We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Brewster Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$ 86
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$ 63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canaan Motel(Canaan)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western White House Inn(Bangor)(Great Value!)
US$ 141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Towne Motel(Skowhegan)
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 136
US$ 112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 75
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Bangor)
US$ 81
US$ 74
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
371
72
14
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
72
14
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitehot dishbed and breakfastother guestsliving roomenjoyed our staynew englandgreat hostsold housebreakfast was deliciouseach morninga wonderful place to staypleasure of stayingmoosehead lakehome away from homecomfortable staycommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

The place is gorgeous so as the rooms and the property. But the owner Mark is too demanding. He wanted us to register before 8, although we called him saying we were having dinner in Bangor, then he told us to have dinner in Dexter. When we came in he told us to do this and that and that is no appropriate for a person running an Inn

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank belenlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thanks for your review. We are sorry for the misunderstandings. As per our policies, when you book with an online travel site, such as booking.com, etc, instead of the actual Brewster Inn website, check in is no later than 8pm, unless previously agreed. We pointed the 8pm deadline out to you prior to the day of arrival. You called us before 5pm on the day of arrival saying you were having dinner in Bangor, because you could find nowhere online to eat in Dexter. We did say at that time that there are actually numerous places to eat between Bangor and Dexter and we would have been happy to make recommendations if you had asked. During your call, you also stated you would still arrive before 8pm. We had dinner plans with friends in the next town over at 8:30 pm. However, we had to cancel our plans to accommodate you since you didn't actually arrive until almost 8:30. We definitely never want to come across as "demanding", we just always offer guests the chance to bring in luggage prior to going to the room so they don't have to make two trips and we try to help you if we can. Sorry again for the misunderstanding, but glad you all slept well and found the rooms and property gorgeous. Good luck with your travels and research project.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We stayed here for two nights end of July , the rooms cosy and comfy beds, so so clean, the ambience of the garden is lovely, the hosts very welcoming and accommodating. The town very quite so don't expect to party. We went to see friends and bike. The roads are now newly paved with rolling hills, 40miles plus and 3600 elevation. There is also a ATV/Gravel biking path so we did that too just down the street. I would recommend staying here and we will be back.

Thanks liz & Bill

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank irishliz2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you for posting a review! We're so glad that you all decided to come for the weekend and enjoyed your time here. The new pavement will hopefully encourage more biking. The nearby atv trails have been such a blessing for not only the off road vehicles but for bikers like yourselves, and many people have started using it for walking and running. The charm of a small town is the quiet laid back feeling, and it's so convenient to go anywhere in the state from here. Our goal is to ensure guests have a welcoming, clean and comfortable place to relax after whatever adventure they have. We're so pleased you enjoyed your time here and look forward to having you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

My cousin and I stayed at the Brewster Inn in April, 2017, while visiting friends in the area. It was a wonderful place to stay. We booked into the Truman Room, and it had the most charming view of the English Garden in back that was on the verge of blooming. Our whole stay was so enjoyable, it was charming and cozy on the days that were filled with pouring rain. The hosts were most interesting and helpful. We couldn't be happier with our visit, and will definitely return. A big thankyou to Mark and Tina!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73jm2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review! We're so glad you both enjoyed your time here. The Truman room does have one of the best views of the gardens. Not to mention the historical factor of sleeping in the same room that President Truman slept in when he visited here. The gardens are just now in full bloom and looking beautiful. We enjoy talking to guests and providing help as needed. And we hope that all the sitting areas are conducive to reading, talking and relaxing, especially during the days of rain or snow. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We had a very pleasant experience. My husband has celiac and the innkeepers were very helpful with coming up with some gluten free meal alternatives. We really appreciated them going over and above on making us feel welcome and comfortable. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and would return again. We want all guests to feel welcome and comfortable so that they can enjoy their time here. We try to always find new recipes to serve guests that have food requirements, such as your husbands. We're happy to help with gluten free alternatives and any way possible. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We've had the pleasure of staying at the Brewster Inn on more than one occasion and each time has been delightful. To top it off Mark and Tina are wonderful hosts that go out of their way to accommodate you even in the dead of winter, a typically 'off season' for the area.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you for posting your review! We love having repeat guests, it reinforces that we are giving guests the positive experience we strive to. Our motto is always that if we are home, we are open. Maine has so many beautiful things to enjoy in every season, we feel like there's always something to do in Maine. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews