We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Full-Service Inn!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Full-Service Inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Gourmet locally sourced dining and well-chosen wine list in the Maine Dining Room (try oysters and the Pinot Blanc); immense wood-fired ovens prepare everything in the atmospheric tavern; high-count Egyptian cotton sateen sheets on pillow-top mattresses; "Old New England" atmosphere with all modern comforts, meeting rooms, etc.; if the staff were any more friendly or helpful it would be embarrassing (especially to us New Englanders). But that's just the routine stuff.

We arrived Friday night before St. Patrick's day. Transmission in our 99 Ford was skipping. Overnight the car bled to death -- wouldn't move. All local mechanics apparently Irish, not working that Saturday. I expected to nurse the car to Mt. Desert with continuous transfusions of transmission fluid. Asked at the desk for location of nearest gas station. I was informed that the general manager had more mechanical apptitude than she and would be summoned.

"Chip" Gray appeared forthwith, asked to see the "patient," diagnosed loss of transmission fluid, dismissed my concerns about leaking into the crankcase, and more or less demanded that I accompany him to a not-too-distant parts store to get more fluid, fill up the transmission, and figure out what was leaking. We did that (in his truck fueled by used vegetable oil from the kitchen; he also admitted during the drive that he's an experienced airplane engine mechanic, among many other things), filled the transmission, found the leak, visited his stockpile of used hose and tools in a part of the hotel I am forbidden to admit having visited, and returned to the car. With Swiss Army knife, mini-tube-cutter, and hose clamps, he fixed the problem (I'm making a long story short), prescribed a series of test drives so he could make sure leaks had stopped, and sent us on our way after showing me the trailor he would use to come get us and lug our car back to Freeport if we called and said the fix hadn't held. Chip said this was all in fulfillment of his vision of a "Full-Service Inn."

Turns out the Harraseeket is family-owned, Chip's mother Penny is the Owner who responds to all these Trip Advisor reviews, who had greated us heartily several times that morning on the stairs and elsewhere, and to whom Chip had apologized that taking care of us clients would make him late to lunch. The Tavern (and I'm sure much of the rest of the fine features) are fulfillment of her visions and dreams, and she can surely count on Chip to continue this.

Also important to me, who spent teenage years on a Massachusetts dairy farm fixing machinery with baling wire so we could make hay before the sun stopped shining: not only was a dreadful start to a week-long break for us Grandfolks averted -- IT WAS FUN!

So, besides that it's a great place to stay on the way Down East, our experience at the Harraseeket had a big impact on our joy in living and our faith in the good-will of mankind. And in technology -- the ablity to use what you know, and what you have at hand, to do or get what you need. True from the stone age until today.

I expect I've embarrassed Chip with these comments, and would request that you NOT save your routine auto repairs for your visit to the Harraseeket.

Thanks for reading!

=Grumpy Joe=

Room Tip: Stay at the Harraseeket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrumpyJoe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and happy that all worked out with the vehicle problems you encountered. Chip enjoys tinkering on gadgets, machines and vehicles, (including airplanes), almost as much as he enjoys meeting guests like yourself. He's our go-to MacGyver here at the Harraseeket. We hope the rest of your Maine journey was delightful and that you visit us again soon!
p.s. Chip says to tell you that the one-legged crow prefers blueberry muffins to crackers, he feeds it one every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    156
    57
    18
    13
See reviews for
185
437
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My business group held our annual retreat the Inn the first weekend in March. We could 't say enough about this place. One of our members got sick one evening. A staff member went out and got her ginger ale and saltines for her upset stomach. Talk about going above and beyond. Our meals were served family style and included low glycemic and gluten free options.... All delicious. We've already booked for next year!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marialuna9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for your review! Our staff is dedicated to guest services and they always go above and beyond; we think of them as our extended family. Some have been with us for over twenty years! We're glad you enjoyed your retreat and look forward to seeing you next March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This review is long overdue. We traveled to Freeport in late September mainly to shop at LL Bean and overnight. It was the final day of our trip and we wanted one step up from a typical B&B - Harraskeet was it.

The four minute walk to shopping was terrific, but the amenities offered made the stay. We'd eaten too much during the week to do a full meal at the formal Maine Dining Room, so we had appetizers and drank good wines in the atmospheric Broad Arrow Pub. It was an excellent choice.

We stayed in the King room with a fireplace and whirlpool. It was in the low 80's when we visited so we didn't make good use of either. But it would have been nice if we had. The room overall was very nice if not spectacular. The grounds are beautifully kept if not located in the most scenic part of Freeport (is there one?).

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Inns are our favorite stays (over B&B's and upscale hotels) and the Haraskeet did not disappoint in any way. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Its nice that under certain conditions pets are allowed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for a great review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you can return when you can enjoy that fireplace. Winter is a great time to take advantage of all the off-season sales in Freeport Village. As for the prettiest places in Freeport, the village itself is charming but for sheer beauty it's hard to beat Wolfe's Neck State Park, with lovely wooded trails along stunning Casco Bay, and South Freeport Harbor, which captures the scenic, salty character of a coastal Maine port, complete with its resident fleet of lobster boats tied up at the dock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My family and I made a spur of the moment decision.We had spent the day shopping and my sister in law had said she has heard they had high tea at this hotel.'We had tea and stayed for 3 days. The staff are lovely and humorous, we ate at the mcdonalds cause we heard about the lobster rolls. yummm, the food at the hotel was very nice.They don't take animals but my mini maltese was treated like royalty, all 2 kilos . until we placed her with a sitter for the nights.there, ab, fab

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for your review! We do in fact welcome four legged travelling companions. We offer several select pet friendly rooms in our Carriage House and in our Town Houses and we have a pretty good fan club of four legged friends whom we've hosted for years. Our staff knows many of them by name! We use no harmful herbicides or fertilizers on our five acres of grounds so your companions can romp and play without worries and there are lots of wonderful hikes in the area, from Wolfe's Neck State Park (great bay-side trails) and Bradbury Mountain State Park, to the Mast Landing Audubon Sanctuary and Popham Beach; all great dog walks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallandale beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at the Harraseeket Inn in February while attending my son's wedding. The staff could not do enough for us. With fireplaces throughout, the main lodge can be proud of their two wonderful restaurants, one is a more formal fine dining rooom, and the other, The Tavern, more casual but quite wonderful. Afternoon tea is served in the elegant salon off the charming lobby.
On Sundays, The Inn hosts a spectacular brunch including all the lobster you could want.
Because we requested a separate living room and bedroom, they accommodated us in the townhouses, a short walk from the main building. We had a large living room, enormous kitchen, and two bedrooms and bath upstairs. And if you are a shopper, L..L Bean and other famous outlets are two blocks away. A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thank you so much for your review, Sara. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Congratulations to your son on his wedding! L.L.Bean is celebrating their 100th anniversary this year at their flagship store here in Freeport with all sorts of fun activities planned over the July 4th week. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
3.0 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
6.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,716 - ₹ 18,872
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harraseeket Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing