We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money”
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. Pros: staff is very helpful, rooms are very spacious, beds were comfortable and rooms were clean. Suggestions would include providing conditioner and small bar of soap, more wastepaper baskets, warmer pool, breakfast and more electric outlets for electronics.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PTCruisin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

If you are looking for moderately priced lodging in the Ellsworth area, then the Colonial Inn is definitely worth looking into. It's not new, nor is it fancy, but it is clean, comfortable, and the staff is very friendly. It's priced considerably less than the chain motels, so if you adjust your expectations and see it as an older, somewhat worn but comfortable place, then you will not be disappointed. Check it out.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank runnerskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

My family and I have had to do an extended stay while purchasing a new house and it has been a pleasure staying at the updated Colonial Inn! The staff has been amazing and has become like family to us! The new owner has made many positive changes on the property! Im grateful they have been able to accommodate us for the whole month of August at a really exceptional rate!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank MatildasReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

My family and I have been staying here for over a month. The staff is friendly and helpful if I need anything I just ask. Our room is very comfortable and spacious. I honestly love it here. The bbq picnic area behind the annex is a great area for our family to relax and enjoy the summer nights. We have eaten at the Thai Restaurant on many occasions the food is delicious!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sabrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

The room was dated smelled musty and like smoke. I reserved a kitchenette and it came without any pots or pans to cook with. The back of the cupboard door said to ask for a kitchenette kit which they did not have any available. The room was dirty, multiple used combs, pens and food under the couch cushions. Teething ring behind the bed. The front desk said they were sorry for the unclean room, but did not have anyone to clean it. They did offer me a full refund if I wished to leave and find a different hotel. I did receive a full refund and found a different hotel. I will not be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RBplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
1.2 km away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
709 reviews
1.7 km away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
1 km away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
167 reviews
2 km away
White Birches Motel
White Birches Motel
#1 of 1 in Hancock
95 reviews
3.6 km away
Twilite Motel
Twilite Motel
#4 of 10 in Ellsworth
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 321 High St, Ellsworth, ME 04605-2503
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range: ₹ 6,706 - ₹ 6,964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Ellsworth
Colonial Motel Ellsworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing