosting you again and hope you have a great spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

They are always pleasant and accommodating.
We come back twice a year. The tavern and dining room are both excellent.

Room Tip: I like all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Gourmet locally sourced dining and well-chosen wine list in the Maine Dining Room (try oysters and the Pinot Blanc); immense wood-fired ovens prepare everything in the atmospheric tavern; high-count Egyptian cotton sateen sheets on pillow-top mattresses; "Old New England" atmosphere with all modern comforts, meeting rooms, etc.; if the staff were any more friendly or helpful it would be embarrassing (especially to us New Englanders). But that's just the routine stuff.

We arrived Friday night before St. Patrick's day. Transmission in our 99 Ford was skipping. Overnight the car bled to death -- wouldn't move. All local mechanics apparently Irish, not working that Saturday. I expected to nurse the car to Mt. Desert with continuous transfusions of transmission fluid. Asked at the desk for location of nearest gas station. I was informed that the general manager had more mechanical apptitude than she and would be summoned.

"Chip" Gray appeared forthwith, asked to see the "patient," diagnosed loss of transmission fluid, dismissed my concerns about leaking into the crankcase, and more or less demanded that I accompany him to a not-too-distant parts store to get more fluid, fill up the transmission, and figure out what was leaking. We did that (in his truck fueled by used vegetable oil from the kitchen; he also admitted during the drive that he's an experienced airplane engine mechanic, among many other things), filled the transmission, found the leak, visited his stockpile of used hose and tools in a part of the hotel I am forbidden to admit having visited, and returned to the car. With Swiss Army knife, mini-tube-cutter, and hose clamps, he fixed the problem (I'm making a long story short), prescribed a series of test drives so he could make sure leaks had stopped, and sent us on our way after showing me the trailor he would use to come get us and lug our car back to Freeport if we called and said the fix hadn't held. Chip said this was all in fulfillment of his vision of a "Full-Service Inn."

Turns out the Harraseeket is family-owned, Chip's mother Penny is the Owner who responds to all these Trip Advisor reviews, who had greated us heartily several times that morning on the stairs and elsewhere, and to whom Chip had apologized that taking care of us clients would make him late to lunch. The Tavern (and I'm sure much of the rest of the fine features) are fulfillment of her visions and dreams, and she can surely count on Chip to continue this.

Also important to me, who spent teenage years on a Massachusetts dairy farm fixing machinery with baling wire so we could make hay before the sun stopped shining: not only was a dreadful start to a week-long break for us Grandfolks averted -- IT WAS FUN!

So, besides that it's a great place to stay on the way Down East, our experience at the Harraseeket had a big impact on our joy in living and our faith in the good-will of mankind. And in technology -- the ablity to use what you know, and what you have at hand, to do or get what you need. True from the stone age until today.

I expect I've embarrassed Chip with these comments, and would request that you NOT save your routine auto repairs for your visit to the Harraseeket.

Thanks for reading!

=Grumpy Joe=

Room Tip: Stay at the Harraseeket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrumpyJoe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and happy that all worked out with the vehicle problems you encountered. Chip enjoys tinkering on gadgets, machines and vehicles, (including airplanes), almost as much as he enjoys meeting guests like yourself. He's our go-to MacGyver here at the Harraseeket. We hope the rest of your Maine journey was delightful and that you visit us again soon!
p.s. Chip says to tell you that the one-legged crow prefers blueberry muffins to crackers, he feeds it one every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
3.0 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,335 reviews
6.6 km away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#7 of 11 in Freeport
413 reviews
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,241 - ₹ 18,861
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing