We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great place to stay when exploring costal maine”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pilgrim's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Isle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pilgrim's Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Deer Isle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgefield, CT USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“a great place to stay when exploring costal maine”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My husband booked Pilgrim's Inn for a couple of nights but now it's the fourth and we're not moving out of here! We both love the place with its unique historical architecture, friendly atmosphere and unlimited cookies and coffee/tea during the day. It's a quieter season getting here, no summer crowds, no long lines.. it's just nature at its best, with the occasional talks of birds, the soft breeze from the water and the relaxing sounds of the dripping rain.Even the cell phone is not disturbing us being out of service...It certainly is the best place to forget your problems when you need it most!

Room Tip: small rooms just cozy, bigger rooms offer more views from windows but every room is unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    29
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
94
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leverett, MA
Level Contributor
383 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Pilgrim's Inn is a very Pleasant Inn. We had visited in 1993 and decided that it was time for a repeat visit. By blind luck we were led to the same room that we had had in 1993. Since 1993 a substantial number of improvements have been made to the inn and it has changed times a few times in the past decade. This is a very comfortable and clean place, well worth a visit. There is a restaurant (Whale's Rib tavern) located in the inn that is open to the public.

On entry, one leaves ones bags in the hall and goes down to the lower level for registration and to collect the room key. Since the restaurant is open to the public as well as the guests it is a good idea to make a reservation for dinner if you plan to eat at the inn. The inn itself has something like 12 rooms, mostly with kings an queens. The rooms have en suite bathrooms and are quite large. The bed we had was very comfortable, with a typical comforter, nice sheets, and very substantial but soft pillows. Our room had two exits and this seemed typical for the rooms we saw (presumably for emergency exit). The windows are modern and there are fine shades to darken the room for those who like to sleep late.

Breakfast has a selection of fruit, cereal, pastry and the like. There is also offered a hot-cooked item, which is fresh cooked for each person. In our case it was a blueberry pancake. Very nice. The coffee was also good and the server was generally there to repetitively offer fresh-ups.

There is a good friendly bar on the lowest level (where the restaurant is), with plenty of sitting areas.

All in all, this is one of the nicer inns we have experienced and we are happy that we elected to visit again after all these years.

Room Tip: Be sure to try the restaurant and make that reservation at the same time you reserve the room. The i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobHLeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Pilgrim's Inn is a very special place on Deer Isle. From the moment we stepped in the door, we were made to feel very welcome. The rooms are large and spacious, the beds extremely comfortable and the toiletries are top-notch. The Inn provides a scrumptious breakfast as well as yummy cookies every afternoon. Dinner and libations can be had at the Whale's Rib Tavern, located in-house. The office manager and housekeeping staff are superb and the inn keepers - Tina and Tony are very hospitable. There is Internet access ...although you are in Maine on vacation, so I recommend disconnecting and taking one of the kayaks out on the beautiful lake behind the property instead. Happy Traveling! The Anderson Family Alexandria, VA

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidiaggie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The Pilgrim Inn is by far the best inn ever! It's located in a quiet place where there's not much to do other than sitting on Sand Beach and taking short hikes and that's exactly why my husband and I stay here every summer. We absolutely love it .

Great breakfasts. Cookies in the afternoon. Dinner in the Whale's Rib Tavern is wonderful and so is the hospitality of the innkeepers, chef Tony and his wife Tina. Order a vodka mint lemonade from Hank in the bar and you won't be disappointed.

There is a community laptop for internet access and phone for free long distance calls. Good thing since I couldn't get Sprint service. And they have clean beach towels when you need them.

Oh Pilgrim Inn, I wish I was there right now! Room 4 is the best room with view of the pond from the vintage tub where I soaked my worries away. They even had bath salts.

Room Tip: Reserve early. We book in the spring for our summer vacation. Recommend Rugosa Rose cottage or Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J9Vacationlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This inn is the best managed facility we have visited in a long time. Everything is quality, clean and maintained from the rooms to the common areas to the landscaping. The staff is friendly, helpful and there when you need them (but not when you don't). The breakfasts are delicious, varied and plentiful. (Get the Eggs Benedict as their breakfast special when available. The best ever!)

The dining room and bar are very busy and include many locals - always a good sign. There was a buzz in the air during the evening that added excitment to dining. Don't confuse this with noisy, because it wasn't. Just a refined gathering of enjoyment. The deck, grounds, and common rooms (4) offered more than enough areas to get away for personal discourse.

This was our first, but not our last visit. Just a real first class place!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Isle
30.8 km away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
583 reviews
27.6 km away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
188 reviews
27.0 km away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 km away
The Manor Inn
The Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Castine
80 reviews
20.6 km away
Pentagoet Inn
Pentagoet Inn
#1 of 3 in Castine
541 reviews
27.0 km away
Point Lookout Resort
Point Lookout Resort
#1 of 1 in Northport
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrim's Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrim's Inn

Property: Pilgrim's Inn
Address: 20 Main St, Deer Isle, ME 04627-3888
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Isle
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,127 - ₹ 16,780
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking picturesque Northwest Harbor and our tranquil mill pond, Pilgrim's Inn on Deer Isle is the perfect place to experience Downeast Maine at its best. Built in 1793, our historic post and beam Maine inn welcomes you with an ambiance and warmth of a bygone era. Lovingly restored and meticulously maintained, the inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of the Select Registry of Inns and the Bed and Breakfast Diamond Collection. Twelve rooms and three cottages offer you a range of lodging options to best meet your needs from mid - May through mid - October. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing