We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
386
75
14
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
75
14
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon suite bed and breakfast hot dish new england living room enjoyed our stay breakfast was delicious old house great hosts each morning moosehead lake comfortable stay common areas rooms were very clean truman room french toast wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We were driving from Montreal to Bar Harbor on a Sunday night and thought this would be something different from our usual stop. My one regret is we didn't leave enough time to enjoy it. On Sunday night the town closes up tight but Mark warned me so we stopped on the way and bought some cheese and crackers and sat in the lovely garden until dark. Mark and Tina were not demanding at all-a previous reviewer seemed to think so. Their goal was to be sure to be there to greet us, and show us the quirks in the house. There was wi-fi, and tv. We stayed in the Truman room, which had a queen and a full bed. Lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for posting your review. We think the gardens are a wonderful spot to relax and enjoy some snacks. You're exactly correct about our goal, we always want to greet our guests and provide as much information is needed so they can feel free to come and go as they please and enjoy the house and gardens. The Truman room is one of our most popular and we're pleased you enjoyed it. History buffs love to know they're sleeping in the same room that President Truman stayed in when he visited Senator Brewster, and others love the views of the gardens. We hope to see you again in the future if you're ever in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This B&B is in an excellent location to venture about Maine. The coast and the mountains are easily reached on day trips. Mark and Tina are lovely people who make this beautiful old home feel very welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglasjp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for posting your review. We're happy that you enjoyed your time here. We want all our guests to feel welcomed, and hope they return many times. Our location is perfectly located to be able to set out for any direction and find a great adventure within a short distance. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Nice end to a short trip to northern New Hampshire and Maine. Great hosts, comfy bed, and generally relaxing stay. French Toast was scrumptious! Brewster Inn is a nice piece of history, and owners have done a great job of restoring it to former glory.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank shunt02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here and the French Toast. We are very proud of this house and love sharing it with our guests. We're constantly adding new French Toast recipes and hope to have you enjoy some on your next travel North.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

The Inn is a lovely B&B. Only 9 bedrooms all different, with a private bath. The Bridal Suite is amazing & very reasonably priced at $149. Pine walls & ceiling with amazing bookcases with antique books guests are welcome to read. Small ante room with daybed & private area with whirlpool bath. Other rooms with much fewer amenities but all quaint & very clean. My daughter has serious diet restrictions that Mark & Tina,the innkeepers were happy to accommodate. A lot of history there including a displayed thank you note to Governor Brewster from Teddy Roosevelt. Grounds a little run down but the owner is working on it. Very good experience. Going back next summer.

Room Tip: Best view of gardens
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for posting your review! Each room is unique and regular guests often have a "favorite". The Honeymoon Suite is one of our most sought after rooms, for brides, couples and even friends having a trip away. We were more than happy to help meet your daughter's dietary needs and so glad she enjoyed her breakfast. We were so relieved to have a break from all the rain so we could get some yard and gardening work caught up on. Hopefully the rose arbor we lost to the snow/ice storm, will be rebuilt before your next visit. We enjoyed having your family visit and look forward to many more visits as you all enjoy time together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

The place is gorgeous so as the rooms and the property. But the owner Mark is too demanding. He wanted us to register before 8, although we called him saying we were having dinner in Bangor, then he told us to have dinner in Dexter. When we came in he told us to do this and that and that is no appropriate for a person running an Inn

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank belenlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thanks for your review. We are sorry for the misunderstandings. As per our policies, when you book with an online travel site, such as booking.com, etc, instead of the actual Brewster Inn website, check in is no later than 8pm, unless previously agreed. We pointed the 8pm deadline out to you prior to the day of arrival. You called us before 5pm on the day of arrival saying you were having dinner in Bangor, because you could find nowhere online to eat in Dexter. We did say at that time that there are actually numerous places to eat between Bangor and Dexter and we would have been happy to make recommendations if you had asked. During your call, you also stated you would still arrive before 8pm. We had dinner plans with friends in the next town over at 8:30 pm. However, we had to cancel our plans to accommodate you since you didn't actually arrive until almost 8:30. We definitely never want to come across as "demanding", we just always offer guests the chance to bring in luggage prior to going to the room so they don't have to make two trips and we try to help you if we can. Sorry again for the misunderstanding, but glad you all slept well and found the rooms and property gorgeous. Good luck with your travels and research project.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews