We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for quiet pretty coastal town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Castine Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Castine Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Castine B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location for quiet pretty coastal town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed here during some gorgeous weather. Castine is a one horse town but with a good restaurant and enough activities to keep you busy for the weekend at least.
The hotel was pretty although a little dated in terms of the room decor and the sliding door on the shower was no longer on the track. We had a view to the sea just about through some very lush trees, but you do pay extra for it. I'm not sure the extra was really worth it considering you are 5 min from the harbour anyway. Breakfast was very tasty although served a little late in the morning if you are an early riser. They did agree to seat us 10min early one morning. Bit disappointing that there was no tea or coffee available at all throughout the day for guests. I think they just need to get a kuerig or something as there is nothing in the room either. Most hotels offer this now. They do have some drinks out before breakfast but only offer cream to put in them, which totally ruins a decent cup of coffee! There was no one around to ask for milk although they did give us milk at breakfast for coffee. We would stay here again if going to castine, but a few days here and we felt we'd 'done' what we wanted so will probably not stop again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FootsoreUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    28
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
25
58
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We just stayed at the Castine Inn for four nights. The rooms are very nice, there's plenty of attractive, comfortable public space inside and out, and the staff goes out of their way to be helpful and pleasant. The breakfasts were wonderful, especially amazing cranberry scones. We did not want to come home. Our only problem was the 'heat' wave, but we knew up front there was no AC. Nice breeze from the harbor and fans in the rooms helped a lot, and eventually we asked if we could move to a lower floor. This was done pleasantly and immediately.

The inn is on the main street in Castine, a block up from the bay. Castine is a lovely New England village, small, quaint, and quiet. Three or four nice restaurants are within a block or two of the inn. We especially loved Stella's. There's enough to do in Castine for a day or two and dozens of gorgeous, interesting places within a 30-60 minute drive. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Room 11 is a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I was in town for a wedding, and was looking for an afforable place to stay, and I could not have choosen a better place to stay. The location was great, the price was perfect, and best of all the breakfast in the morning was worth the 4 hour drive. I would come back and stay here again and again!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kittery Point, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We recently attended the Maine Maritime Academy alumni weekend, and found a wonderful room at the Castine Inn. The staff was friendly, the room clean and what you would expect for a nice inn. We had a great time sitting on the porch with other alumni remembering old times. The breakfast was well done with two hot entrees as well as an offering of fruit, yogurt, granola etc. Make sure you check out the dining room-the wall mural is beautiful. It has actual people who live or lived in the town of Castine at the time it was painted.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandpiperKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

This is more small boutique hotel than bed and breakfast. There are something like 26 rooms in the inn, and the breakfast set up didn't really encourage chats with the other guests as you would see in a smaller B&B. But it did have a nice charm to it, and it is a good choice in Castine. The room was very clean (but on the smaller side), and the bed was very comfortable (including nice sheets and comforter). Service was excellent. But the bathroom towels were more budget hotel quality than B&B quality, and the breakfasts were good, but nothing memorable. The lovely part of the inn is its location, its gardens, its wrap around porch, its small cozy bar, and the graciousness of the manager who served as both bartender and check in host. Overall, our experience there was very nice -- just a different experience from the small B&Bs we had stayed in in other coastal Maine towns.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castine
14.9 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
29.1 km away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
29.1 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Pentagoet Inn
Pentagoet Inn
#1 of 3 in Castine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.2 km away
The Manor Inn
The Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Castine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
18.5 km away
Point Lookout Resort
Point Lookout Resort
#1 of 1 in Northport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castine Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castine Inn

Property: The Castine Inn
Address: 33 Main St, Castine, ME 04421-3004
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Castine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Castine
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,427
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Castine Hotel Castine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing